Ratings based on 798 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing weekend

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Me and my gf decided to take a weekday trip to relax after a crazy hectic Christmas. When we arrived on Friday night check in was fine. We did have a hiccup with accessing the safe in the room because "the cashier was gone for the day." Of course after much objection the night supervisor allowed me to get the key to access the facility. Fast forward to Saturday- we booked a deep tissue massage at the Bahia Spa- BEST PART OF THE TRIP!!! The staff and treatment were amazing and reasonably priced. We got massages, steam room and pool access and felt relaxed and rejuvenated after our treatments. The food at the hotel is MUCH better than that at most Spanish hotels in Jamaica which tend to be on the bland side. The spices were balanced and choices were great! We even got to sneak in to the Italian restaurant, though we didn't have a reservation and enjoyed a nice dinner that ended with a banana flambe show :-)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from gle

Close to the beach but no towels on the beach

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Nothing was ready. Staff not supporting and not friendly. Beach not clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Great ocean views from the pool side. Be prepared for alot of walking. The food was good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice staff, but will only work on tip

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: The private beach and pool are are great!
Cons: Hotel staff will only serve you (even on breakfast buffet) if you tip.
Location: Location was good -- not Montego Bay but close enough.
They are an "all inclusive" hotel but you will only get any service with tips. Also be aware there is a "premium" part of the hotel -- if you are not a premium you don't have a lot of drink options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: The new side & variety of restaurants.
Cons: Time to up grade the old side. Replace the carpets, paint etc.
Location: Good golf in the area. Pricey but great . Especially White Witch!
Very pleasant on the luxury side since it's newer (1year old) as apposite the the grand side which in 10years old.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach, VA

Last Minute Trip

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: The location and the beach were nice.
Cons: The people working there did not seem happy and many did not even bother to greet you or smile. This was totally different from our experience in DR.
Location: We did tours, ATV, ziplining and water tubbing. That was good, we booked at the hotel.
If you are looking for a three star hotel at four star hotel price then this is the place. The hotel is okay and you can see the wear and tear, in the room, carpets and around the edges. The room was okay, mini-fridge was not stocked and the shower did not drain (standing in water is not cool). the room we had was by the club ( of the hotel i guess) they played the music extra loud from 11-1 am (estimate) each night. The buffet was okay (f you got there when it first open) many of the foods had no taste or was bland. My daughter ate the curry goat and was in the bathroom for two days. My daughter and I agreed if we returned to Jamaica it would not be to this hotel. When asked to upgrade the room I was told the first time that the hotel was booked and the second time told i needed to check back in a couple of days. It did not appear that the hotel was booked so that was a turn off for me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Fun and relaxing NYE at Grand Bahmia Principe

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: The staff were friendly and helpful. The pool was beautiful and not too crowded. The dinner restaurants were excellent.
Cons: The carpeting in the hallway was dirty and damaged. They could make it easier to make reservations as many of the restaurants had available tables.
Location: The hotel is located about one hour from the airport and thirty minutes to popular attractions Dolphin Cove and Dunn's River Falls.
Returned yesterday from 4 night vacation at Grand Bahmia Principe for New Year's Eve. I traveled with a total of six people (2 couples in 20s and my parents in their 60s) and we all had an amazing time. Your time at Grand Bahmia will likely depend on your expectations. We were looking for a moderately priced trip, and the price for the expensive NYE time was reasonable. That being said, I would have been less than pleased with some of the hotel features if I had paid more (specifically, the carpeting in the hallways are dirty and damaged and the rooms are very basic). However, once I got over these details, I had an amazing time. The hotel more than makes up for this with the absolutely beautiful pool area, restaurants, nightlife and overall good energy. There were always spots available at the pool or beach (you can hang out near the music and games or easily find a quiet spot just around the corner). It took a bit of persistence, but we were able to get reservations every night. The restaurants are really wonderful and I would highly recommend trying as many as you can. The breakfast buffet was just average. We also really enjoyed the nightlife. There was a nightly band by the lobby outdoor bar, a beach party one night, and an amazing new years celebration (it ended up pouring, but everyone still had fun). Overall, I had a wonderful time on this trip. I would probably spend more for a more upscale restaurant next time, but this was perfect for what we were looking for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Top rated hotel

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: I liked the food, the entertainment and the ambience and friendly and efficient staff
Cons: To ensure that the rooms are well maintained and upkeep and fit for occupancy at all times.
Location: the loacaton was good, there were trips on offer for excursions to other parts of the island but we did not take them.
My sister and I enjoyed our vacation at the hotel. The hotel was well maintained, staff was extremely helpful and courteous. They would go the extra mile to ensure that our requests are met. Especially the front desk staff -Shanordo. The hotel is very beautiful and huge, lots of space, the lobby area, the roooms, grounds, gardens, swimming pool and epecially the miles and miles of beach area. However, disappointedly some of the rooms were not well maintained and had a foul, damp and mouldy smell, we had to change rooms three times for the three nights we were there. The room that we were given on the last night was very satisfactory with robes and slippers and ample towels and beautiful views.We were given avariety of food to catered for different groups of people which was excellent ....... I mostly enjoyed the local Jamaican food. Overall, a very good experience and I would recommend the hotel and I would return. Good value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Amazing place , amazing vocation ✌️

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Amazing place , amazing vocation ✌️ I had a great time !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jamaica

Food was good, staff were warming to us!

Posted Dec 24, 2016
The experience was great! We would go back! Since internet is a big deal, the hotel charges too much for internet in rooms. There are ISP's in jamaica that can give good deals for internet, consequently, lower the fee for internet in rooms. The maintenance department needs to have a better days for work around the resort. Have special days for noisy maintenance work, such as mowing the lawns. I