Ratings based on 1,527 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

AMAZING!!

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: The hotel was very clean and the staff was so friendly and helpful. Everyone that we came in contact with always smiling and in such a great mood.
Cons: There is nothing that I can think of at this time that needs to be improved.
Location: The location was great! It was about 30 minutes from Ocho Rios and 1 hr. from Montego Bay. The taxi service was always at the hotel ready to take you,
When we first arrived to the hotel the view was breathtaking and the staff was so helpful and friendly. We felt welcome from the time we landed in Jamaica until the day that we left. All the meals that were provided were delicious and very filling and the times that they gave you to eat worked out perfectly because you were not rushed or pressured to finish in a hurry. We were also offered many activities on the resort to keep us busy for day if we wanted to participate. I will be coming back to this resort time and time again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Amazing staff & nice beach

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff, the Garden Grill Restaurant and the jerk chicken.
Cons: Cleanliness of shower, dinner reservation policy and free wifi and safes
Location: We did the ride and swim with horses excursion. It was really fun!
Hospitality-The staff was very friendly. Everyone greets you with a smile & says hello. I read some other reviews before I went so I was not sure what to expect. Where there a few people who weren't as friendly, yes. Overall they were super nice. Restaurants-Book your dinner reservations ahead of time. It is possible to get a reservation last minute but not guaranteed. You are allowed a certain amount of dinner reservations based on how many nights you stay but it is based on availability. For my 4 night stay I booked my 2 reservations one week in advance with Sabrina via email. I also was able to get one walk in dinner at The Garden Grill Restaurant. This place was excellent!! The buffets are ok. Nothing special but what buffets are? The beach cafe is great for lunch as they have fresh cooked jerk chicken which is delicious! Beaches-There were quite a few different beach areas. It is not one long and wide beach like I was used to seeing in Mexico & Punta Cana but it was still very nice and I found a spot towards the end of the property that I loved because it was a bit more quite and the water is very clear over there. Simply beautiful. We saw fish and sting rays. Room-The room was spacious. I was surprised that we had to pay for WiFi & a safe as most all inclusives include those things. The room was spacious & clean but the shower seemed to have some black mold in it. A lot of rooms have views. Beach vendors-You will see them. They are not pushy and they are so nice!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Wouldn't go back, but it wasn't terrible!

Posted Mar 22, 2017
To start, at the front desk you are greeted with delicious drinks! They allow you to check in early, leave your bags with the bellhop, and take full advantage of all of fhe resorts ammenities. The staff was really friendly and always eager to help (we even had someone from the resort call us a week before our stay to ask us if we had any questions for our upcoming trip). The pool was beautiful, and it had a swim up bar (which was a major plus!). The food at the "reservation only" restaurant was spectacular. Now, on to my issues with the resort: 1. It was a bit outdated; the hallways leading to the room we were assigned were all dimly lit, making it at times hard to navigate around. 2. The elevator that was closest to our room constantly reeked of dirty water. In addition to that, it often stopped working, which made the trip to go back to our rooms twice as long. 3. Often times, we found bugs crawling in the hallway close to our rooms, which was always freightening to find because we wouldn't see them until we were standing directly in front of them (because of the dim-lit hallways). 4. It's nearly impossible to make reservations at one of their speciality restaurants, because they are always booked days in advance. 5. Our toilet was not working, the only way we were able to make it flush was by lifting the lid off the toilet and manually lifting the pump. Overall, it wasn't a terrible experience, it just wasn't the best for the money we spent on the trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Cassandra, Hotel Management
Dear Molly, Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. In taking great care of our beautiful hotel, our main priority is to be able to offer a very well-maintained and comfortable atmosphere. We hope that we can convince you to change your mind about another visit to our property. Thank you for vacationing with us. Yours respectfully,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Very very nice! Thumbs up!

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Check in process was great. Francine took care of me and explained everything thoroughly. I had a very comfortable room with awesome ocean views. Housekeeping did a great job; my room was cleaned all 4 days I was there. My only housekeeping issue was I asked for a blanket at 12 noon and they didn't bring it until 6pm. I had to call the front desk again to see if they'd forgotten. Also, there are these ladies at the front that are so overbearing--sort of harassing trying to get guest to do 90 minute tours of the property. Every time you walk by they want to discuss it--the worst part of my trip. The buffet wasn't the best, but we made it work. We don't eat pork but it was a lot of it there. Also, talapia which we don't eat. We went out twice to a local spot to eat for variety. People there (hotel staff) were very nice and friendly. I would recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Cassandra, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. We are so glad you found our hotel a good place to stay, and that you enjoyed the services offered. Unfortunately, it seems that we did not meet all your expectations. Kindly be informed that we have forwarded your comments to the Management Team involved to have them look into matter. Thank you for vacationing with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Yours sincerely,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017
ok hotel with ok food. so much more crowded than the Luxury Bahia side.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Cassandra, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback and for vacationing with us. Hope to see you again in the future. Yours sincerely,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would Never Go Back

Posted Mar 19, 2017
The beach was practically non existent and riocky. Hotel overall was very run down. Restaurant hours were terrible and size of restaurant and staff could NOT accommodate the number of guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Cassandra, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We appreciate the time you have taken to share your review with us. We have taken notes of your concerns which will be taken into consideration by our management team. Thank you for your time and for vacationing with us. Yours respectfully,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never never never never again

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Where should I start? This hotel was absolutely terrible. If you have high expectations do not I repeat DO NOT stay there. The rooms were nice, for the most part the hotel staff was very nice but the hotel itself has poor management. I have had nothing but problems there. The floors by the pool are extremely slippery one of my family members slipped and sprained their ankle bad. We asked for a nurse we were told they could bring us to the nurse but she would not come us. We then asked for an ace bandage and we were told we can purchase one. The drinks are terrible nothing is frozen, the disco smells like pure vomit, there was a bug in my food. One manager did not even want to come out of her office to talk to me or to attempt to correct any problems I was having. Do not waste your money. I have stayed in other hotels in different parts of Jamaica and never had any problem.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Cassandra, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We are truly disappointed and concern at the comments you have made mentioned in your review. Our guest safety and comfort is our top priority and we are deeply sadden that we did not achieve this with you. However, we will be forwarding these concerns to the General Manager and team for them to investigate this matter and put in place measures to ensure that we do not have any other negative impression of this sort. We appreciate your kind comments about our room and staff. Once again, we do apologize and hope your overall perception of us has not been tarnished due to this matter.Thank you for vacationing with us. Yours sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, ON Canada

Nice hotel!

Posted Mar 19, 2017
The hotel had good options for food and amenities. The weather was not the greatest. It that can't be blamed on the hotel. Overall enjoyable stay and I am thinking of taking my kids next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Cassandra, Hotel Management
Dear Anh, The team here at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica is thrilled to hear such good feedback and we are proud to know about your great holiday with us. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Yours respectfully,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel,clean

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Check in time was at three and had to stand in a long line three times to hear my room still wasn't ready and it was 5:00. Staff was rude and uninformative I could never write how bad the experience was trying to check in. Once we were there and didn't interact with the staff it wasn't too bad. I will never stay at any Grand Bahia ever again. Will say the grounds were beautiful and clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Cassandra, Hotel Management
Dear Paulab, We are truly sorry for all the inconvenience that you have experience while vacationing with us, however let me kindly inform you that we have relayed your feedback to every head of department that you have mentioned so that corrective measures can be taken in order for us to have no further reoccurrences of this sort. Once again we apologize and hope to host you again so that we can regain your trust in us. Yours sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C.

Paradise

Posted Mar 17, 2017
My stay at the Grand Bahia was nothing short of amazing. Each and every staff member is extremely friendly and helpful. The bars, restaurants and food on the resort are all incredible. It is like a utopia. I was a bit worried about my stay initially because the reviews I read on here said the hotel needed improvements and the aesthetics and maintenance needed improvement as well. However those reviews were wrong, the hotel is quite wonderful. The only thing that could've been better was quicker service to your room, for things like more towels or soap.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Cassandra, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We are so delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay here with us. You described perfectly what Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica represents, effortless luxury in paradise. We attribute much of our guest happiness to our beautiful surroundings and attentive staff who go above and beyond to anticipate and meet guest needs. We look forward to your speedy return. All the very best until we see you again. Warm regards,