Ratings based on 152 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Excellent service and beautiful location

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Maurice the head chef made gluten free bread especially for me! He also lead a farm market trip and a great Jamaican cooking class.
Cons: a little stiff - the "men in collars" at dinner for a island resort seemed somewhat dated. Music at happy hour or at afternoon tea perhaps acoustic
Location: plenty to do at the hotel itself - trips to town or nearby falls all require a hefty car fee of $50 to $100 - which seems a little steep.
We stayed for 4 nights and loved it. We arrived fairly early and left a little later and there was no problem staying later in the room on the last day or getting in early the first. There are a lot of activities so ASK what is going on or they don't mention it. We missed a yoga class and afternoon tea the first two days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Incredible cottage, right on the beach

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Cottage #2. The beach. Teddy, the bartender which has worked there for the past 58 years... I think that says something about this hotel's management.
Cons: Nothing we could think of
Location: Perfect location in Ocho Rios. Restaurants, waterfall, snorkeling/scuba, blue mountain coffee plantation tour
Great private beach and well kept facilities. Helpful and friendly staff. Wonderful restaurant and bar. Unique SPA.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

A colonial throwback

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Very relaxing hotel with a large private beach Rooms a bit small reflecting the wider ambience of the hotel which retains its 1950/60 feel Quite a bit of history.Balconies v spacious with fantastic views Food and staff could not be faulted
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2016 by Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your your review! You've described our best features perfectly, the ambiance and spacious rooms are always a guest favorite. We hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The perfect antidote for the mega-resort!

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
This is a hotel for those wanting a smaller, more personal experience than the "vacation factory" big resort properties. Impeccably decorated and maintained, it doesn't show that it's one of the old-school properties in Ocho Rios; rather, it has that ideal combination of top-condition property with a staff who all know how to do their part to make each guest feel absolutely special. The number of guests who have been coming back for years (in one couple's case, decades), speaks to the consistently great experience provided by every one of the staff we met. We feel we made friends with several in our short stay, and want to give a special shout out to Patrice, our dinner server/sommelier/caretaker most nights. We hope to be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Our sentiments exactly! Thank you for taking the time to pen this review! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and experience the customized services we're able to offer. We'll be sure to pass on your sentiments to Patrice. All the very best until we see you again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Maimouna from New York

Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Hotels
We had a very nice stay and appreciated the service. Everyone was really nice and so helpful. The private beach was great and equipment was made available for kayaking, snorkeling, paddle-boarding and other water activities. Watching the sunset from the beach was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very civilized

Posted Apr 21, 2016
fun place to be, beach bar, beach and pool, nice gardens and lovely downstairs rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Unique Hotel. Felt like home!

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Orbitz
Perfect location close to the beach, with a classic sense of Jamaica and an impeccable taste. Vegetation and natural atmosphere transport yourself to an unforgettable vacation.
5 out of 5
by Tracey from Atl

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
The property and the private beach was beautiful! The kindness of the staff and customer service was exceptional Great place to relax!
5 out of 5
by Neil from Dencer

Best in Jamaixa

Posted Feb 25, 2016 on Hotels
Overall, the hotel was fantastic. Best setvice ever, and fantastic food. The onlynegative- our room was rather cramped and thebathroom/ shower was somewhatawkward and too small.