Ratings based on 1,201 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Lovely location

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Great service, excellent Jamaican food. Lovely beach
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: Friendly and close knit, everything is within a 2 or 3 minute walk Drinks were great Food was great
Cons: False advertising on the ocean view should be stopped, in america advertising our room as "ocean view" would be fraud
Location: far from the airport but worth the drive
Our stay was very nice! The shuttle ride to the hotel took an hour but once there it was very nice. Everything is close to the water and all the rooms are close to the water as well. The staff is very friendly and there are always activities and events to attend. That being said, we spent most of the time on the very nice powder sand beach with warm clear water! The Food: very tasty options that cover many different types of food (america, Japanese, jamaican, italian) and you will not have to eat at the same place twice if you stay a week! The Drinks: Top shelf means top shelf! (or at least close enough to the top where I could recognize the names of the alcohol I was drinking!) *MY ONLY COMPLAINT* The view: I paid extra when I booked it on expedia in order to get an "Ocean View"... We were put on the second floor of the building we were in and the room did face the ocean. However in order to see the ocean from the second floor I had to wait until there was just the right amount of wind in order to sway the palm trees just enough for me to see this ocean view I paid over $100 dollars extra for.... Trying to find this magical view of the ocean was like taking a page out of Where's Waldo (Where's Water)... and when I asked the front desk to move, they said they didn't have a room with a "better" ocean view until halfway through our trip and I was not repacking mid vacation. When asked for a refund I was told nothing could be done because I paid through expedia... NOT HAPPY
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa, Fl.

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Majority of the staff were very friendly but there were a few who seemed like they couldn't be bothered. The food was ok, rooms were very clean, however I do believe they need to upgrade the balcony doors. We had a bad storm one night and the doors sounded like they were about to come lose of the hinges and we had water coming in through the top and the bottom of the doors.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2016 by Velona W., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback. Your commendations are graciously accepted, as well your concerns noted. It was a privilege to have been of service, and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Velona W.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great location

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Front desk staff needs increased training on customer service and knowledge on working with guests of different age groups and countries.
Location: Excellent location for Dunns River Falls and most other activities.
Most of the staff were pleasant with the front desk staff being the least pleasant. Food was average, limited local cuisine served and a special request for local food was not appropriately communicated. Clean grounds, clean room, ocean view room with balcony was a good price; you do get a view of an eye sore of a roof, but overall good view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2016 by Velona W., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Your commendations are graciously accepted and will be conveyed to the team. As well, your concerns have been duly noted. We were delighted to have been of service and hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Velona W.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cumming, GA

The most friendliest people ever

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Food
Location: Good starting point for most excursions
Hotel and grounds spotless. This hotel had the greatest eclectic mix of people I have ever experienced. Black, white - skinny, fat - gay straight - old, young. The perfect way to meet and greet. The staff was extremely helpful and stood ready to cater to your every wish. Met some wonderful people at the "smoking section". All in all it was a great vacation and the question of will we come back...Ya Mon. Note to management, put the jerk chicken wings that were had at the cocktail party on the menu or offer them at the grill.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2016 by Velona W., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review and taking the time to share your valuable feedback. Your commendations are graciously accepted and will be conveyed to the team. It was a privilege to have been of service, and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Velona W.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2016
The resort was nice, AC was cool, and the beds were comfy. I was, however, shocked to find out this was a Hilton property. Our housekeeper was lovely, even hugged us when we met her in the hallway, and the bartenders took great care of us. With that said, our stay could've been better. The buildings were on the older side and that would have been fine except that you could see dirt/dust gathering in the corners and baseboards of the older rooms and the bathrooms were not spacious or luxurious, simply serviceable. Some of the servers at the restaurants had an attitude and everyone clearly expected to be tipped to give you any sort of service. The food also left something to be desired. With the exception of the outside grill, all restaurants left something to be desired. In fact, the Jade Samuri Japanese steakhouse (that we had to wait 3 days to get a reservation at) was downright disgusting and everything was literally swimming in teriyaki sauce. No exaggeration- everything! All in all it was a nice place to stay and we had no big complaints, we just would have expected slightly better from a Hilton property.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2016 by Velona W., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback. Your commendations are graciously accepted, as well your concerns noted. It was a privilege to have been of service, and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Velona W.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US Army

Resort near the attractions

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Pros: All-inclusive, fine dining, and entertainment.
Location: The resort offered excursions to the River Falls, and shopping both on the local market and duty-free.
The staff met you and feels like they were with you throughout the entire stay. They were always available and providing entertainment and services. The amenities were great and at the right price (for those that had a cost). Definitely a plus to be an adults only resort since it is all-inclusive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2016 by Velona W., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review and taking the time to share your valuable feedback. Your commendations are graciously accepted and will be conveyed to the team. It was a privilege to have been of service, and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Velona W.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable & great food, but some service issues

Posted May 31, 2016
5 nights in April/May in a Diamond ocean view concierge room. Would recommend, with caveats. Great room, great view on the property side. Comfortable but few amenities, and no bathroom fan = low-rent. AC had a life of its own and seemed delinked from the thermostat in random ways. Quality of food was far above expectations for an all-inclusive -- went to the Italian place 3x, also ordered pizza from the beach and strolled over a few. Japanese restaurants worth one visit, and dining on the pier on a Thu was fabulous. We weren't so impressed with overall resorts service, especially after rave reviews of same. There were numerous competence issues, most small, but some serious, including zero access to room service the first morning, and a couple of blown orders thereafter. Staff almost always smiling and upbeat, though often robotic, and a mixed bag of some terrific, genuinely warm and fun personalities, and others who seemed grumpy. Short beach, yes, but two big pools, both with bars, and you will never lack for a lounge chair, but even getting out there at 8 AM saw all the shaded chairs occupied by towels with baseball hats or magazines, I assume placed by resort attendants who had been given cash the night before, because there were nearly no guests in sight. It never felt necessary to tip and you could get by never doing so, but I had a wad of ones to dole out Bottom line: problems with staff and service took me down to 3 stars, but outstanding food bumped it back up to 4.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2016 by Velona, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Note that we are in the process of correcting the issues mentioned. Sincerely, One Love Velona
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Not a 4 star hotel, ratings must be rigged.

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: The snorkeling was AMAZING at the reef but cost you $30/pp. The staff is awesome Terrence, Damatri, and Morris are great bartenders. Food was good.
Cons: Maintenance! Clean the pools. Actually fix issues with rooms. More activities that don't involve girl dance offs and shots.
Location: Location is nice, about 1 hr 30 min from airport. Mountain view is awesome. Easy to do activities like Blue hole, tubing, zipling. Which are awesome!
Right to the point my husband and I do not recommend this hotel.. As soon as we got to the airport we found the shuttle and told him our names he said,"you are not staying at jewel dunn river tonight." we asked why and he replied we would have to ask when we got to Paradise Cove. This was VERY unsettling as we received no call or email from the hotel. So when we arrived at JPC they reported that JDR overbooked (apparently they do frequently) and that the next day we would be shuttled over. I asked about the shuttle and they told me to go talk to the tour lady. The tour lady was rude and said we had to pay for the shuttle, I refused and the front desk figured it out for us. JPC is beautiful. We loved it there. Next day we arrived at JDR, room was clean, nice view. AC did not work. Called 4 different times in one day to finally just get a fan. Never fixed the AC. Room flooded one night. They reported the toilet must've leaked but just said if it did it again to call. Met a couple who found another mans underwear in their room. Almost every single person had some problem with their room.The beach is larger than JPC but barely any shade, water is murky. Pools are cloudy and not well maintained. Much better places to be in the Caribbean. JDR is geared toward party life, not relaxation. Lots of people said they wont return. Pick somewhere else like JPC or anywhere else. We were excited about this because of the rating, HUGE disappointment! never returning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2016 by Velona Whilby, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel if you're not too needy

Posted May 23, 2016
This is a good hotel if you're not into high vaulted ceilings and a large beach. This isn't your typical riu or gran bahia large resort. It is a nice smaller resort that is quiet and quant. The beach is probably the size of a football field where you can tan and swim a little. Overall this is a nice resort for people who do not want the big atmosphere. Staff was very nice and food was good. Drinks were from a good selection just make sure to tip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2016 by Velona, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely,