Ratings based on 1,312 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel was nice but beach area was very small

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Small and quaint
Cons: late night entertainment
Location: location was 2 hours from airport
We had difficulty checking in as they didn't have our room ready when we arrived.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Simply Amazing

Posted Feb 19, 2017
I have already recommended this to a few family and friends and plan on going back in the future. The staff was amazing and the resort was wonderful. Everyone got to know your name and got you involved with the activities. I love this resort and would rate it even higher if possible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Velona W., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! Your wonderful commendations will be shared with our team. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again someday soon. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great vacation!

Posted Feb 19, 2017
This was our third time to Jamaica and my favorite trip yet! This is a lively resort with lots of entertainment. The DJ by the pool is very good. He also has daily games that are fun/easy where you can win some really good prizes (full size bottle of rum, coffee, free pass to an excursion,etc). There were also great prizes given out at the meet the managers event, which is only a half hour and offers appetizers. We were there for Valentine's Day and they had a beach party with the most amazing BBQ chicken and an amazing live band. There was also a Dining Under the Stars dinner and we didn't think we would like the menu but ended up really enjoying it (especially the lemon drop martini!). The beach area is very nice and the water is warm. There are also crafters everyday on the beach where you can buy some nice souvenirs to bring home. They are even there on nights where special events are going on. Our last day at the resort there was a Jamaican street party and bonfire on the beach which was a great way to end our vacation. Overall this resort is a great value. The food is good, drinks are great. My only complaint is the deserts need some significant improvement. The Italian restaurant is very good but be prepared for small portions. The pizza station is delicious and the jerk chicken at the grill is really good. The rooms are nice, room service is very reasonably priced. There is a small walk in closet with some nice storage space and you get robes and slippers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Velona W., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! Your wonderful commendations are appreciated; as well, we note your concern and will have the matter addressed. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again someday soon. Sincerely,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Average Experience

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Staff: Most of the staff was especially friendly. However the gift shop and front desk staff were not the most pleasant to deal with. Hotel Cool place honestly. The only complaint i have is the beach. It's super small. Not really anywhere to explore. Pretty cool amenities (nice gym, hammocks, coffee bar *when working, free sail boats *little ones, paddle boards, water sports). Designated smoking areas are quite small and there are only 2. Room Nice room outside of the fact that the couches and chairs within smelled like must/mold. Horrible smell, otherwise very comfortable bed. Restaurants This was a joke. there are only 3 formal restaurants. First of all it's Jamaica, so i didn't bring a pair of long anything. I try to go to Platinum (one of the formal rests.) and i'm told that i cannot eat there because i am wearing shorts. Mind you they are nice golf/khaki slacks. I asked would sweat pants suffice and was told yes as long as they are pants. We could not even get in the Japanese restaurant; we tried to book as soon as we arrived but it was unavailable the entire length of our stay. So that left the Italian rest, which we ate everynight. (outside of the night we had pizza). Italian place was pretty solid, although a roach did crawl out of the bread that was served on one of the nights. Extremely understaffed. 2 of the nights there was a line 50 or so people long to eat. Pizza was great, american grill was great. Wasn't a bad place, but i won't be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2017 by Velona W., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your commendations and note your concerns and offer our apologies for any inconvenience or discomfort caused while utilizing our facilities. Please be assured that the issues are being addressed. It was a privilege to have been of service, and we wish you the best for the future. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Little Gem in Ocho Rios

Posted Feb 11, 2017
We choose this hotel for its size after reading reviews. Really nice surprise on arrival. Staff very helpful, bags delivered to room in timely fashion. Rooms are nice, housekeeping was very good. But the best was all the choices for food and drink. Italian restaurant was great, my wife and I ate there twice. Samurai restaurant was fun and food was great also. Beach is small but still works because of the size of the hotel. We would go back in a heart beat. GREAT TIME.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Velona W., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! Your commendations are greatly appreciated and will be shared with our team. We are glad that you had such a wonderful time and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston , mass

great times await!

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, beautiful pools and beaches
Location: Dunns falls and mystic mountain were so fun and both places had the greatest staff!
I want to start by saying I never write reviews but I need to let anyone thinking about staying at this resort stop thinking and book it! The staff was great ,very friendly and go out of their way to give you the best experience. The trip from the airport to the resort was scary to say the least as they drive on the left side of the road and they don't seem to follow any type of rules of the road, other than that we enjoyed our stay. We were within minutes of several excursions so we didn't mind the drive. I recommend visiting Dunns falls and mystic mountain. The locals know how to make everyone feel comfortable and truly do mean it when they say "no problem "! Food and drinks were very good. I have been to several islands and I have to say this was my favorite. If you only get 1 vacation a yr like us I would say this is the best place to spend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2017 by Velona W., Hotel Management
Dear Guests: Thank you for visiting our resort and taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. We pride ourselves on providing a relaxing and enjoyable experience for our guests and are very happy that your stay was a great one. Your commendations are graciously acknowledged and will be shared with the team. We deeply value your patronage and are committed to providing the highest level of service simply because our visitors deserve the very best. Thank you for your patience while we seek to further enhance our product and improve the delivery of service to our clients. It was our privilege to have been of service, and we look forward to the pleasure of serving you again someday soon. Best regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Very nice vacation

Posted Jan 25, 2017
The only bad thing about our vacation was the over 2 hours bus ride to get there. We were initially told it would take 1 -1/2 hours. The food was adequate although we expected to be wowed with it. The very best part was the excellent servers in all the eateries. We were surprised that few people seemed to be tipping these hard workers. We noticed at the beach the servers were almost running to be of service, taking orders and serving drinks but we observed very few people actually showing their appreciation by giving a monetary gratuity.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2017 by Velona W., Hotel Management
Dear Guests: Thank you for making it Jewel Dunn's River and taking the time to give us your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from o

2nd trip to jewel dunns river falls

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Great experience. lots of fun. Staff was wonderful. Food was delicious. If only the weather cooperated, it would have been perfect. Four couples celebrating birthdays. Could not have recommended a better place to go.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by Velona W., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay, in spite of the weather, and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

so so

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: food and room
Cons: clean the pool and update resort allow more smoking areas
Location: close to dunns river and excursions
staff does not go out of way to make you feel important. food excellent. smokers beware....only allowed to smoke in 2 areas away from everything. more people were jammed in here than at the resort it seemed. beach small. older resort but our room and balcony were great. have to pay to stock beer in room (not included) only red stripe draft at bars. real close to activities nearby and were resonably priced. pool water was below skimmer and looked clouded got in once too cold. i would pay a little more and go elsewhere it is a 80-90 min drive to resort
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by Velona W., Hotel Management
Dear Sirs: Thank you for visiting our resort and taking the time to give us your feedback. We note your concerns and offer our apologies for any inconvenience caused while utilizing our facilities. We deem it a privilege to have been of service and wish you the very best for the future. Best regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great resort worthy of staying at again!

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Loved the resort! Offered great activities and the room was very comfortable. The beach was a little small and we got some attitude about the dress code for dinner one night, but other than that there were no real issues. Great food options, contrary to what some people have said about other resorts and possibly this one.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by Velona W., Hotel Management
Dear Guests: Thank you for visiting our resort and taking the time to give us your wonderful feedback. Your commendations are appreciated; as well we note your concern and offer our apologies for any discomfort or anxiety caused while utilizing our facilities. We deem it a privilege to have had the opportunity to serve you and look forward to doing so again someday soon. Best regards