Ratings based on 1,268 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ny

nice hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Beach is small but the people are fantastic! 0ur pizza lady Natalie took care of us for Lunch everyday ! Our bartenders Damion and Shawn were the best ! Food was great! Beach dinner and dining under the stars was amazing! Everything is readily accessible. Only thing I can say bad was our drinks were strong ! But if you ask for them to go easy they will. We are hoping to return in the future!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by Velona W., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! Your wonderful commendations are highly appreciated and will be conveyed to our team. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sAN JUAN, PUERTO RICO

AN EXCELLENT WEEKEND!

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: The security at the hotel was excellent.
Cons: The Wi-Fi in bedrooms
Location: Were there for a wedding and it was close to the venue
The lovely people of Jamaica made my weekend an unforgettable one. The hotel staff were more than kind.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Velona W., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! Your commendations are greatly appreciated and will be conveyed to the entire team. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jamaica

Beautiful hotel ,close to the beach highway

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: Everything about this hotel is excellent, i would do it all over again soon
Cons: if anything should be improved,it would be the entertainment
Location: The location is great and wonderful , very near to the heart of Ochi Rios, where a lot of fun is
This hotel is awesome, very comfortable aes a matter of fact, it was a home away from home. The staff are very courteous and friendly. They just know how to make one feels at home. T he rooms are clean and comfortable.The food is delicious with numerous choices. To add it all up, it is georgeous
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Velona W., Hotel Management
Dear Guests: It was a pleasure to have had you with us! Thank you for the great review of our hotel and the wonderful commendations of our staff and property! We note your concern about the entertainment package and will convey same to our team. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Belleair Bluffs, Fl

Excellent hotel ... right on the beach 👍😎

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Everything was excellent except the lighting ( especially in the bathroom ( sink area ) was too weak. Hard for women to see well enough while putting on make up or for anyone dealing with contact lenses. Everything else was GREAT! We enjoyed our stay very much.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Velona W., Hotel Management
Dear Guests: Thank you for choosing our hotel as your vacation destination and taking the time to give us your feedback. Your commendations are greatly appreciated and will be conveyed to the team. As well, we note your concern and will have the matter addressed. It was a pleasure to have been of service, and we look forward to the privilege of doing it all again for you someday soon. Best regards
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ontario, canada

Terrible experience

Posted Nov 26, 2016
The beds were very uncomfortable. No pillowtop or box springs. Got food poisoning twice. Many items on buffet were stale and undercooked (eg. Soup like scrambled eggs) Very few amenities. Weren't able to use worn and old water sport equipment. The staff were slow to serve. Room service didn't show up. Had to call several times to have bar in room stocked. Hot tub in rooms didn't work well. We weren't the only people on the resort that felt this way. Most other guests shared the same experiences with us. Will never go there again and quite possibly will never go back to Jamaica
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Velona W., Hotel Management
Dear Guests: Thank you for choosing our resort for your vacation and taking the time to give us your feedback. We note all your concerns and offer our apologies for any inconvenience suffered during your stay. We checked with our Nurse about the alleged food poisoning and there is no record of a guest or guests coming there with such complaints. We regret that this issue along with the other concerns were not brought to the attention of any manager on property before you departed so that remedial action could be taken. Concerning water sports, we wish to advise that the majority of our equipment was recently purchased - about 6 months ago to be exact. Our aim is always to ensure that all guests have the best vacation possible and it is regretted that the issues were not reported before you left so that they could be investigated and resolved. Again, we offer our apologies for any inconvenience, hardship or discomfort suffered while here with us. Best wishes for the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Dunns River trip

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: Very well kept and clean with several fun beach activities, and a nice tennis court. They also have a few beautiful wedding location options.
Cons: It would be nice if they allowed guests to visit the other two Jewel resorts on the island without having to pay a "Day Pass" fee, I was quoted $90 fo
Location: There wasn't much to do outside of this resort aside from going on excursions that were a bit over priced.
We went to Jewel Dunns River resort to get married. The majority of the staff was friendly, but Sanya was particularly superb and welcoming. In fact she was so friendly that we asked her to help us out at our wedding ceremony and to be our witness.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2016 by Velona W., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! It was an honor to host your wedding here at the resort and really wonderful to know that you had such an amazing time. Sanya is indeed an amazing team member, a true gem, and your kind sentiments will be conveyed to her and the entire team. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again to celebrate your 1st wedding anniversary. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Older hotel, but very luxurious

Posted Nov 25, 2016
The staff here is amazing! They are all very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located after the Riu, so unfortunately there is a fence full of locals trying to coax you to buy drugs 24/7 but if you avoid the fenced area, this place is great. The food is wonderful and the pools/beach/activities are great. My only complaint is that the hot tubs were only occasionally kept hot, most of the time they got down to about 90 degrees.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by Velona W., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! Your commendations of our property and staff are appreciated and will be conveyed to the team. Your concern about the hot tub is noted and will be immediately addressed. We were privileged to have been of service and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Home away from home

Posted Nov 23, 2016
This has become our annual vacation destination . When we are there, we always feel at home. We enjoy the size of the property as everything is in close proximity, which allows us to take advantage of all its amenities. The beach is our favourite spot, specifically lounging under the shade of the almond trees....they are a less expensive option to the cabanas :) The grounds are beautiful and are always well kept. See recent pics. The food options are always on point...i could go on and on but lets just say, "the food sell off" Big-ups to the bartenders, Damion and the Indian. Special thanks to Bar supervisor Robert, who always looks out for the guests. We would definitely recommend this hotel as we have not been disappointed yet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by Velona W., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Welcome back, it is always a pleasure to have our family here with us. You will notice quite a number of upgrades to the property since your last visit which we know will be pleasing. Thank you for recommending us. Your review of our hotel and staff are greatly appreciated, and we hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

A little dated but overall a nice hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2016
The hotel could use some updates. The food options are extremely limited but what they do have is pretty good. Staff is very friendly and goes out of their way to get you what you want.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2016 by Velona W., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for the commendations. We are in the process of updating our property and have, in fact, completed a number of enhancements to two of our eating areas, some of our rooms, put in a coffee bar, and covered the walkway from the spa to the sales office and gift and photo shops. The entire 250 rooms will be updated and are being done on a phased basis (as occupancy allows). We hope to welcome you back to our hotel someday to see the various enhancements that have been done. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Resort for Couples

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Location: Dunn River Falls is awesome.
This was an awesome resort. The staff was very friendly and were constantly cleaning and touching up things to keep the resort looking great. Food was good and one of the grills by the pool was open all night, perfect for that 3am cheeseburger craving. The beach is very nice but on the smaller side. Drinks were great and there was always some kind of activity going on, the beach party night was one of my favorites. Say hi to the fence people, lol.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2016 by Velona W., Hotel Management
Dear Guests: Thank you for choosing our resort as your vacation destination and for giving us the great review. Yes, we do love to keep things looking great for our guests and have embarked on a program of enhancements that will do just that. It was a pleasure to have been of service, and we hope to see you again very soon. Best regards