Ratings based on 489 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arelee Saskatchewan

Posted Feb 8, 2017
I really appreciated the hotel staff were really great, Tinker bell was awesome with our kids and Anne Marie was an awesome waitress and Purple and Pretty Boy were awesome! Food was really great and super bowl party and food was super fun! The snorkelling off the beach was amazing and the snorkelling from the resort to the 2 spots was the highlight for me! On the resort Jamaica was amazing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2017 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you so much for staying with us at Jewel Runaway Bay as well as your feedback.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not one of the greats on the Island

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Cons: The quality of the menu was poor, the quality of the food need more preparation - too rare !!
Location: The location was fine, everything was close proximity.
The staff wasn't pleasant, the first night there was a mix up with extra single beds in our room, due to miscommunication relating to guest room numbers. The rooms are small already with a king bed, then trying to fit two single beds - doesn't work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I am sorry that you did not bring any of this to our attention. Our chefs would be happy to make anything to your liking all you need to do is ask. About the staff is an unusual comment that we do not normally get, once again I am sorry that you did not bring this to managements attention. I am not sure what the miscommunication about the bed was, I hope it didn't take too long for someone to come and remove the single bed to make the room to your liking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice hotel with great staff

Posted Jan 28, 2017
The check-in process was very easy with excellent staff at the front desk. We were welcome with a drink. After checking in we decided to check out the water park next door. It's small but was fun for us adults. The room was clean and the room staff was happy to get you anything you need. We visit the Japanese resturant for dinner, not a good choice, too much sauce was used to cook everything. The main buffet offer a better selection of food... but regardless I would visit again and recommend others to visit too. Let the picture show his amazing the bartenders are...
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for staying with us at Jewel Runaway bay. I am glad that you enjoyed yourselves.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Best all inclusive

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Ebookers
Stayed 5 nights while looking around Jamaica with my family. Great for kids, great food. Staff fantastic. Not a bad word to say. Would highly recommend to anyone with a family and want a break from the kids while on holiday. Never saw mine for 5 days, it was like we left her at home!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2017 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you so much for staying with us at Jewel Runaway Bay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great beach, good food, friendly staff

Posted Jan 3, 2017
This property has a great beach, and you are able to snorkel right there on the property. The waterpark is a huge plus for the kids. As all-inclusive resorts go, the food is solid. No, it's not like dining at restaurants in Chicago or New York City, but there are plenty of good options. The grounds are quite pretty, and the staff is so friendly, albeit slow at times. But it is, after all, Jamaica, so they take it slow and relaxed down there. Our room, which admittedly was just the basic room, was not inspiring: fairly basic, cramped for a family of four, and nothing special. But aside from sleeping, we weren't in there much, so no problem. There are suites available, so if you can splurge, you probably should. While we typically like trying different resorts, nothing would stop me from returning to this one. It's nice to be in Runaway Bay since there are a bunch of excursions near Ocho Rios.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear Steve, thank you so much for staying with us at Jewel runaway bay. We look forward to your return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Orbitz
Great place for a vacation.. Staff was dedicated to their client and the surrounding to make your stay a good o one.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you so much for staying with us as well as your review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ok

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: good small water park for kids
Cons: consider peoples room reservations
put my reservation in a year in advance for 2 double beds and adjoining rooms for a party of 8. was supposed to have oceanview rooms but didn't get any of of it. had to get rollaway beds, no adjoining rooms and got chewed out for smoking outside on my patio. plus it took 2 hours to get from the airport to our hotel and when I asked about my reservation they said it was first come first serve. So I will stay in Montego Bay next time closer to airport and be first to arrive to get better rooms
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I am not sure who you booked with and who gave us information. You have to book oceanview rooms to get them. There is no smoking on the balcony and that is a Jamaican law. We are an hour and 15 minutes from the airport. thanks again and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the waterpark
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Dakota

Beautiful, not crowded, relaxing and fun!!

Posted Dec 27, 2016
We had a family of 8 with 'kids' ranging from 10-22. Lots of fun things for all ages. Beach was gorgeous and wide open. Water park and pools were great. Food was delicious and lots of choices. Would definitely go back!!! A perfect vacation!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you so much for staying with us at JRB
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, OK

Nice private beach resort

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Orbitz
We had a wonderful time, the food was excellent and plenty of things to do for the kiddos. Hotel staff is very friendly except the host at Moonstone grill, she had attitude. This was our 2nd time staying at the resort. Plenty of activities to keep the kids busy. The only thing we noticed this time compared to the last is they were a little short on wait staff. Our 1st visit we were waited on hand and foot this visit we had to wait longer periods to get service but overall had a wonderful experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear AB, thank you for your review on Jewel Runaway Bay as well as your feedback
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Good place to take kids, water park, nice beach.

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Comfortable
Location: Nice pools. Golf across the road. Beautiful beach. Water park. Snorkelling, lots of tropical fish to see.
Enjoyed the water park & beach. Great place for inexperienced snorkelling. Food was good. Highly recommend for family vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear Kevin, thank you for staying with us at Jewel Runaway Bay. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.