Ratings based on 435 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Family vacation in paradise

Posted Dec 25, 2015
Pros: The beach is very nice and the water is perfect for swimming. The reef is very close to the shore and the snorkling is excellent.
Cons: One minor complain, maybe more protection againtst mosquistos in the hotel lobby.
Location: This resort is 1 hour drive from the airport and 45 minutes from ocho rios, next time will go to dunns falls.
We were at the resort between 12 and 19 december, 6 adults and a 2 years old toddler, the whole experience was wonderful. We had ocean front rooms, the rooms were big and very nice furnished, the ocean view was amasing. When exiting the rooms, the back of the building was facing the hills and the view was breathtaking too, from the 3rd floor at night you could see lights everywhere. Wee knew about the water park, but we did not expect to be so big, even the adults had fun taking the rides. The stuff did an excelent job, the service was fast, the food was good, we enjoyed every minute, we will be back for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for staying with us at Jewel Runaway Bay. We appreciate your feedback. We look forward to your return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for staying with us
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2015
Incredible staff and beautiful beach. I came here on a father son vacation and we both really enjoyed ourselves. The layout of the place was extremely well done. The food at the buffet was significantly better than inexpected. Definitely more of a family place. Lots of kids. I did not know that before i booked, but considering, it was great. I would definitely stay there, or at another Jewel property again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
dear guest, thank you for staying with us at JRB. We hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
by John from gainesville, ga.

Posted Dec 13, 2015 on Hotels
it was our 31st stay at jewel runawaybay. we started going to this resort in 1985 never been disappointed. the resort is better than ever. we meet the same people from around the world every year. we call them our friends for eight days. would not go anywhere else. john and ann durso
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear John and Ann, thank you so much for continuing to return to us. We look forward to seeing you again Scott
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta,Georgia

Great Hotel!

Posted Nov 14, 2015
This is a great resort. The staff is exceptional, everyone was extremely pleasant. This resort has a water park which I was pleasantly surprised at how nice and spacious it was considering it was on the same property. The only thing I would recommend is maybe having mosquitos nets available. My 10 month old got a few bites in the room. Other than that my family had a wonderful time and we are already planning our return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you so much for staying with us at JRB as well as your feedback
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Place to go for destination weddings

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Pros: The staff, the food and water cleanliness
Cons: Maybe have some food to snack on in the late hours
Location: never had to leave property
The staff at runaway bay was on the ball and made sure rooms/pool area were always clean, the food was great and the ocean was warm and water clean with plenty of marine life. Check out the water park as well with the lazy river and challenging water slides.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2015 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear guest thank you for staying with us. Our grill is open until 7 am.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2015 by Scott, Hotel Management
Thank you for your rating
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Irvington, NJ

Perfect Family Resort in Jamaica

Posted Nov 4, 2015
This is my second time at this resort and my husband and I still loved it from the first time. The staff alone is wonderful. There is so much hospitality and great service. The food was good. The waterpark is amazing. It accomodates both children and adults. My second time coming, the staff remembered us and some gave us hugs. I can truly say that it is a 4 star resort with 5 star service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2015 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear Victoria, thank you for coming home to us at JRB. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed yourselves again.
4 out of 5
by derek

Great golf trip

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
I have stayed here many times when it was breezes. Since then they have upgraded they property and their service the entire expressing was great from beginning to end. Also they golf course and staff were great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2015 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for the comparison from the former company. We appreciate that you chose to return and glad that you had a good time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a great All Inclusive Resort

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Pros: the buffet, the beach, the free water sports, good for kids that don't care
Cons: the broken fiberglass Jacuzzi, the terrible food in the ":Fine Dining", the smelly old mildew rooms
Firstly Jamaican Immigration despise Americans. The unfriendly callous cold immigration agent gave a terrible first impression of Jamaicans welcoming you to their country. I thought I hope they're all not like this. The bus transport was at least a 30 year old bus doing about 30 mph the whole way with barely functioning air conditioning. Upon arrival the receptionist was very friendly. The room upon entering had a terrible moldy mildew smell. The restaurants were terrible we had to send our food back every time...Only the buffet was good. The water slide does not allow watches, glasses or jewelry so we couldn't go on that, but the meandering river was nice. Pay the extra money to go to a higher quality resort. Half of the resort is new and Half is 40 years old so you don't know what you're getting till it;s too late. Even the Jacuzzi tub had cracks and holes in the fiberglass ready to slice you open. Platinum restaurant fine dining was disgusting. The bottom of barrel for "fine dining" the lobster was burned the steak was uncooked and the appetizers were still frozen and cold. Really as bad as it gets. The staff are great but upper management sucks. Go to the buffet to eat - it was slightly above average. Water activities such as the caterman were good and free, There are better options in this beautiful island but don't expect a friendly welcome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2015 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I am sorry that you did not like the room that you booked. I don't remember seeing any reports with your complaints on it. Had you come to us I would have introduced you to our chef to help you with your liking of the meals. We have two hot tubs on property and the one that you mentioned is actually being repaired as we speak. things do break however we do have the other larger one in full operation. I am not sure what the challenge was with the buffet as in your review you list is as a pro and then you said it was good and then you said it was slightly above average. I am glad that you enjoyed some aspects of your vacation. hopefully you will return one day and give us another opportunity to try and please your tastes.