Ratings based on 494 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2017
The resort is nice but not quite a 4 star as the rating suggests. The staff are some of the friendliest that I have ever seen. Expect to tip for better service from time to time. The entertainment was good. The sea water is very clear. This resort is better for couples with young children, which not us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback. Yes we are a family resort. thanks again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Going back

Posted Feb 18, 2017
My experience at The Jewel was amazing. I was there with my wife, son (4) and daughter (3) for 7 days. The staff was excellent with children and every request was answered with a ya man. The beach is everything you could ask for and resort is designed perfectly. My only negative comment would be that the rooms are dated. Food was excellent and there is enough amenities for all ages. See you again Jewel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you so much for staying with us at Jewel Runaway Bay as well as your feedback
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Ya mon

Posted Feb 15, 2017
All inclusive. Great staff friendly and courteous. Outstanding food. Right on the beach water park for all. rooms are ok but not great. Highly recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2017 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for staying with us at Jewel Runaway Bay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Family Friendly with a great Beach Front

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: The beach area and the water sports.
Cons: :One Adult only Pool, End of Beach for Adults only, No young children in restaurants after 830 pm. Gives everyone a break from the little ones.
Location: Glistening Lagoon, not worth the money, Rose Hall is worth it.
Friendly service, attentive with a smile. The entertainment was lacking for excitement. There were a few good shows, especially the one poolside with the drummers. Other than that, everything starts too late, especially for a Family Resort. Basically entertainment starts around 9pm. Way too late. Other than that area, food was awesome with a wide variety, beach was beautiful and one of the better of the Jewel Resort Beaches.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2017 by scott, Hotel Management
Dear guest thank you for staying with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Great family resort

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Once again I had a great experience booking thru Expedia. Their website, app and customer service make booking and traveling a breeze! So thank you! Now onto this vaca... We had initially reserved a premier room, but I called the resort and upgraded to a King Plunge Pool room. We had a king bed and they brought two twins beds in for our daughters, we had plenty of room still. The bathroom situation wasn't as bad as I thought it would be, there is a glass door to the toilet and shower. I hung a robe on the toilet room door and a towel on the shower panel for extra privacy. The waterpark on resort is great for kids under 12 I'd say. Our 12 year old wasn't a fan, but she's used to big Disney World water parks. Our 9 year old loved it! We didn't make use of the kids club other than our 9 year old went to the Ruby Ranch for horse grooming one day. The restaurants are all great! I thought I wouldn't care for it much being that all but one are open air, but we absolutely loved it! They are arranged along the property so that there is always a slight breeze. And that view! We did Dolphin Cove in Ocho Rios and it was amazing! Highly recommended for everyone. Photos on disc were $200 extra for our family of 4, but definitely worth it. There was over 100 photos of our family alone. We used the free shuttle, left 3 1/2 hours before our departure flight and did not do Club MoBay. Lines were short on a Tuesday so it gave us time to eat at the Bobsled restaurant before our flight.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear Julie, thank you so much for staying with us at Jewel Runaway Bay. I am glad to hear that your family enjoyed themselves.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arelee Saskatchewan

Posted Feb 8, 2017
I really appreciated the hotel staff were really great, Tinker bell was awesome with our kids and Anne Marie was an awesome waitress and Purple and Pretty Boy were awesome! Food was really great and super bowl party and food was super fun! The snorkelling off the beach was amazing and the snorkelling from the resort to the 2 spots was the highlight for me! On the resort Jamaica was amazing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2017 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you so much for staying with us at Jewel Runaway Bay as well as your feedback.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not one of the greats on the Island

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Cons: The quality of the menu was poor, the quality of the food need more preparation - too rare !!
Location: The location was fine, everything was close proximity.
The staff wasn't pleasant, the first night there was a mix up with extra single beds in our room, due to miscommunication relating to guest room numbers. The rooms are small already with a king bed, then trying to fit two single beds - doesn't work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I am sorry that you did not bring any of this to our attention. Our chefs would be happy to make anything to your liking all you need to do is ask. About the staff is an unusual comment that we do not normally get, once again I am sorry that you did not bring this to managements attention. I am not sure what the miscommunication about the bed was, I hope it didn't take too long for someone to come and remove the single bed to make the room to your liking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice hotel with great staff

Posted Jan 28, 2017
The check-in process was very easy with excellent staff at the front desk. We were welcome with a drink. After checking in we decided to check out the water park next door. It's small but was fun for us adults. The room was clean and the room staff was happy to get you anything you need. We visit the Japanese resturant for dinner, not a good choice, too much sauce was used to cook everything. The main buffet offer a better selection of food... but regardless I would visit again and recommend others to visit too. Let the picture show his amazing the bartenders are...
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for staying with us at Jewel Runaway bay. I am glad that you enjoyed yourselves.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Best all inclusive

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Ebookers
Stayed 5 nights while looking around Jamaica with my family. Great for kids, great food. Staff fantastic. Not a bad word to say. Would highly recommend to anyone with a family and want a break from the kids while on holiday. Never saw mine for 5 days, it was like we left her at home!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2017 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you so much for staying with us at Jewel Runaway Bay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great beach, good food, friendly staff

Posted Jan 3, 2017
This property has a great beach, and you are able to snorkel right there on the property. The waterpark is a huge plus for the kids. As all-inclusive resorts go, the food is solid. No, it's not like dining at restaurants in Chicago or New York City, but there are plenty of good options. The grounds are quite pretty, and the staff is so friendly, albeit slow at times. But it is, after all, Jamaica, so they take it slow and relaxed down there. Our room, which admittedly was just the basic room, was not inspiring: fairly basic, cramped for a family of four, and nothing special. But aside from sleeping, we weren't in there much, so no problem. There are suites available, so if you can splurge, you probably should. While we typically like trying different resorts, nothing would stop me from returning to this one. It's nice to be in Runaway Bay since there are a bunch of excursions near Ocho Rios.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear Steve, thank you so much for staying with us at Jewel runaway bay. We look forward to your return.