Ratings based on 435 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from phl

Pleasant stay

Posted Jul 17, 2016
My family of four had a nice stay here. They greet you with a refreshing drink when first arriving, which is much appreciated after a long journey. Layout of the resort is good: not too big or small. Very mellow vibe, enjoyed the food. Well suited for families with kids. The waterpark was a big plus. The staff we encountered were for the most part very warm and friendly. We liked our Junior Oceanfront suite - 2 twin beds were put in the room for the kids just as we requested and it was not too crowded. Our kids liked the kids club and there were plenty of fun activities for them. There was one issue with the AC in our room but it was fixed promptly. There were some water pressure issues in the bathroom with very little cold water to the sink. These never quite went away but did improve over the week. Also the power went out about 3-4 times during our stay but came back on in less than a minute, so this was only a minor nuisance. Overall we had a very pleasant stay and would come back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear Jennifer, thank you for staying with us at Jewel Runaway Bay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I hope you brought the water issue to our attention while on property so we could have sorted it out. The power outages are something that we have no control over at It is the local power company that controls that very similar to the power companies in North America.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good place to go if you have children

Posted Jun 27, 2016
The beds were extremely uncomfortable. The hotel needs some updating. The pictures on the internet make it look way better than it really is in person. The local daycare centers were allowed to come in and use the water park. The children from the daycare centers were very disrespectful and were out of control! The food was good and they had a ton of different foods to choose from. There were several staff members that were rude to us. The beach was private and very clean. We had Claudia as our maid and she was wonderful! Most of the people were friendly. It was a pretty good hotel. Defiantly pay for an ocean front suite! It's worth the upgrade. I posted pics of our view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you were happy with most things at the resort. I am sorry to hear that you did not reach out to us with your challenges.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Burleson,TX

Beautiful calm beach!

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: The beach, The Moonstone restaurant and friendly staff
Cons: Maybe add a few "American" breakfast items, like scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage in buffet line, so don't have to wait in the grill line for them.
Location: It's about a 45 minute ride from Montego Bay Airport. Went to Dunn's River Falls which was about 30 mins away from resort.
Stayed at Jewel Runaway Bay in mid June 2016. As expected, it was hot and VERY humid, but the pools and ocean were steps away to cool down. Very clean beach, nice sandy roped-off area for swimming/wading. Would see occasional fish, not a lot though. Need to take an excursion to see more. Service always seemed slow at the restaurants, especially The Platinum Restaurant. I know you are supposed to be on Island Time, but... Breakfast buffet was interesting! Lots of local dishes I didn't recognize! I tried a few, but stuck to the omelet line for most mornings. The Jade Samurai Hibachi restaurant was good and entertaining. However it was very hot due to the limited air flow and close proximity to the HOT grills. A favorite was the Italian restaurant, Moonstone. It's right on the beach and views are beautiful and there's a nice breeze to cool you off. Food is really good, too! We had an oceanview room with a king bed and roll-away twin for our teenage daughter. The AC had to run constantly to keep the room comfortable, and ours kept turning off- something to do with a bad sensor on the balcony door. Front desk said they would send someone to fix it, but we couldn't tell anything had been done. Had to open and shut the door to get AC back on - Thankfully it only happened about every 4-6 hours. Found most everyone at the hotel very friendly and helpful. I stuck to beer and wine, so not sure how great the mixed drinks are. Will definitely consider a return trip!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for staying with us at Jewel Runaway bay as well as your feedback.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rockland County NY

Pleasant Stay.

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Had a wonderful time. Food was excellent there are three or four restaurants to choose from including the buffet. Quick service staff was friendly and the grounds was beautiful. The beach was fantastic plenty of lounge chairs and the water was crystal blue. We even had fun in the water park which is great for everyone!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
dear Melissa, thank you for staying with us at JRB. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel was nice, and the staff was friendly.

Posted May 5, 2016
Wonderful time in Jamaica did not like the dogs, and cats wondering around lose.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for staying with us. Not sure where you saw the dogs and cats.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2016
It was wonderful! Super friendly staff. Great for our family with kids aged 11 and 9.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you so much for staying with us at Jewel Runaway bay. We look forward to your return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2016
we had a great time at this resort! The beach was clean and beautiful. We all enjoyed being able to swim out and snorkel so close to the beach. The water park was an added bonus. The food was good and there were lots of options. We will definately be returning to Jewel runaway bay resort!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for staying with us at Jewel Runaway Bay and your great review. Come back soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oklahoma city

Love this hotel!

Posted Feb 10, 2016
The staff is incredible; they treat you like family! We travel all over and want to see different islands but we continue to come back to this hotel. The water park is amazing and has a lazy river for the adults to enjoy, great food.... Just a great find in Jamaica!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear Wilson family, thank you so much for staying with us at Jewel Runaway bay. Please come back soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: The staff sets this resort apart from the rest. The food was also very good. The Christmas buffet was superb! The resort was family oriented.
Cons: The mattresses on the beds could be softer. Also, did not like the pina colada mix used.
Location: Location was good. Dunns River Falls and the Jamaica bobsleds was a short 1/2 hour bus ride away.
The rooms were clean and well kept. Our room was a little smaller than expected as we had to bring in a rollway bed for my daughter, however the staff was very helpful and moved around furniture for us so the additional bed could be accomodated. The staff overall were fantastic. All were very nice, pleasant to talk to, and always asking what else we needed to make our stay pleasant. We had one night where our neighbors were very noisy, and management promptly took care of the situation. We would definitely go back to this resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear Julia, thank you so much for staying with us at Jewel runaway bay as well as your review. we look forward to your return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for your rating.