Ratings based on 321 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel by the beach (Aug 2015)

Posted Aug 14, 2015
The stay was great. The staffs are friendly and helpful. Lots of activities for kids. The only thing is that too many mosquitoes. It would have been excellent if I didn't lose my glasses on the last day of the trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great resort for families - i highly recommend it!

Posted Aug 13, 2015
The hotel staff bends over backwards to make sure you are happy. The water park is a plus - every activity for kids is very well supervised. The food is great & adult activities a lot of fun.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jamaica

Nice beach and water park.

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Spacious property. Food always available. Friendly staff. Overall rating 3.5 out of 5
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from woodbridge, va

Average hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Hotel not as expected from the raving reviews. Room was ok except for a very hard bed and only a shower (not good if you have 14 month old. Food was ok but buffet was laid out very weird. Dining room staff nice but not very attentive when needing a table. The beach was great and the best part of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Myrtle Beach, SC USA

Nice Resort

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Our first visit at this resort and it was pretty nice! It had the best buffet in any of our Jamaica stays by far, but the grill by the pool is the worst!! It only has one to two people working at a time and is one of the busiest places throughout the day so DO NOT expect fast service! Overall our stay was awesome and we will be back for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Great staff. Beautiful location

Posted Jul 10, 2015
We just returned from our trip yesterday and had an amazing time at jewel. We stayed in room 1017 with the plunge pool. It was worth the $100 a night upgrade I negotiated at the front desk. My two teenagers used the plunge pool each day and well as we took the baby in it daily. Also the shower had 6 shower heads and was very spacious. The room itself is basic but was fine. The food at all the restaurants had hit and misses like most places you go. We enjoyed the buffet and the jade Samaria the most. The water park was a lot of fun and we used it daily. All the outside kids was a bit much but we just had a positive attitude about it and jumped in the lazy river with them all. I recommend jewel and would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

awesome family resort

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: the Staff make it a wonderful resort
Cons: nothing
Location: we climbed Dunns River Falls off the resort, other than that excursion we had more than enough activities on the resort to keep us busy.
People are great, very accommodating, lots of activities, food and fun throughout everyday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Absolutely LOVED Jewel Runaway Bay

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: Absolutely Everything!
Cons: I would only suggest having someone at the tour desk with the same friendly attitude as everyone else on staff.
Location: We never left the resort because we were so happy right there!
My boyfriend and I spent a week at Jewel Runaway Bay and LOVED every minute. We originally planned to take a day trip away from the resort but there was so much to do we never left. The staff was amazing! Nearly everyone was incredibly friendly and helpful. Only the woman at the tour desk seemed unhappy with her job and was unfriendly... but she hardly put a damper on our vacation. The food at all the restaurants was so incredible that I'm sure we each gained 5 happy pounds. I must give special props to the Platinum restaurant for their service and the awesome food presentation... way beyond our expectations! We had an upgraded room and the frig was full was champagne, wine, beer, soft drinks & bottled water. Every day a staff person came by to restock... and remember its ALL INCLUSIVE!! Our room was very large, clean and had a perfect view of the ocean. We were there the last week of May 2015 and the weather was a delightful 85-degrees, only 5 drops of rain on one day, the ocean was warm and our suntans are great. I cannot say enough wonderful things about Jewel Runaway Bay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by chi man from Kingston, Jamaica

do not recommend hotel overall but fun waterpark

Posted May 28, 2015 on Hotels
Rooms were dirty and full of mosquitos. Food was not great and no AC in the restaurants except for one where you had to make reservation. Water park was fun but they allowed locals to buy day pass which caused the park to be overly packed with too many people. I would recommend the water park but not the hotel overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Great beach and excellent restaurants

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: Smaller size of the complex yet many nice restaurants with pleasant atmosphere.
Cons: Room temp and fan speed control need to work together. Golf course and caddie experience need improvement.
Location: We did not take any excursions or leave the Jewel property. Location was 1 hour 15 minutes from the airport but the bus ride and sights were good.
We stayed at Jewel Runaway Bay for 5 nights in May with 3 young grandkids and 9 adults. Everyone enjoyed the many water activities including the new waterpark, 3 pools and the private pool in front of one of our rooms. Beach was nice and there was good snorkeling easily reachable form the beach. Staff members were generally all very helpful and friendly. Rooms were comfortable except A/C fan control did not allow continuous on fan along with temperature control (we like white noise from fan running at night). Food was abundant and lots of good choices, including many healthy options. Free bus service from airport and back was very good. One member of our group used the golf course and was not pleased with the course or the caddie (fairways were dry and hard as concrete; caddie was not helpful).