Ratings based on 2,218 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BKLYN, NY

NOT PLEASANT AT ALL!!. THUMBS DOWN RIU OCHO RIOS

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!!
Cons: THE HOTEL NEEDS TO BE RENOVATED...
Location: THERE WAS ABSOLUTELY NOTHING NEARBY TO DO.
MY EXPERIENCE AT THE RIU WAS VERY DISAPPOINTING. I WOULD NEVER RETURN NOR WOULD I RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Cons: Food stations out by pool
Hotel staff is not all that friendly. Resort is geared for adults. Not many games. Food is allowed in restauraunts only. Cannot take to room or pool or out on beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Very pleasant stay. Very good food, lovely and helpful staff. We had a very nice experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

nice hotel, friendly staff, beautiful views

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Loved the pools and that it is right on the beach. Has a large beach area and it's beautiful.
Cons: Definitely needs new beds.
Location: Was about 8 miles from Ochos Rios (shopping). Close to Dunns River Falls.
Had a very nice time. Views are wonderful, atmosphere is relaxing but entertaining. Always something to do. Pools were very nice. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Many selections for dinner and breakfast. Rooms need updated and smelled musty. Beds were very uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2017
No complaints about the resort or staff. Everyone was extremely helpful and wanted to make sure we were happy. The weather wasn't the best but they can't do anything about that. Would go again if we could guarantee better weather.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fl

Second time staying there.

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Second stay there. Good was ok this time not great, better the first time. Entertainment and pool fun game and involvement was not good. The hotel for both stays have to do something about the cats at the dinning hall, everyone don't enjoy cats scurrying around while trying to eat. Probably more than likely will stay somewhere else if I return
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Didn't live up to the hype

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Pools and beach
Location: Dunns River is close by
I was visiting the beautiful island of Jamaica for a wedding and decided to stay at the RIU Ocho Rios after hearing such great things about the property. Unfortunately, upon arrival I could tell things must of change drastically from when my family and friends stayed on the property. The people at the front desk who are supposed to help you check in are rude and too busy socializing with each other instead of giving you their full attention. Found myself answering the same questions because they refuse to pay attention. There are stray cats just roaming the property at all times by the beach, by the pool, even by the restaurant tables that are outside. Upon my first night I woke up in the middle of the night with bug bites all over my body. I searched the bed to make sure there weren’t any bed bugs and I didn’t find any, but what I did find were roaches...yuck! I went to the front desk in the morning and report this and was told all they can do it “tidy up my room” major eye roll. At one point during my stay I went to take a shower and saw that the maid didn’t give me towels so I call housekeeping and asked them to bring a few and was told they are out of clean towel. How in the world is a hotel this large and established out of towels? I end up not getting towels until later that night. Now for the pros, the beach is beautiful and clean, the drinks are delicious and daily live entertainment is fun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

The grounds and outside restrooms were very clean.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: The accommodations were nice and the staff were all pleasant. Everyone worked hard at making our stay a time to remember.
Cons: The hotel could use some fresh paint. And my brother's room had a Jacuzzi that did not work that they paid for and they had some electricity problems.
Location: Tour groups made it easy to get places.
This was my first trip to Jamaica and will not be my last. My overall stay was a fantastic trip with family and friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

You want to stay here!

Posted Mar 6, 2017
I have been to many hotels in the islands and nothing compares with the RIU. Their accommodations and food were over the top and the staff was the friendliest people I have ever encountered. We were thrilled with every aspect of our vacation and look forward to coming back again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Big resort lots of food choices.

Posted Mar 3, 2017
House keeping was efficient. Alcohol was poor quality and sometimes had difficulty getting drinks with certain fruits or garnishes. The free entertainment was very good, especially the steeldrum band.