Ratings based on 1,961 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Staff Manger, Facilities and Condition

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Pros: The food, the entertainment staff, the front desk staff, the location and layout of the resort.
Cons: Stacy (Manager) needs proper training. Elevators should be functional. Rooms should be cleaned better, towels provided timely and refrigerator stocked
Location: RIU appears to be in a good location and access to areas of interest seems adequate. A little far from Kingston, Blue Mountain and Old Spanish Town.
Disapointed with Stacy (Manager). I wanted a bottle of water to take my medication while I was in the lobby and Stacy indicated to one of the staff that I request it from my room or buy it at the store. This is discouraging people from going to the resort. I will never have her as a manager to discourage customers rather than encourage. The rest of the staff members were very accomodating and respectful especially Sasha, Richard and Amoy at the front desk. The entertainment staff were very accomodating and tried to please everyone especially Elmo and Mr. Showtime. Due to these staff members I will consider returning to RIU but I hope not to run into Stacy. The food was very good. There was only one elevator working and that also gave problems, very disappointing for a resort this size. Did not like the cleanliness of the room and effeciency in providing clean towels, the room refrigerator was not stocked regularly as indicated, I had to call several times to get water in my room. Again, this is disappointing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Nice hotel great staff. Hated the moths they looked like bats.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Most of it was mediocre at best.

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Service isn't the best it could be. Room service doesn't exist. Called 3 days for laundry service They basically hold adults hostage inside the resort until you pay the extortionists they have as taxi drivers. Unable to bring guests for any duration of activity without having to pay additional fees for everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice hotel close to the attractions we wanted.

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: The location was great and the staff was friendly.
Cons: The food was average and the entertainment was poor.
Location: This hotel is ideally located. It is very close to Dunn's River Falls, Dolphin Cove and Mystic Mountain.
This hotel is ideally located. The beach and swimming pool were nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

One of the best hotels in Jamaica

Posted Dec 7, 2015
The food was the best 5 Starr quality and variety. The staff was the friendliest people I have ever met. Activities were fun and filled the day. Entertainment was just beautiful and the band played jazz and dancing music for all ages. Overall this is a 5 Star hotel!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orlando, FL

FANTASTIC RESORT!

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: The staff, the resort is beautiful! The dancing team is BEYOND AMAZING!!! The shows and drinks and food. Cannot say enough about RIU!
Cons: Wish the hot tubs were hot (they are part of the pool), and I wish the pool was open at night.
Location: Very close to Dunns River and Bobsled ride, wonderful help on tours and parking!
Absolutely beautiful resort, very clean and incredibly friendly staff. The only areas a bit worn down was on the pools, some tiny tiles were missing! The view from our room was amazing, ocean front! Incredible shows!!! Check in and out was fast. Buffets everywhere! Food wonderful! Don't miss the catamaran tour right from the resort, and using the sailboat!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Destination Wedding

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: no
Location: don't know. Loved the resort.
I went to Riu for my sisters destination wedding and it was wonderful. Her travel agent Young Lifestyle did a great job getting all 15 of us situated in Jamaica. I loved the ease of payment and everything about this hotel. Had a blast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel was fine, close to the beach.

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: Not too much, only that it was close to the beach.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Torus are pricey, not indication of what to expect. Dunn's River Fall was great.
Hotel was fine, staff tried the best. No clear communication about activities. We were not told certain restaurants required long pants for men. No clock in the room. We asked for a wake up call; we were called 45 minutes past the time. No clear indications when coming back to the airport, so we missed the transportation back to the airport, even we were sitting down near the hotel entrance for over 40 minutes. We were told that is common, so you had to get into a taxi a pay for it as much as a $100.00. Desperate times; we already paid for the transportation round trip when we got the reservation and booking. Tours have no clear explanation of what was entailed, and it was kind of pricey. Maybe the hotel could do a bundling with good explanation of each tour. Food was not extraordinary, and very repetitive. No good ice cream. In summary, not a good experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from charlotte

Cheri @ JTL tours helps

Posted Nov 26, 2015
They missed three wakeup calls that i scheduled. Normally i would not care but since the gift shop was out of adaptors to charge my phone. Since you have to schedule dinner appointments i needed the wake up call. First time in jamaica. First time at a Rui and i will never stay at one again. Food was terrible. Poorest quality. And no jack daniels or crown royal. Only bottom level spirits.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta ga

Loved my stay

Posted Nov 26, 2015
Facilities were nice, food was good, staff was great! They had entertainment every night which was a lot of fun and had plenty to do during day. Third trip to Jamaica and Riu is my favorite stay.