Ratings based on 2,070 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new yor, new york

Waited 5 months for this vacay

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Wasn't expecting thr openness of the hotel it was different I don't think I noticed that in the pics.
Cons: The elevator evnthough it was a mechanical malfunction the elevator stopped due to the rain and my room was on the 5th floor.
Location: Located in Ochos Rios beautiful location, green grotto caves, manic mountain, bob Marley compound
Arrived and was checked in quickly I decided to take my own bag to the room. The room was cool upon entry and neat and clean. The only issue was when it rained Wednesday night the rain water ran underneath the door and into the room and the floor was wet. I called th front desk and someone during housekeeping came to clean up the water and I did also. Otherwise it was enjoyable the food was good and staff were pleasant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beach excellent close proximity.

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Various bad odors as you walk around but they provide plenty entertainment and the beach is excellent
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2016
You get what you paid for! This hotel needs to fix somethings but it was still a great trip!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Will never stay there again or recommend to anyone

Posted Aug 8, 2016
We were disappointed from the start with the extremely long time it took to check in. Over an hour. The hotel was booked to capacity and we were told we were getting an upgrade to a junior suite. That was complete nonsense. The room was changed from ocean view to a view of a moldy roof. We had no AC for 2 days in sweltering 90 + degree heat. I took cold showers to get any sleep and the kids were miserable. On the 3rd day we changed rooms to one with a working AC but the toilet didn't work properly. We had to take the toilet tank lid off every time we flushed to push the flap down so it wouldn't keep running. The couch in the room was so smelly and stink, we had to cover it with sheets so that the sweaty odor did not transfer to us. The staff was generally unfriendly and there were no pleasantries like hello or good morning if I didn't say it first. On several instances, the staff was so busy talking to each other, they intentionally ignored me and my wife when we had questions, and looked annoyed that we had the nerve to bother them. The only meal that was tasty was breakfast. Lunch and dinner was subpar so we ventured out to the town to get decent food. The beach and the pools were very nice and that kind of made up for the other foolishness. This hotel has a lot of potential, but it lacks basic maintenance and upkeep. The staff needs retraining except for a couple of standouts like Selina at frontdesk and Ivette in housekeeping. Tipping goes a long way.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spring Valley, NY

Nice hotel, a little dated though

Posted Aug 5, 2016
The resort was nice. I was upgraded to a suite but it didn't look any different than a regular room if you ask me. The food was just okay. 2 of the Asian/ Japanese inspired restaurants should be removed as they were horrible. We ended up going to the buffet after experiencing those two restaurants. Entertainment was great especially the young group of team members who are really go above and beyond to make sure your enjoying yourself. Very kid friendly. Try to bring only small bills with you ($1's or 5's) because change is limited around there. Oh and enjoy the casino. They have a virtual blackjack table and some slot machines.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Overall, ok

Posted Jul 30, 2016
The resort itself is nice however, this go round getting clean towels required a fight, the tv bounced from Spanish to English, mid show, at times, the room smelled sour, and the bed was really uncomfortable. On the other hand, the staff was amazing, the entertainment was incrediblethe beach and pool was great and overall, the resort is peaceful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dont say at this Hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Some staff members were Great. The Ocean was perfect. However, other staff members were very rude to the guest. Checking was 2 hours to long. No one greeted us upon entering the hotel with a hi or drink. We paid for a ocean view. We didn't get it. We had to asked several time for a upgrade. The hotel didn't have WiFi. They wanted us to pay 40 for this. They refuse to give us extra towels to wash up with. They didn't clean the room everyday without making a several calls. The water and light went out for a day. This hotel was terrible and I would not recommend this to anyone!!!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Fun Hotel Great Service

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Spent five days at the hotel. We enjoyed our stay. Great overall service in all areas and a fun hotel. Love staying at the RIU hotel in Ocho Rios
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Linden, NJ

I will be back!!!

Posted Jul 22, 2016
The check in was a little bit of a hiccup because of a mixup with the reservation. Anna-Maria stepped up to the plate and gave us outstanding service. We were blown away. There were 6 of us and we were treated like royalty. I can't wait to get back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unsafe

Posted Jul 21, 2016
The door was an issue the whole weekend. It got to the point it didn't lock and no one helped us.