Ratings based on 2,260 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fl

Hotel Lost it Touch

Posted May 31, 2017
The room were clean the front desk was very nice during checking. As for the food and the waiters horrible. Did I say horrible food. There is nice resort for that price riu have lost very very disappointed on this stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel close to Dunns River Falls Ocho Rios

Posted May 31, 2017
Overall great experience! Entertainment crew will keep you laughing, moving, dancing and going back to this hotel. This hotel is on my list of favorites and a great place to be. Food choices galore, and alcohol, juices, drinks to suit everyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Staff is lazy

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Beach was amazing
Cons: More attention to detail and customer satisfaction needed work.
Location: Dunn River falls was very nice. I wasn't expecting to hike up the actual waterfall but it was an adventure and we enjoyed it.
When we arrived, we noticed our toilet was broken. I called multiple times to the front desk to have it repaired yet nobody ever showed up. We had to remove the tank lid and pull the chain everytime we needed to flush. My impression was that the staff was not overly friendly, unmotivated, and uninterested in their customers. The exterior of the resort looked as though it had not been painted in 20 years. Stay away from the beaches at night unless you want to buy weed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what we expected

Posted May 30, 2017
Let me start with the good... staff is amazing, and very friendly!! Food is mediocre and about the same you receive at any all inclusive resort. Very repetitive. The beach is stunningly beautiful! If you stay on the "standard" side of the resort we found that end of the beach to be very rocky inside the water, but on the deluxe end it was perfect! We upgraded to the deluxe side the second day of our stay, because the standard "ocean view" rooms were not oceanviews unless you were in the hallway before entering your rooms. The rooms did not have a good smell. It was extremely crowded on that end of the resort as well. The beds were hard as bricks, and the bedding was not comfortable either. Once we upgraded to the Junior oceanview suite, we actually got an oceanview. It was less crowded on that end of the resort. Rooms smelt better! The beds were not much more comfortable, but the bedding was better. Wish they restocked the fridges with water/sodas daily. They only restock every other day and also do not offer room service. We would go back to Jamaica, but not RIU. Also my brother's AC did not work in his room. They came to fix it 3 times, and it still wouldn't work. It's very hot and humid there so a little AC is a must! Our favorite part beyond the beach, was our party boat ride to Dunn's River Falls! Highly recommend that!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Nice hotel & staff

Posted May 28, 2017
Everything was excellent. My only complaint was the air conditioning was awful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Silver Spring, MD

Nice hotel right on the beach

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: The staff was excellent.
Cons: The musty/mildew smell in the rooms.
We had a good time at the hotel. Check in was great and the staff was nice. The room was a good size, the only complaint would be that there was a terrible smell, like an old musty/mildew smell (this seemed typical as our friends room had the same smell), glad we didn't spend a lot of time in the room. The food was good/average nothing special. The bartenders we very nice and the drinks were good. The grounds were kept very nice and clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Terrible Hotel - Don't GO - It Does NOT WORTH IT

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: The staff tried to be accommodating. Nothing else we liked.
Cons: Everything needs improving, especially management. If there is good management, things can be better.
Location: The location is great and is close to a lot of activities and shopping. However, the Hotel is not good anymore. What a SHAME.
The hotel needs total remodeling. The elevator does not work, blown light bulbs are not replaced, leaks throughout, they had to close the Sir Richard Restaurant due to leaks. At one time this was a top hotel not anymore. They have changed management and it appears they do not care about the customers, it's all about MONEY. The food and juices standards have dropped considerably. Many times we complained to Management about the facilities, the standard of the food and juices, and they did nothing. Management apologized and said how sorry they are, but that does not help when things are falling apart and is not being fixed. How can someone enjoy their vacation when you constantly have to request things to be fixed, food and juices to be better? This is more stressful and frustrating; this is not a vacation? The RIU at Ocho Rios have lost my business and I will never recommend this Resort to anyone. We went there to enjoy my wife's 60th birthday and it was very disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queens , NY

Excellent location. Safe and exciting

Posted May 25, 2017
The staff is magnificent! I love there interaction with the guests. Pleasant and full of energy. The people of Jamaica is first class all the way! Love it, love it, loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sulphur, LA

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Large size and number of amenities, including beach, watersports, restaurants and activities.
Location: Centrally located to a lot of activities and tours.
The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. The entire property was well maintained. Beautiful beach. I would stay at the Riu Ocho Rios again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted May 20, 2017
Another great vacation at the Riu in Ocho Rios. Love the beach and all the different restaurants. Staff is all so friendly and helpful. We'll be back !!!