Ratings based on 466 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great Relaxing Place to Stay in Jamaica

Posted Jun 16, 2017
Pros: Very clean rooms and beach was well-kept. Food was outstanding. Personable & entertaining staff. 24 Hour Drinks & Food. The exclusiveness of the hotel
Cons: More creative entertainment at night. Casinos with actual dealers on-site.
Location: Catamaran/snorkeling & Hip Strip: booked through Expedia rep, a must do Dunns River Falls: 4 hour bus roundtrip. DONT buy the DVD. otherwise good
My girlfriend and I stayed at the Riu Palace for 6 nights, and had an overall great stay Pros: -*FOOD* was spectacular. Truly exceeded expectations for an all-inclusive. Buffet during the day had many options and was delicious. Every single dinner restaurant was superb and we never had to wait despite not being able to make reservations. Even after we tried all of the restaurants, the buffet still had bottomless crab legs, sushi/sashimi, chocolate fountain and more -The hotel bartender "Double D" (Thorpe) made every night exciting and fun. He has a great personality and made for great entertainment -The room was very clean upon arrival, with comfortable bed and great overhead shower. Turndown service was great and the room constantly being cleaned -Activities during the day were a hit (especially thanks to "Cash" and "Barbie" the coordinators) -24 Hour Room service, and 24 hour food and drinks at the Aqua Bar -Always able to find a seat at Pool/Beach - not overcrowded -Liquor Bottle Tap in the room -Minimal mosquitoes Cons: -Lack of Nighttime entertainment (everything at the palace ends at 9:30 besides the Aqua bar). Also the shows at the Riu next door were very average, so the only thing to do at night was go to the Club (Pacha), which doesnt open till 11 -"Jetted Tub" only comfortably fits one person -Needed to take a taxi to the Casino 2 minutes from the resort to play anything besides Slot machines -Staff was occasionally pushy about tips
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beds in room not very comfortable

Posted Jun 13, 2017
Pros: the staff, the beach, the food and resort
Cons: the beds
Location: Located very close to the airport. Also many attractions nearby
The staff, resort, food/drinks and rooms were wonderful. The beds however were not very comfortable unless you like a hard mattress
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I'm going back

Posted Jun 5, 2017
OMG the staff is the best. I love there Ox Tail and the dinner on the beach was so beautiful and the wata AKA water is clear blue. I went on the zip line and went swimming with the dolphins and the was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New jersey

Beautiful location close to beach & airport.

Posted May 30, 2017
Very helpful staff. I felt I was at home. Very humble people& great hospitality. You ask for something & was taken care in minutes. I would definitely go back. I was sad to leave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Beautiful resort close to the beach

Posted May 28, 2017
We went to Riu Palace for 7 days for our honeymoon. It was everything and more than I could've ever dreamed of. Rooms were beautiful. They were cleaned top to bottom every day. Turn down service every night. Room service 24 hours a day. They have 4 restaurants and a buffet. We opted to do the steakhouse one night, and the buffet the rest. The buffet has different themes and was always incredible. The entertainment crew is what really made our stay amazing! Jojo and the rest of his crew had games going all day and evening. Lots to do! You also have access to the two resorts next door where you can do different nonmotorized water sports for free. HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orlando, FL

Great resort on the beach

Posted May 24, 2017
The staff was absolutely amazing, kind, always have a smile on their face and very sweet. The food was also very good for an all inclusive I was very surprised and would definitely go back again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from PA

good hotel right on beach

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: the cleanliness was the most obvious
Cons: could be updated
Location: not so good as described above
The staff at reception were helpful and professional, The room and cleanliness was very good. The wait staff went out of their way to offer a good service. It rained throughout our stay, which of course was negative to the holiday experience. Activity staff did attempt to compensate by providing activities. We did not go on any trips. We did go to the shops which were across the road from the hotel, the area was not clean and crossing the road was dangerous. I would use this hotel again. we did you the spa facilities which were very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Lives up to its great reputation

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Play more Raggae music all day and live bands. That's what people want to hear when they visit Jamaica
Location: Horseback riding, Dunn Falls excursion, snorkeling
The hotel and grounds are stunning. Every staff person we met was friendly, helpful and polite. They are always joking. When we checked in, we were greeted with champagne. The driniks flowed very freely. The hotel is right on the ocean with beautifully kept pools and grounds. My only two suggestions would be an outdoor Jacuzzi to help some sore muscles and a door on the bathroom. We tried all the restaurants and found them amazing. The buffet and jerk chicken were outstanding. If we are able to go back again, I would truly stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atl

Modern style appearance

Posted May 16, 2017
The staff wasn't as friendly as other resorts I have stayed at. The steakhouse restaurant food was delicious, but I think they should cover Palace Buffett flies were everywhere. There wasn't any entertainment at this resort would have to walk to other resorts. The room a/c wasn't working properly and we were lied to about resort credits.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Carmel, IN

One of the best resorts I have ever stayed

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: 1. Cleanness of the room 2. Friendliness of the staff 3. Great food and drinks 4. Fantastic beach
Cons: Entertainment
Location: Montego Bay is close to famous Rose Hall (10 min drive), Bob Marley's village ( 1 hour drive), Dunn's River Fall (1 hour drive)
I just returned from Riu Palace Jamaica where I spent seven nights with my wife. This is not my first time staying in All-inclusive resorts and Riu Palace is one of the best places I have ever stayed. The resort is only 5 minute drive from airport. As soon as we arrived (2:35 pm) our room was available. The room was absolutely clean and newly renovated. I did not feel any smell of mold or "the old room" smell. The staff was changing towels, pillow cases and bed sheets every day. The room had also very good minibar with all drinks that you desire. Although I am not a drinker of alcohol you could find in the minibar vodka and different types of rum. Their buffet "Montego Bay" had the best food I have ever had in any resorts that I stayed so far: very diverse and very delicious. They also had four types of restaurants within the property, which did not require any reservation. However, you should go there fast as restaurants have about 5-10 tables which get occupied very fast. I can not rate their restaurants as we did not go to any. The reason was te exceptional food offered in the buffet. The staff deserves a special praise. They so friendly and nice. Regardless of what you ask you will always hear their friendly "Yaman" (meaning OK or sure). Beach was in two minute walking distance, it was private with clean beautiful water. I was not very much impressed with entertainment. However, you could always go to the neighboring Riu Montego Bay or Riu Reggae resorts.