Ratings based on 345 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Best Caribbean vacation so far

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Location: Hotel provides a free shuttle to and from close shopping areas. Bargain for everything! Do not pay more than half of the price tag or initial price.
My wife and I loved this hotel! We stayed at the Riu Palace which is the adults only side. The Riu Montego Bay is the family side. Visitors to the Riu Palace can visit the Riu Montego Bay side and use all of their facilities but the Riu Montego Bay cannot use the Riu Palace side. The only time that we really left the adult side was to visit the jerk chicken hut on the family side or to visit the family side for the later nighttime activities like the beach party. The hotel staff was perfect from check-in to check-out. Front desk was helpful, maids were great, restaurant servers were fantastic (especially Horace), beach service was spectacular (especially Paul). We really could not have asked for anything more. The Riu Animation Team was fun and kept things energetic without being overbearing (our favorite was Chicken). I do not know how they were able to play the games and keep people interested all day long then dance and interact with the crowd all night. The rooms were very modern, decorated well, and laid out nicely. I read some complaints about bathroom privacy but feel they were unfounded except for using the bathtub. The room with the toilet had a door, the shower had a door, the tub was the only thing out in the middle of the room that did not provide any privacy. Also, do not be concerned about complaints about airplane noise. It is noticeable but does not interfere with anything. We are already making plans to return, you should stay here if you are trying decide.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Riu is improving its service.

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Pros: It is a hotel just for adults.
Cons: Entertainment and adult behavior.
Location: Well located. Supermarkets and Casinos nearby.
Excellent experience. We were upgraded to a room with Jacuzzi (this is our 5th time in Riu hotels). Wide variety of meals and beverages comparing with other Riu visited before. The cleanliness is a must.Very kind and friendly staff taking into account to deliver an excellent service. Gourmet dishes in the main restaurants (Japanese, Italian, etc). Despite of it is a hotel for adults we think that entertainment should be improved specially in the nights. By the other hand we observed some adults behaviors which should not be allowed. Although children are not allowed however there were older people in the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 10, 2016
It was even better than I had expected it to be!!! I would definitely stay there again! The staff was amazing! Especially Latoya, Nadine, Fabian, Ryan, "Dr.Phil", & Fedrico. The drinks are a little sweet but still an overall amazing experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was great

Posted Jun 4, 2016
I loved everything about my stay especially the great food
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from merritt island, fl

Staff was excellent and really made the experience

Posted May 13, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, staff, nice room size.
Cons: More privacy for bathroom... Perhaps a glass wall separating tub from bedroom area
Cleanliness was top notch, drinks and food were excellent. Never met nicer staff at a resort before. Many healthy food options, great exercise class on beach and poolside. Would like to see a sunrise or sunset yoga option added and would like to see night entertainment start a little earlier. I will definitely be back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great People!

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: the staff and the food
Location: shopping
a little dissaponted in comparision with the RIU in cancun but the staff and the food were so good that they made up for everything.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston,Ma

Beautiful Hotel

Posted May 5, 2016
The hotel was wonderful. The hotel is very modern and clean. The room was just perfect housekeeping did a great job about coming in everyday to clean up and also for turn down service. The food and atmosphere was amazing. I had a wonderful experience and would do it all over again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ft lauderdale

Relaxing fun hotel in Montego Bay

Posted May 4, 2016
Went there with my fiancé for our 2 yr anniversary. We had a great time. We stayed in a jr suite with ocean view. The room was very nice and clean. All staff in general were very friendly and fun. Adeline at the front desk greeted us in a very professional and friendly manner, Denroy at the vogue bar made us feel very welcomed. He does a great job. We had a great time at his bar. He is very engaging and fun. The entertainment team were great specially Cash he is Awesome. Food was good for an all inclusive resort, overall a great experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Always a great time at Riu

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, nice decor, nice pools.
Cons: The food at the buffet needed more variety.
Location: Montego Bay has the hip strip with Margaritaville. And then you could always book a trip to Negril and Ocho Rios to visit the different attractions.
The hotel has beautiful decor. The staff is very friendly. There were multiple restaurants that you can make reservations for which we didn't get to try but there was also the buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as 24 hour room service. The pools were great, one large and two small ones with swim up bars. The food could have been a little better, I felt there weren't enough options (especially Jamaican food - they had jerk chicken but that's it really). All in all it was a great vacation. P.S. The hotel is very close to the airport so you had airplanes going by but not as many as you would think.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pennsylvania

Aircraft fly over every 20 minutes or so

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Pros: Clean, well kept and great staff simply subpar placement.
Staff are friendly. Resort is well kept. Hotel is in the airport take off flight path with planes overhead every 20 minutes or so. New resort construction next door jack hammers and saws till 11:00 pm most nights. Man made beach, not the crystal clear Caribbean waters you can experience at many other Montego Bay resorts.