Ratings based on 1,614 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Decent Hotel close to Airport

Posted Jun 17, 2017
Pros: Hotel Decor is dated but clean and well maintained.
Cons: Daily activities
Location: The hip-strip is in walking distance and beach is on hotel grounds is very good.
Pros: Close to Airport, Good food variety, Great nightly entertainment, secure resort and clean rooms. Cons: If you're a female staying here without a man with you some of the male staff will harass you like fresh meat which is very noticeable to other guest and huge tun-off if you just looking for rest, relaxation and peace of mind.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Good Hotel, Great Location

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Location, food options, activities, staff helpfulness
Cons: A walking tour of the property would've been really helpful - we used a pool belonging to the other hotel b/c we didn't know they were different!
Location: Sunwave Mini Boat Tours/Snorkeling was excellent! Also recommend zip lining and climbing Dunn's River Falls.
My boyfriend and I just returned from a 10-night stay at the Royal Decameron Montego Bay, and we had an excellent time! While there are certainly fancier, more luxurious resorts, we found the Royal Decameron to be a good, clean resort with an absolutely fantastic location. The food was good and plentiful, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the air-conditioned room was clean and comfortable. Overall, it was an amazing experience for the cost. In addition to the excellent location, the resort offers daily activities and most water sports are included in your rate. The fitness center is small but meets most vacationers' needs, and there is also a nurse on site from 8am-4pm. Furthermore, there are two travel rooms where representatives from various tour companies cycle around to help you book safe and affordable excursions. Most tour companies will provide included transportation to and from the Decameron. When our catamaran tour scheduled for our last night was unfortunately canceled due to weather, our money was quickly and easily refunded to my credit card before we left. Wifi is expensive at the Decameron, but there is a wifi cafe across the street. Once you get the password to the cafe, your device will pick up that service from the resort's lobby/bar. The water bottle provided to you is easily refilled at the bar or fitness center, and you get one towel provided to you for your stay. Excellent experience, and a great bang for your buck!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great value for an All-Inclusive

Posted Jun 4, 2017
The Royal Decameron is not for those who want a luxury, pampered-all-the-time, all-inclusive experience. However, it is an incredibly great value for those who just want a great getaway at reasonable price. We've been there nine times now and will continue to return. The pros are that it is clean; the food is great; the ala carte restaurant (Souk) is actually magnificent; it's close to the airport (5 minutes); the room views are terrific; and most of the staff are cheerful, fun, and very helpful. The cons are that, for some people, the hotel is too old (for those, your option is to pay around $75 a night more for a room at the sister resort next door); and that some of the staff seem indifferent and ambivalent (I'd say that the only thing that the Royal Decameron could improve is to give greater incentives or better training to its employees to ensure that every one of them--not just most--give consistently cheerful and obliging service to its resort's customers). All in all, however, I'd highly recommend this resort for laid-back folks who want an outstanding all-inclusive value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Nice Hotel for the cost

Posted Jun 4, 2017
We honestly had a wonderful experience. So many water sport activities for us to do, awesome snorkeling right on the hotel beach, the pool bar staff (Alicia, Sean, and Travis) were AWESOME! The hotel has a few minor updates needed (you can see it's age) but they keep everything very clean. Our only bad view of the hotel was the front desk staff was always very rude except when we checked in. The rest of the staff was very friendly and we loved all the activities they provided. I would suggest going for a fun time in Jamaica on the most beautiful beach with the clearest water you'll ever see!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

Great for snorkeling.

Posted Jun 3, 2017
My girlfriend and I decided to do a girls trip, just us. We were lucky to get a beach side room, amazing view of the beach and sunsets. The water, beach was amazing. The food was good, we both enjoyed the Jamaican cuisine more than the other items. The beach is great for snorkeling, a lot of coral. The resort shares the beach with their other resort, which is doesn't have has much coral. The room had a great view, but could use some renovations. It was spacious nicely painted but the bathroom was a bit dated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Rooms outdated but very clean!

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Enjoyed my stay. Went for my honeymoon and the front desk clerk Jodi Ann was very pleasant and not to mention the bartenders Marshall and Dario. Overall stay was great!! Rooms need to be updated however they were clean. Drinks were good. Food was okay, the a la carte restaurant had great oxtails. Buffet had more American foods than Jamaican food which was very disappointing to be in Jamaica.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brunswick, Ga.

Nice hotel, staff wonderful, very clean

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Wonderful stay, clean, staff great and food was good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

Good and bad

Posted Jun 2, 2017
We booked about 7 months ago. When we arrived on May 20th we were told they overbooked and they were bumping us for 2 nights to Royal Decameron Club Caribbean, RDCC, in Runaway Bay, about an hour away, then they would drive us back to Montego Bay and we would stay next door at the new Royal Decameron Cornwall Beach, RDCB, for the remaining 5 nights. Basically we didn't have a choice. RDCC was a nice place, overall no complaints. But they wasted almost our first full day shipping us between resorts, 2 check ins etc. Another full day wasted shipping us back at 1:00, not being able to check in until almost 4pm. We booked Royal Decameron Montego Beach, RDMB, because that is where we wanted to stay. Cornwall guests have access to RDMB but not the other way around. One day at the pool on the RDMB side I was verbally assaulted by a guest of the RDMB. She yelled and screamed and told me to go back to my hotel and that we were not welcome on her side. I explained that we do have access and prefer this side. It escalated from there and I had to leave the area before things got out of hand. It needs to either be 2 completely separate resorts or one big one. It creates animosity between the 2 sides and pretty much ruined my last day of vacation. I loved the old RDMB before Cornwall opened. Bottom line, we had 4 out of 7 pretty decent days. Kudos to the best bartenders, Mark, Kiwan, Orville & Horace, you guys rocked!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jamaican Saudi

Small and cozy. The beach is an arm's length away.

Posted May 31, 2017
Good experience. The entertainment was great, but the Steel Band was sensational!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice hotel but still needs a bit to improve

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Nice Hotel area (Bar, Restaurant, Beach, Pool), Drinks were really good, Band played Caribbean music and Enjoyed beautiful views from the beach.
Cons: Improve cleanliness, modernize the standard rooms, and ensure timeliness of facility access.
Location: Nice location about 15 mins away from downtown area. You can do almost anything from drinking, hanging out at the clubs, and playing water sports
After reading reviews before I booked the trip now I know why its in the middle tier scale. Our first time travelling to Jamaica and we did 2 wks of research for a nice hotel. There came Royal Decameron (Montego Beach version). Front desk staff overall were pretty nice. When we've checked into our room it was a dated room. We saw ceiling wall stains in the corner, the bed was OK, the bathroom looked pretty old, and the gym was dated too. Room service was not to our expectations unfortunately. Buffet Food was pretty good and the entertainment was something we couldn't complain about. The hotel staff like the bar & restaurant groups were collectively OK but they were sort of disconnected to guests in my opinion. Felt they chose certain guests to be nice towards and felt a few cold shoulders here and there. There's 2 VERSIONS of Royal Decameron. We got the OLD Montego hotel where they told us not to walk down 2min to the new Royal Decameron CORNWALL thats right there and much NICER than ours. Adding INSULT guests @ Decameron CORNWALL can go on our side and use our facilities but we CAN NOT GO TO THERE'S. BAR Staff there treat you like were lower class saying we couldn't order drinks there near the pool. We PAID alot for 4 day! Be careful cause they trick you to choose the OLD Royal Decameron Montego and NOT new Decameron Cornwall