Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

There is no beach at the Carlyle.

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, cleanliness.
Cons: Be more honest about the lack of a beach.
Location: We went to Reggae Sumfest, but didn't take any tours. We did, however, hire two random guys to drive us around non-touristy parts. That was cool.
But the other two Sandals have beaches that were just a quick shuttle ride away. The staff was so friendly at the Carlyle, I think because it was smaller and more intimate. The food was ok, but seemed a bit better at the other two. If you want fancy pants, go to Royal Caribbean. If you want mid-grade, go to Montego Bay. If you want budget, go to Carlyle. The nice thing is that everything at the bigger two is available for those staying at the Carlyle.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Horrible

Posted Jun 4, 2015 on Hotels
Horrible. Very very very noisy street in front of hotel which stays busy and gets really loud at night. After first night moved to another to noise level about the same but then the AC started leaking after having it fixed it started leaking again at 2am, when a complaint was made was told maintenance was not available until in the morning. After a few more stern calls was finally moved to another room in middle of the night. 3 rooms in 24hrs! No buffet or activities at this resort. Old and outdated.The only plus is the staff try very hard and for the most part try to be friendly. Will never be going back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LONG ISLAND, NY

LOVE THE CARLYLE

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: CLEAN. QUIET. CHEAPER THAN ALL OTHER SANDALS. USE OF ALL 3 MOBAY SANDALS IS UNLIMITED
Cons: FOOD PORTIONS WERE A BIT SMALL. SOMETIMES BETTER TO ORDER AN EXTRA ENTREE TO BE COMPLETELY FULL
Location: EVERYTHING IS NEARBY. NO REASON TO LEAVE MOBAY EVER
BEST KEPT SANDALS SECRET. STAY HERE FOR LESS. NICE AND QUIET TOO...AND USE THE FREE SHUTTLES FOR THE OTHER TWO MONTEGO BAY RESORTS ALL YOU LIKE. WIN-WIN ALL AROUND!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Jamazing

Posted May 6, 2015
The staff was very friendly and hospitable. They were all very well educated, hardworking and talented. One of their drivers took my wife and I on a private trip to Negril, to Ricks cafe, and shopping which I would highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Sandals carlyle

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: This hotel had excellent staff, service, and food.
We stayed at the Carlyle for 4 nights. The staff was excellent - very friendly and personable. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The service at the hotel was excellent - any question or problem was attended to right away, and they made a point to make sure you were always well taken care of. The only downfall of this resort was that there wasn't a big beach and water sport activities like the other Sandals resorts offered. It was not a problem to take the shuttle to another resort to enjoy a bigger beach and water sport activities, and when we returned back to Carlyle , it felt like coming back home because the staff knew us and made a point to ask how we were doing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Shocked at condition of room and hotel. Noisy.

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Sandals either needs to let this place go, or put some serious money into upgrading and decorating the rooms and overall hotel.
Location: Nothing to do nearby except walk through the neighborhood or try to squeeze into the very small and always crowded beach across the street.
Spent as little time there as possible. Took the shuttle daily to the other Sandals property at Montego Bay. Staff at the Carlyle tried their best, but the overall condition of the place, and the fact it doesn't have a dedicated beach, made it simply something to endure. The hotel is also located in the middle of a neighborhood. Car alarms going off at all hours of the night, plenty of ganja to smell, and a lack of maintenance and upkeep of the property. Also, the old, worn-out furniture in the rooms made me realize I had paid way too much for this place and that made me angry. I felt deceived and fooled by the Sandals name and brand. The only great thing was the staff, which the place did not deserve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Valentine weekend get away

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Everything and everyone, that is reason we go back.
Cons: Place sheer blinds in the rooms. It is nice to see the sunlight streaming in the room in the morning. With the current blinds, room is dark
Location: Very near to the airport, and basically on the strip. Margaretville, with in walking distance
Myself and wife had a wonderful experience. Staff are all friendly, from Patrick and Jeremy with check in, Amanda at the soon come back desk. Mae, prepare a wicked jerk chicken. Finally, Doreen hope you feel well, but with all the pain, you were a gracious host. Thank you all, see you soon
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

You get what you pay for

Posted Jan 2, 2015
We chose the Carlyle because it was a smart choice financially and we knew we would be spending most of our time at the Sandals Montego Bay. The staff was very nice (shout out to Serina and Patrick), but the rooms were just very out dated. Our room had dirty bath water in it on our arrival, however the staff did take care of the plumbing issue in a timely manner. Breakfast always took forever (at least an hour) as we wanted to get in and out quickly to start seeing the rest of Jamaica. All inclusive does include bugs in your cereal (maybe from the raisins I put in it?) and at least our server did apologize. I'm not sure how the switch to the Grand Pineapple will affect everything. I suppose if you won't be in your room or on the resort grounds much, this could be a good solution for you. Good, friendly front desk staff was the highlight!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Posted Dec 31, 2014
I enjoyed my experience at sandals Carlyle. My now husband and I were married on December 27, 2014 on the garden of sandals Carlyle. The staff were great and everything was perfect. I couldn't have asked for a more perfect setting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Swanneyswan

Wedding Guest Weekend

Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Orbitz
The Sandals Carlyle was a great value for the money because you are able to go to the Sandals Montego Bay and Royal Caribbean for a fraction of the price. To be honest, it was noisy because it is across the street from a public beach that is always busy, but inside the walls the hotel was like an oasis. The staff are phenomenal and I really enjoyed the garden. We spent most of our time at the other resorts, but they had activities throughout the day at the Carlyle. Taking the shuttle is a little tricky because it only runs every hour. Overall, we had a fantastic time and would visit again!