Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut.

Good value for the money

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Excellent staff!! The entertainment staff was the absolute best. Great reggae music throughout the day. Loved all the activities. Room could use some updating and food was average. My room had no windows so it made me feel like I was in the basement. I would return but would not stay in the lower level again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is the hood in Jamaica

Posted Feb 19, 2017
It's not what you expect and the beach is not your average beach the staff is wonderful do t get me wrong but I just couldn't stay there for a vacation vibe
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON

Good location for older adults but no elevator.

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: The hotel staff are very friendly and accommodating. The bartenders are friendly, accommodating and entertaining.
Cons: Welcome process needs to improve. No one should ever be left in the reception room unwelcomed.
Location: Some guests did not enjoy walking to local shops due to the constant harassment by locals. There was regular bus access to the other 2 resorts
After the initial shock wore off after seeing that our beach was located across the street in a local swimming area, the excellent staff and beautiful room with a view of the ocean quickly warmed us over. However, upon arrival, we were left waiting in the reception room for several minutes until someone finally came in to greet us. But with technical issues checking in, it took quite some time to eventually be led to our room located on the 3rd floor with no elevator service. Good exercise ! Surprisingly, for an all-inclusive, there were no alcoholic drinks in the room but there is 24/7 room service. Regularly scheduled buses took us to the other two Sandals resorts where they did have private beach fronts. The food was excellent at all locations but the self-service buffet breakfast unfortunately at this location was more often colder than hot. A sign that the food was out for quite some time. Husband paid $250 USD for deep sea fishing trip and very disappointed to have caught nothing. The other two locations are bigger and busier so this is a perfect location for rest and relaxation around the pool. However, you do have to tolerate the noisy locals, swimmers and traffic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston, tx

Extraordinary staff and excellent food

Posted Dec 30, 2016
The staff is super nice and helpful. They always great you with a smile. We stayed at the Inn and had access to the other 2 Sandals locations in montego bay. The food was excellent. It was clearly not mediocre. We were able to get reservations at some of the restaurants that required so and the food was outstanding. I was not impressed with the drinks although they were not bad, just not top notch. I had a wine and a few cocktails. But overall it was a great experience staying with Sandals in montego bay. I will come back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sandals = SUPERB

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely amazing hotel with amazing staff. An extra special thank you to Meldon, Jorvan, Akeem, Julia, Nicoy, Cameal, Doreen and Alison and Omar. Love you all!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Small and cozy

Posted Mar 7, 2016
We had a wonderful time from the pickup at the airport to the departure. We were greeted upon our arrival and offered refreshments. Room was very nice and daily tidies excellent. The food was very good. They took very good care of us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Yeah Mon!!!

Posted Mar 3, 2016 on Hotels
Superb service with all staff members I encountered willing to go the extra mile to accommodate you. The rooms were spacious but a tad dated and the bathroom was nothing to write home about. We weren't there to stay in the room though. We did get a good nights rest though. Drinks steady flowing and a solid spirits selection (Bombay Sapphire) was one of our liquors of choice. Picture of the Beach in front of the property is exactly what you'll get. It's a sliver no question. During many times of the day, expect the local entrepreneurs to try to pitch their goods from herbals to crafts to hand made bracelets. Good thing is you can take the shuttle, which departs once an hour, to Sandals MoBay or Royal Carribean for the beach experience. Bay House had the best food on the property. In terms of location, property not too far from Margaritaville which was alive and happening until 4 in the AM, Pier 1 was a nice place to dance and get drinks for tourists and locals too. Great restaurant, Marguerites close to Margaritaville, amazing lobster dishes, especially black truffle lobster risotto, ocean view, romantic & dim lit, and sommelier recommended a stellar wine. The other properties had more activities, amenities, and the rooms did appear to be nicer but the price per night was considerably higher. All things considered, Carlyle held its own. Respect mon!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from north jeresy

Posted Feb 28, 2016
Pros: Location to airport and you can use the other two sandals
Cons: Every time we ate there they left out something from our order. And Every one one the staff should not have to ask you how the vacation is going
Location: Close to airport and beach but beach is getting too crowded and dirty
Every time we go they do not acknowledge that we are returnees, we have to bring it to their attention. That should not be.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Great that the hotel so close to the beach.

Posted Feb 16, 2016
Great service and location to beach and locals. Our stay was both relaxing and full of activuties at all three Sandals ( Carlye, Montego Bay, and the Royal) with free hourly transportation. What a great deal! We loved the fact that the beach at Carlye is not private. So the locals had access. A fantastic trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

There is no beach at the Carlyle.

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, cleanliness.
Cons: Be more honest about the lack of a beach.
Location: We went to Reggae Sumfest, but didn't take any tours. We did, however, hire two random guys to drive us around non-touristy parts. That was cool.
But the other two Sandals have beaches that were just a quick shuttle ride away. The staff was so friendly at the Carlyle, I think because it was smaller and more intimate. The food was ok, but seemed a bit better at the other two. If you want fancy pants, go to Royal Caribbean. If you want mid-grade, go to Montego Bay. If you want budget, go to Carlyle. The nice thing is that everything at the bigger two is available for those staying at the Carlyle.