Ratings based on 158 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ky

Great resort. Lots of activities. Awesome staff.

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Sandals is the premier Caribbean resort. Loved the pool and swim up bar. Food was good. Evening shows were done well. The nightlife was awesome. One of the largest beaches.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Venice, FL

location

Posted Mar 6, 2016
Pros: The amenities were great
Cons: location
Location: 10 minutes from the airport great for cvonvenience--not so great for hearing planes take off.
We learned to ask for floor prerfence in advance. We are 74 and 75 and were at the END of the complex on the third floor with NO elevator. At least the workout made up for dessert. The overall experience was WONDERFUL
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2016
Hotel was nice - weather did not cooperate and not much to do outside the boat trips at hotel. Live music during the day would have been nice. Staff was nice except concierge was a little cold to anything out of the ordinary. Bartenders were great to the pretty girls but rest of staff was great and friendly. Food was good but make your restaurant reservations before you get there. The evening shows were fine but they keep wanting to drag you out to the stage.
3 out of 5
by Diemode

Disappointing experience

Posted Jan 6, 2016 on Orbitz
There are several things which we are disappointed about. The hotel is located literally RIGHT NEXT to the airport and has airplanes flying over it 24 hours a day. Our room was located extremely far from everything and even though it had an ocean view, the room itself differed a lot from the pictures I had based my booking on. The curtains did not work properly and it was difficult to pull them up or down, since you also had a knot to tie. However these are not the main points of our disappointment. We booked a tour to the Bob Marley 9-mile and Dunn's riverfalls. We were told to wait at 8:30am in front of the lobby to be picked up. A delay would have been understandable, but not the fact that nobody showed up!! A joke. And after going to the Sandals guest services office 5 times, clearly annoyed, I was not even offered an apology or a way to make up for this. All we were told is that I could go and book another tour. Completely empathy-less and unprofessional. We were told they had no control of what went on, since the company providing the tour had nothing to do with the hotel. This does not happen at a world-class 5 star hotel, at the very least I would have expected an apology and some sort of complimentary resort service. Also, at the time of booking, we specifically asked not to charge my credit card on file, since we wanted to pay for it in cash. Even though they assured me it wouldnt be, it showed up on my checkout invoice. Later at the front desk I told them that we had not even been on that trip and they told me it had not been charged to the card. Much to my unpleasant surprise, the $220 tour charge showed up on my credit card statement yesterday, IT WAS CHARGED. A few other observations: NOBODY at the hotel gave us a decent recommendation on what to do or where to go. It was like they either didn't know what to recommend or didn't care. And not just talking about tours within the property, but also in Montego Bay. We couldn't believe no one could tell us one place to go see, visit a town, a local square, restaurant, anything. On New Year's Eve, the dinner was over and done with at 9:30pm. At 6pm we called and asked how late was the dinner going until, since we realized everything within SANDALS was done at ridiculously early times...the lady said she did not know and could not give us an answer. When we should up at 9:45pm on NEW YEARS EVE, the buffet was over and the hotel employees were already eating. This was simply unheard of, not just because of the time at which it ended, but because the staff could not give us a straight answer ahead of time so we could organize ourselves. We had to skip dinner and go straight to the party and wait for the buffet to reopen 2.5 hours later. The staff in charge of guests is not up to 5 star standards, everything is tremendoulsy slow and not to the point. No direct, informative answers are ever given.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FLL

All talk and no action

Posted Jan 4, 2016
The grounds of the hotel, location, and the rooms of the hotel is first class..... you do feel like a million bucks when you check in for an ordinary Joe like me. However, their "Butler Service" was less than desired. The butler greeted us an talked a big game and little to nothing for us..... we waited a whole two days to complain because we arrived in Chriatmas day and we know they are probably short staffed.... so we let it go....hoping that the next day would be better... well, it got worse... to top it off.... the butler told us the dinner reservation that we have is NOT guaranteed?????? I ask her .. why do we bother making a reservation then? .... she had no answer for me. Long story short, my wife and I felt cheated to have paid for "extra butler service" and got nothing but terrible experience. So, we make a complain to the nite general manager Kamar, he was pleasant to deal with and he turn it around for us and made sure that the remainder of our stay was pleasant. Overall I had an ok experience...... I would rather go to Mexico's all inclusive. Steve W
5 out of 5
by Yoshiaki from Atlanta GA

Fantastic stay

Posted Dec 17, 2015 on Hotels
This is first time stay at Sandals Montego Bay. All inclusive satisfied me. Dinner, Attraction and outdoor activities was great. Please improve WiFi connection from room if possible. I already booked this hotel next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dallas Texas

Wonderful experience will come back.

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: Staff and hospitality extended to everyone.
Cons: Housekeeping could be improved. Room not made up until after 3. Maybe more resources needed.
Location: Close to airport and other properties. Beautiful clean beach and security on site always. Love Love this hotel and especially our man Al.
One of the best vacations ever. We will be back. Staff had the best hospitality training I have seen. Food wonderful and the ocean was beautiful. Nothing was overlooked. Everybody happy and professional. I travel extensively and this rates as the top so far.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Posted Aug 31, 2015
The hotel was beautiful. The food was delicious; there was a little wait for preparation, but we think it was because the food was fresh. The resort itself was beautiful, the beaches, and the gardens. The staff was beyond exceptional. Our only downside was the construction taking place. The Palms was being renovated. It was slightly noisy, but not overbearing. We just felt bad relaxing on the beachfront and looking up at the construction crew working hard in the blazing sun. Also, we were not notified of the construction taking place. One should also be aware it is right next door to the airport. You do hear and see the jets take off. We felt the hospitality of the staff being so exceptional and the beautiful beachfront, we would go back regardless.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Wonderful hotel and great service

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: The abundance of food, great service and hospitality of the people.
Cons: some of the doors you can see thru the spacing on the sides need strips to keep doors tightly closed.
Location: The location was fantastic no issues or problems.
My husband and I spent our anniversary and was very please with the service from airport to hotel and back. We really enjoyed the entertainment and tours provided for our leisure time. We especially loved the beach and the access to relax and enjoy each others company and meet new friends as well. Over-all it was fantastic. We loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Sandals Montego Bay. MUST GO!

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: Lots of things to do during the day and at night! The staff was very friendly and accommodating to whatever we needed!
Location: We went to Dolphin Cove in Negril. It was such an amazing experience, definitely worth it! It only took about 30 minutes by shuttle bus.
This was such an amazing trip and experience. I went with my boyfriend and there were so many things for us to do. We met lots of people from all over the world! Neither of us wanted the trip to end; we did not even get to do everything we had wished. You have the option to go to two other Sandals close by to eat, drink and hang out there for the day with shuttle buses constantly running. Definitely a must go for couples looking to get away and have a good time!