Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FLL

All talk and no action

Posted Jan 4, 2016
The grounds of the hotel, location, and the rooms of the hotel is first class..... you do feel like a million bucks when you check in for an ordinary Joe like me. However, their "Butler Service" was less than desired. The butler greeted us an talked a big game and little to nothing for us..... we waited a whole two days to complain because we arrived in Chriatmas day and we know they are probably short staffed.... so we let it go....hoping that the next day would be better... well, it got worse... to top it off.... the butler told us the dinner reservation that we have is NOT guaranteed?????? I ask her .. why do we bother making a reservation then? .... she had no answer for me. Long story short, my wife and I felt cheated to have paid for "extra butler service" and got nothing but terrible experience. So, we make a complain to the nite general manager Kamar, he was pleasant to deal with and he turn it around for us and made sure that the remainder of our stay was pleasant. Overall I had an ok experience...... I would rather go to Mexico's all inclusive. Steve W
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dallas Texas

Wonderful experience will come back.

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: Staff and hospitality extended to everyone.
Cons: Housekeeping could be improved. Room not made up until after 3. Maybe more resources needed.
Location: Close to airport and other properties. Beautiful clean beach and security on site always. Love Love this hotel and especially our man Al.
One of the best vacations ever. We will be back. Staff had the best hospitality training I have seen. Food wonderful and the ocean was beautiful. Nothing was overlooked. Everybody happy and professional. I travel extensively and this rates as the top so far.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Posted Aug 31, 2015
The hotel was beautiful. The food was delicious; there was a little wait for preparation, but we think it was because the food was fresh. The resort itself was beautiful, the beaches, and the gardens. The staff was beyond exceptional. Our only downside was the construction taking place. The Palms was being renovated. It was slightly noisy, but not overbearing. We just felt bad relaxing on the beachfront and looking up at the construction crew working hard in the blazing sun. Also, we were not notified of the construction taking place. One should also be aware it is right next door to the airport. You do hear and see the jets take off. We felt the hospitality of the staff being so exceptional and the beautiful beachfront, we would go back regardless.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Wonderful hotel and great service

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: The abundance of food, great service and hospitality of the people.
Cons: some of the doors you can see thru the spacing on the sides need strips to keep doors tightly closed.
Location: The location was fantastic no issues or problems.
My husband and I spent our anniversary and was very please with the service from airport to hotel and back. We really enjoyed the entertainment and tours provided for our leisure time. We especially loved the beach and the access to relax and enjoy each others company and meet new friends as well. Over-all it was fantastic. We loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Sandals Montego Bay. MUST GO!

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: Lots of things to do during the day and at night! The staff was very friendly and accommodating to whatever we needed!
Location: We went to Dolphin Cove in Negril. It was such an amazing experience, definitely worth it! It only took about 30 minutes by shuttle bus.
This was such an amazing trip and experience. I went with my boyfriend and there were so many things for us to do. We met lots of people from all over the world! Neither of us wanted the trip to end; we did not even get to do everything we had wished. You have the option to go to two other Sandals close by to eat, drink and hang out there for the day with shuttle buses constantly running. Definitely a must go for couples looking to get away and have a good time!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Decatur, IL

Be exact in everything you want during booking.

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Beach.
My wife and I are both 33 and this was our 1st trip away from the kids in several years. I hate taking the time for reviews so take what I write seriously please. We bought a "walkout level club room" and what we got was not consistent with the picture we were sold. Only a handful of rooms were updated and ours was not one of them (room #1871). We did not have hot water for 2 days, we did not have any running water for 1 day (including the toilet). The food was acceptable. Your typical lunch & breakfast were fine. The "fine dining" was lacking. We made reservations and got all dressed up for the Italian restaurant which turned out to be at best the equivalent of an every day Olive Garden. No matter which place you chose to eat it was clear that "fine dining" had to be S L O W....good grief it took forever to order & eat. The only good part about the trip was the beach activities. This was truly top notch. The beach was CLEAN and there was ample space to where we were not bunched together. The ocean porch lounge beds were a nice touch. The staff was exceptionally nice from the maintenance man up to the club manager. It was also incompetent. The woman who promised us a new room the next day failed to notify reservations of the change and they double booked the room we were supposed to move to. Of course she just happened to not be there the remainder of our trip also. Just don't go. Pick somewhere else and save yourself some money and effort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, but CLOSE to airport

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: Great staff, beautiful beach, yummy food with lots of dining options
Cons: Proximity to the airport (the runway is literally out your back door) obviously can't be improved, but something to consider if you are booking.
Location: Take advantage of the shuttles to the Royal Caribbean Sandals and check out their private beach
We upgraded to a Sandals from other all inclusive that we have tried in the past and were overall impressed. The food is MUCH better than other AI's. The beach is beautiful, water warm. Pools and rooms are small and a bit outdated, but kept up very well. Beds not super comfortable, but better than other AI's we've been to (RIU, Grand Bahia). Biggest knock on this resort is its proximity to the airport. The planes really are only taking off between 9a-10p or so, so doesn't disrupt your sleep, but does take away a bit from the feeling of being on an island vacation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Not enough staff for land and water sports.

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Rooms are kept clean. Food is good. Staff are friendly and helpful.
Cons: Fix the tennis courts. Keep water sports open ALL day - no more closing everyday for 2 hour lunch breaks. To fix this they need to have more staff.
Location: Shuttle to other resorts is useful. This enables guests to explore other resorts and MoBay. A shuttle to downtown MoBay would be nice.
Just returned from 10 days at Sandals Montego Bay. We enjoyed the beach, activities, shows, food and great staff. Rooms are clean - seem to be recently upgraded (Sea Grapes block). Shower is awkward - Arc shower curtains but with standard straight instead of curved Arc shower rods. Nice fitness centre with windows, various equipment (free weights, mirrors, mats, towels, antiseptic wipes and cold drinking water). However, treadmill touch screens work poorly. Out of 4 tennis courts, only 1 is OK (not great). Cracked playing surfaces, nets are too tight with no way to slacken the tension. They need to keep some cleaning tools at the tennis courts (brooms and squeegee). Water sports are run by knowledgable staff with whom safety comes first. This is excellent! However, they are very under staffed. Every day at noon they close for 2 hour lunch break. REALLY? At noon everyone has to return to beach. By the time they re-open at 2 pm it is often too windy to sail anymore for the rest of the day! The best time for sailing is lost. This limits sailing to maybe 3 hours in morning. If the water sports group had more staff they can stagger their lunch breaks to ensure they are ALWAYS well staffed. Their sports manager needs to fix these short comings (or hire a better sports manager?). This is a game breaker! For these reasons we will likely not return unless they fix these issues. If we recommend this resort to our friends it will be with caveats.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Great hotel near beach

Posted Feb 9, 2015
This hotel was amazing. The staff was extremely nice and went out of there way to make sure all our needs were met. Hope to return to this resort soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Leanne from Louisville, CO

Wonderful winter trip

Posted Jan 27, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful place for an anniversary celebration trip! Beach is very nice and there's always plenty to do. Nice to be able to visit the other 2 Sandals in Montego Bay (shuttle leaves every hour) but we were very happy we chose this one. Make your dinner reservations as soon as you arrive as the times fill up fast.