Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very friendly

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: good food good alcohol good staff gerk shack was very good
Cons: Did not like having to take hopper to get to beach
Location: close to many excursions
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fairfield, United States of America

butler service was excellent lot of fun

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Location: we had good time at the hotel
everything was very good and food was excellent all the drinks from the room and all of the bars was excellent and the late night clubs was very good drinks at the outside pool was excellent will be coming back to that hotel again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Don't go during hurricane season.

Posted Nov 10, 2016 on CheapTickets
Pros: The food was great.
Cons: The staff lied to us about refunding the cost for the days we did not stay. Had we been told the truth we may have stayed. I never trusted the staff.
Location: Dunn's River Falls excursion was wonderful.
My wife and I booked a honeymoon suite at Sandals Ochi for 10 days. Our room had some issues that I was ok with but that bothered my wife, areas of damage to the walls, chipped paint and plaster. The worse was that there was mold under the sink. We complained about this and they tried to move us next to a loud air conditioner and a large pool that had noise coming from it all the time. We decided to keep the first room we were given, I ended up cleaning the mold myself as it was affecting my wife's breathing. Otherwise, we had a great trip. We went to Dunn's River Falls which I highly recommend. The food was great, better than another all inclusive resort I went to. Pools were nice and drinks were always available. Drinks were weak, but good, and were free of course so it wasn't much of an issue. The nightly entertainment was disappointing. We ended up walking the beach or staying in our room in the evenings. Overall I enjoyed the trip until we found out Hurricane Matthew was coming for the island. We went to a meeting put on by the staff where they told us they were asking anyone who could get out to leave early and we were promised that we would be refunded for the unused portion of our trip (3 days). A month after our arrival home I received an email saying we will not be refunded, offering only a non-transferable credit for 3 days stay good for only 1 year. This would require us to fly back to Jamaica and is useless to us. I paid for those 3 days and my money was stolen.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

52 people can't be wrong

Posted Nov 1, 2016
We were with a large group and of 52 guests none said they would return to this resort. The food was very poor quality and the maintenance of the property is lacking. The employees are surly and slow moving. First resort we have traveled to where the bartenders were not engaging. Brochure pictures did not match the reality of the condition of this resort. Second rat at best
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

5 star facilities & food but only 3-4 star service

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels
Plenty facilities and entertainment and all restaurant food was excellent. Pools and grounds very well maintained. Staff were very friendly but lacking in some basic training. Two examples of this, both of which could be easily resolved are: 1. Room service breakfast trays were often left sitting outside room doors all day. In a 5 star hotel the first member of staff to see these should be at least removing them from view. We also regularly saw empty glasses, cutlery and trash that had fallen from cleaning carts left lying on the floor for several hours. 2. Sometimes waited a good few minutes for restaurant host at Vista Sky. To make matters worse waiting staff would come to the podium while you were waiting and apart from a smile would completely ignore you. They never apologised for the delay, never tried to get you a table and never appeared to try to find the host. As several Sandals 'regulars' have said, standards at this particular Sandals appear to be slipping.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great stay

Posted Aug 24, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed my stay. everything was lovely including the staff. i especially appreciated Neil from the kitchen staff who was warm and friendly to us. However, Georgia, the woman who books the restaurant reservations, was not customer friendly at all. i felt uncomfortable with her and that my needs were never met. I tried again the next day thinking she might be having a not so good day, and got the same response. i just wish she will be more friendly and approachable. all in all, i will definitely stay here again. there's a night club which was great, shows were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great close to beach restaurant s and shuttle.

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Good experience. We loved the idea of shuttle to other areas of the hotel. Good staff, very friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolinia

First and the last time paying for Sandals Resort!

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Everything except the staff!
Location: Zip lining, Duns river, boating, and snorkeling.
First, I want to say the staff at the hotel was excellent. My husband and I were shown to our rooms without a tour of the resort. We realized after the fact when we notice other guests were taken on tours. The first thing we notice as we were escorted to our room was the worn out carpet in the hallway. I was not very impressed with the room, it was the quality of a 3-star hotel stateside, so don't be fool by the Photoshop pictures on the website. The room was clean nonetheless. The food was horrible! For the amount of money spent, I thought it would be of better quality. The food tasted more like cafeteria food, very cheap and mass production. Breakfast was horrible as well! You will have to make reservations to some of the restaurants, so don't expect to eat at all the facilities if you don't reserve a spot early; This is even after paying all of your money to enjoy the all inclusive. If you are fortunate to get a reservation, it may be days into or after your stay at Sandals. When big events are happening at the resort, most of the restaurants will close even if you do not want to attend the events so that you will be out of luck. Although all the drinks are included, it is of cheap quality and lacks variety. I am not a drinker, and I was able to have five alcoholic beverages without feeling any buzz. THE Worst part Of all, OUR WATER WAS OUT 2 OF THE 5 DAYS! I could not shower after a day at the beach! It was fixed and went out again! VERY BAD STAY!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2016
It was a nice vacation all and all.. We got bad service at one of the restaurants.. One of the "nicer ones that require reservations" we were not impressed.. But it was very comfortable and fun! Would definitely recommend to a friend and go back again!