Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A nice hotel past it's prime

Posted Jul 27, 2010
The cost of staying there was a plus but maybe that's why our shower stall and face basin kept blocking up. The restaurant crew is good a one or two of the front desk folks didn't give the impression they were interested in being helpful. The maintenance and security staff were professional Our A/C unit was LOUD and made some terrifying sounds at start up!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Not impressed!

Posted Jun 23, 2010
This hotel left something to be desired. We arrived and their hotel reservation person had gone home: we arrived at 6:30 pm. They were extremely rude to us at the reception and treated us with disrespect on many levels. The rooms are okay, nothing special. The next day, we were told by reception that breakfast was included and they told us in the restaurant we could have anything we wanted from the menu. We ordered and ate, and then were presented with a huge bill because apparently, breakfast was not included. They were very unorganized and the whole thing felt a little slimey.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great for travellers who love to scope the town and cook their own food!!!

Posted Apr 29, 2010
The beach was behind the hotel, nice, relaxing views. Many things to do in Ocho Rios and to see. I recommend going to Turtle River Park right across the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale, FL

Great for a trip on a budget.

Posted Apr 22, 2010
My overall hotel stay was good, however the restaurant service was not good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gatineau, Canada

A Sandcaslte would be better

Posted Apr 14, 2010
When you look at the pictures everything seems nice, but upon arrival it was not quite so. Pretty much everything in this hotel needs to be repainted, walking towards the room you could see chunks of paint missing everywhere, on the walls, staircase railing, even the room. The bathrooms was small, the door would not close properly, the room had evidence of multiple leaks with brown spots everywhere. Mold was spotted next to the toilet. The toilet seat was broken, I'm 5'8 and the shower head reached my neck, i had to duck to wash my hair. The 2nd bed was upstairs and you had to walk up a set of narrow stairs the size of a ladder and when you reached the top you couldn't stand up or else you would bang your head. The decor was very bland, everything looked very old, and the bed was hard like concrete, so bad that my friend slept on the carpet upstairs instead of his bed. You need a deposit for everything. They wanted US $10 for a remote for the TV (which was the size of a computer screen), same for a 2nd key for my friend, even beach towels you had to pay a deposit. The location was both perfect and bad...It was perfect because it is located in the center of Ocho Rios, everywhere is a 5 minute walk, shopping, good restaurants. But it was also right in front of a Bar which was playing music till past 3am and was disturbing me while I was sleeping. I could feel the bass vibration in my bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from FL

A Descent Place to Stay

Posted Apr 14, 2010
A good place to stay for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from manchester uk

we ARE going back

Posted Mar 27, 2010
i would recommend sandcastles to my freinds and family loved every minute of our stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon, SK, Canada

Great value for your dollar

Posted Feb 10, 2010
This is a great mid range hotel, which is what we were looking for. We swam in the pool every morning, had coffee on our balcony and breakfast at the hotel restaurant, then off to the beach (through the oceanside secuity gate). The rooms were cleaned and refreshed daily and the staff was very friendly. The hotel is within walking distance to the market, grocery, restaurants, shopping (Island Village and TajMahal) and Marguaritaville and Ocean's 11 clubs. The security (street side and ocean side) were alert and we felt safe at this hotel. We have recommended it to family and friends who have already booked! Great Value if you are looking for the "off the resort" Jamaican experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

would not recommend this hotel

Posted Jan 21, 2010
my stay was not what i expected, the hot water was not working, the toilet not working, the bed spread had stains , the bar tender had no manners, the hotel is in need of updating
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Most Convenient

Posted Jan 20, 2010
Well, it was ok.....very nice and quiet......the only thing is that we thought breakfast was included in our package but it wasnt....it is convenient though, everything is just right there........walking distance!!!!