Ratings based on 863 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

A bit disappointing

Posted Dec 16, 2016
We had trouble with registration resulting in over an hour of trying to get help. Had to get manager who did give us resort credits, but by then it was already a bad experience. Food was very good, beautiful property, well maintained and clean. Beaches and pools really great. However, the rooms: big heavy door that SLAM! every time someone goes in or out. All night. Room lay out is very open, which can be nice, but these rooms are SO open there isn't really a bathroom door so no privacy at all. Showers are small and need upgrading. Lighting is romantic but insufficient at bathrooom vanity. Overall a good stay but some of these items were no pluses. We were not wowed by service, it was inconsistent between different staff. Didn't expect that with such a high service score.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Orbitz
We had a wonderful stay, just wasn't a long enough vacation. Each member of our family agrees that this resort has the very best food we have experienced at any of the all-inclusive resorts we have stayed at--we have stayed at several. We loved everything about this resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, small resort with big resort amenities.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Overall, we had a great experience! A few things that weren't quite as we anticipated included the hibachi restaurant not being anything spectacular compared to experiences at other resorts and the room cleaning never nailed everything in one day. Nothing to make or break the experience but just note worthy. There was so much to do at this resort. Watersports, activities, celebrations, etc. If you are bored here you'd be bored anywhere. The beach is excellent with lots of chairs and spaces to lounge. The water sports available are also great. There are lots of bars for the number of people there and the service was excellent! The food was also excellent! So many options and the quality and variety was the best I've seen at a resort. Meal times were a bit odd to me personally, but easily adjusted to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice Resort, recommended

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Cons: Housekeeping was nice and clean. But we didn't like the fact they come later to bring you towels and anything you need for shower. (late afternoon)
Very Nice resort, clean, friendly staff and good food. It's a place for relaxing. Adult only. Very recommended if you want to stay in Jamaica.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Love the people

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on CheapTickets
The staff was amazing! There were always activities. The pool and restaurants were very clean. The food was good. The only thing that could use improvement was the room cleanliness. Now keep in mind I am a clean freak. The room was clean I pay attention to details that some wouldnt. I wasn't even in my room much so it didn't bother me. I would go back! My husband and I were impressed with this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

My Time at Secrets

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: The grounds were beautiful, the rooms were spacious and the staff were friendly & pleasant.
Cons: They should have a 24 hour restaurant which offers burgers fries pizza hot dogs and such. They should give guest a heads up when there's construction.
Location: The hotel is about 20 minutes to a half hour from the airport depending on if a cruise ship is in port. Close to town.
I went to Secrets St. James for a 20 year anniversary vow renewal ceremony. The resort was directly on the beach and the grounds were spectacular. I had a room all to myself (the additional cost for that really wasn't much more than sharing with someone else) and it was very spacious, clean and had just about everything you need with the exception of a microwave & iron (they give you a steam iron instead). The staff were very pleasant, helpful and accommodating (make sure you get your complementary slippers & robe in your room, I didn't get either I had to ask the housekeeper who cleaned my room but she put both items in the room with no problem when I returned). The food choices were not great, breakfast & lunch had buffet which was good but dinner choices, you had to select from multiple restaurants and the food menus from them were not so good, room service food was actually better for dinner. They had these great little cubbies were you put your room service food for them to pic up so there would not be food sitting in the hallway (which I think is genius because I hate seeing people's food sitting in the hallway for hours). There was a show each night, there was a club opened every night (where on Thursday night the DJ was awesome, we danced from the time it opened to the time we left which was 3 hours straight), there were daily water & entertainment activities & someone on beach & on property grilling the best jerk chicken daily. Overall it's a very very nice resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice stay

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Ocean view room, good food. Nice weather. Clean room.
Cons: Sometimes they dont give you that much privacy in room between all the services
Location: Beach, pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful views and wonderful staff

Posted Nov 8, 2016
The room was exactly as described in the pictures however there was a considerable amount of construction and repairs happening throughout the resort. The hotel staff was very accommodating and wonderfully pleasant. The a la cart restaurants were delicious but the lunch buffet was mediocre and disappointing. Overall a lovely trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

One of the best vacations yet.......

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Location: The hotel has many activities throughout the day, and evening. There is also many other things to do outside facility.
Our room was oceanfront view, beautiful view room from balcony, beds were very comfortable, amenities were top notch from 24 hour room service, to the stocked mini bar. The hotel staff were all very friendly. The food was very exquisite, never had to eat the same things (unless you wanted them), great variety. I will definitely plan on returning. The only thing that I could pick out from the stay was the balcony slider door - very hard to open, and close. The hotel did offer us an upgrade, however, we declined.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful hotel on the beach

Posted Oct 30, 2016
The view from our room was breathtaking. The hotel staff was wonderful. Plenty to do on the resort or just relax on the beach.