Ratings based on 873 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Most relaxing wedding ever...

Posted May 16, 2017
I had my wedding there with a small group of family. Everyone was very happy with the resort. Multiple choices with location of wedding, choices of colors and lots of extras. The food was delicious...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Bit of a let down

Posted May 11, 2017
Hotel was ok, but not the 5 star experience we were hoping for. Buffet food was fine but 'a la carte' dining in the evening was generally terrible. From long waits for tables in empty restaurants, moody staff, unpleasant/bland/uncooked food, the list goes on. We complained twice as after I first brought it to the attention of the manager nothing changed. The second time I spoke to the 'Director of Food and Drink' who offered us a complimentary 'romantic meal for 2 on the beach'. The standard of food for that was greatly improved but still nothing special. Wouldn't return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not LUXURY

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Secrets Resort St James Montego Bay Management and Expedia, I recently booked a trip with Expedia to stay at Secrets St. James in Montego Bay Jamaica. I booked a last minute trip to surprise my wife for our 1 year anniversary on April 23rd. She picked this resort based on customer reviews and the images of the resort. We also decided to get the junior suite with an oceanfront view to make it more romantic. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted and told to check-in with the desk. The young gentleman that served us was pleasant and my wife said we are celebrating our 1 year anniversary so if we could have a really good oceanfront room that would be amazing. He stated he had a room open that was just the room and we finished with the check-in process and proceeded to our room with bellman assistance. The room seemed to be ready, it didn't look like the images inline, no decorative pillows, or flower vase on the table like the image gave it a luxury look but we continued on. Upon looking around at the room we noticed the room was missing the two robes that were part of the room amenities, and the pillows on the bed were exceptional thin, like the kind that have been used a lot or bought at a very inexpensive rate. I then tried to call the housekeeping number to request pillows listed in the book provided in the room if you desire different pillows and to ask for robes. That's when we found out the phone wasn't working for our room after multiple attempts. I then said we w
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queens, NY

All Inclusive perfection.

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Great room with a beautiful view. Very clean. Slow paced but overall extremely friendly staff. Food and drinks is delicious, especially the Jerk Chicken cart! Many restaurants.Although tips aren't necessary they go a long way. Tours and private cabs outside the resort can be pricey. Make friends with a local(one that works at resort) and they can help. Many daily activities. Surprisingly Wifi works great out there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic accommodations

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: Rooms (bed and pillows), ocean view. Food and poolside entertainment. Bar staff was excellent. Cleanliness of the resort. Sits on the beach.
Location: We did not participate with any excursions. It was nice to be close to the airport, but the sounds of the planes was not a disturbance.
Secrets, St. James was a fantastic all inclusive resort. Close to the airport without the sound of flying planes, sits right on the beach. Excellent choice of restaurants. Pools were clean and entertainment staff was above and beyond. Our rooms were excellent, the bed and pillows were so comfy and am trying to figure out where I can purchase the same kind for my home. Rooms were clean and enjoyable. Highly recommend this for your next vacation destination.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paradise, Mt

Beautiful Relaxing Resort

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Secrets Resorts delivers on all promises. From the moment my wife and I arrived, we were taken very good care of. The resort was very nice, the beach and gardens beautifully maintained. The food was excellent, and the staff was both professional and very friendly. Special thanks to Karry Ann, Slyvester, Bret- Lee, and Garfield. You can not go wrong staying at a Secrets Resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Arlington Virginia

Beautiful views good food and plenty of activities

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: The staff was top notch. They were friendly, upbeat always smiling. Shout to Calvin jerk chicken Mon.
Cons: Ground floor rooms had a strong odor of mold. The staff immediately moved us to the 2nd floor.
Location: I stayed on the resort. No reason to leave.
Check-in could be more organized. Do not try to set me up for a timeshare appointment at 8:00 am on the first day of vacation. Shout out to my girl Natalie always smiling.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Administrative Assistant, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us. We are glad to learn you enjoyed the friendly staff that catered to your every need and also the famous jerk chicken you had. It is very unfortunate we had to relocate you to another room due to the odor of mold. We thank you once again for your review and we hope to hosting you next time. Regards, Patrice
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Close to airport...that is it.

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Close to airport. Clean. Friendly staff.
Cons: Better beds. Make the food warm and flavorful. It was either burning or no flavor. I liked the Jerk chicken.
Location: Close to airport.
Beds were too soft, food was tasteless except for the guy who served the jerk chicken at the pool each day. Staff was friendly. We (and others) were moved to Wild Orchid without notice. Have rules about saving pool side chairs, but allow their butlers to break those very rules and take almost every chair every day. Told us we could visit other hotels (Breathless) and that hotel was still under construction.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by Administrative Assistant , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We appreciate you sharing your recent experience while staying with us. Guest satisfaction is of primary importance to us; therefore your feedback is extremely valuable and demands of us to improve our procedures and services moving forward. We sincerely apologize for missing our mark and failing to meet and exceed your expectations with the beds being soft and the food not to your liking. Thank you for your time and consideration and we look forward to welcoming you back Home in the future. Regards, Patrice Foster
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Can't wait to return

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: Location, beach, view, food
Cons: Pool/beach access to chairs. Larger variety of selections in mini bar, include snacks in mini bar, lighting in room without sun is terrible. TV stuf
Location: Awfully expensive to leave the property. Really. Used to getting a cheap taxi into town to eat/explore/sight see. Not here. Excursions good time
Just returned from a week long stay. Really, really fell in love with Jamaica and this property. Loved the location, the white sand beach, the pool, our Ocean Front room(s) all had lovely views (partly obscured by Palm Tree in one room), watching cruise ships enter the port. Saw planes landing, and heard each one take off. Food quality was far better than expected, the French and Jamaican restaurants were the best. Italian was next. Took a few days to figure out all the lunch options, which were more limited. Also took a few days to find the bar with the best and most experienced staff and largest selection of drinks (mixes/liquors). Staff very friendly and welcoming, every day, every time. Bed nice, soft, comfy. Room service surprisingly swift. However..as with all properties, there are some improvements to be made. Biggest is inability to get poolside or beach chair. They don't enforce policy to avoid 'reserving' chairs without being present. $60 round trip to town!! Needed batteries changed on door locks/room safe. Power kept weirdly snapping on/off at times. TV flat screen, but cheap model, blurred easily with motion, no HD channels. Hibatchi dinner was lackluster at Asian restaurant. However, was quite the deal and as above, would go back anytime.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bucks, UK

Fabukous hotel.

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Great location, pristine in all respects and fabulous food. Great holiday in every respect.