Ratings based on 817 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Hotel staff was great couldn't ask for any more! The comfort should be change for each staff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando

WELCOME HOME

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: The best part about this property is that both resorts are located on the same property. No need for arm bands or a shuttle to transfer you
Cons: Unfortunately, room service portions were very small.
Location: The location is great. You have a view of the ocean and Negril, which is located in the mountains across the bay.
Secrets St. James & Secrets Wild Orchid are two adjoining properties located beautifully in Montego Bay. When they advertise "Ocean View", you really get an ocean view. The grounds are masterfully manicured. The hotel staff is very friendly and accommodating. The access to pools, bars and food so convenient. There was a great blend of Jamaican & American cuisine at the buffet style restaurants. This was by far my favorite experience at an all-inclusive resort.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2016
It was great. Wasn't happy with the cleanliness of the restroom, and mosquitos in room. Otherwise, I would come back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

fourth time for Jamaican Independence

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Staff was outstanding. Genuine kindness. Much respect to the staff that work so hard.
Cons: More Jamaican food at breakfast buffet.
Location: Love Montego bay. It is close to both Ocho Rios and Negril so we were able to venture out to both destinations this trip. Ricks cafe is always fun.
We Stayed at Secrets for the fourth time for Jamaican Independence. It was also our anniversary. We love the resort but it is the staff that make us come back every year. Nadine at the beachside lounges (St James side) treats us like family. So does Ali Williams (entertainment) and Floyd (now seems to supervise) at the St James pool. The music at the poolside has improved this year (they actually played Reggae music). They went out of their way to make sure we had a great experience. We will definitely return. Loved the Reggae Love show and the Beach party. One Love, Sam and Lisa. See you next year.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, CA

Just as I remembered

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: everything
Cons: the staff are too young, need some older more seasoned personnel
This was my second stay at Secrets St. James, Montego bay Jamaica! I loved it the first time and I love it even more now. The rooms, food, beverages and staff were all above average. I would recommend this resort to everyone
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Room was nice but a little in the dirty side. Watch out for the Amtour reps in the lobby who I found to be a little dishonest. Had I known that Jamaica Tours was on site, who is affiliated with Expedia, I would have sought them out and booked our excursions through them. They are located in the shopping area of the resort.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Beautiful beach friendly staff. Good food.

Posted Aug 6, 2016
When we were there we had a tropical storm come through and the hotel staff handled everything great. My only issue was maid service didn't clean the room until around 5:00 pm and turn down service came around 9:00 or 10:00. We actually were upgraded upon arrival over to the wild orchid side. This review is for the wild orchid. We had a great vacation there and would return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice all-inclusive beach getaway

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Just spent 4 nights in Jamacia at Secrets St James. Nice resort with good overall expierence. Have traveled to several Secrets as well as other resorts similar in nature. Setting was nice with beautiful water and resort. All restaurants were on Wild Orchid Side but not a bad walk. Beaches were a little small but nice. Wild Orchid Preferred Building had beautiful background with the contrast of Jamacian Mountains meeting the ocean. We had access to this with Preferred Room from St James. Food was on average 4/5 with meeting basic expectations from all inclusive. Night entertainment was better on some nights than others but over all pretty good. Recommend at least a 4 night stay to get the full effect. I brought my own snorkel gear which was nice. I was amazed at how many sea urchins I came across. We saw several star fish at night from the bank walking close to ocean by piano bar. Piano Bar was the hub of the night life in my opinion. Jamacian culture is definitely laid back and if this is your first time you will likely want to return and have a new appreciation for Bob Marley!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aix en P.

Prestations de qualité

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Lieu paradisiaque. Choix des restaurants à la carte. Grande chambre avec belle vue sur la mer. À refaire.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Service

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Service with smile. What a great staff at this hotel. Above and beyond...Ms Forbes at checkin, Lair, Leo, Carlton, Carol, Itasque(?), Marlando. Met Peter de Loeser bussing tables (he is one of the directors). I know I am missing names here. They make up for any shortcomings.