Ratings based on 825 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester Hills, MI

It was very nice although......

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Outside of the lady checking me into the resort the staff was amazing!! Food and drinks were great. Beaches were nice.
Cons: Should have got what I paid for: Spa service amenities working correctly and should have been put in the resort I originally paid extra to stay at.
Location: Stayed on the resort.
The resort and staff where amazing. Although Expedia and/or the resort ripped me off. I booked with Expedia for Secrets Wild Orchid, then when I got to the Wild Orchid resort they said, you booked the deal of the day and we do not have any rooms for you at the Wild Orchid, we only have rooms for you at St. James. I had no option, but to take the St. James room. I paid extra money to stay at the Wild Orchid side because of the view, location to the restaurants, entertainment, etc, etc.... I felt cheated as the deal of the day was also offered at St. James for a lower price. I specifically booked the Wild Orchid and was not given what I asked for. I was calm, but very upset when I spoke with the lady at the front desk and was still pushed to the St. James resort, as there seemed to be no other option. I planed this trip 6 months out and had my heart set on the Wild Orchid. I was very disappointed. I also purchased a $200 plus Spa massage, then when I got there the steam room was not working and the hot tub didn't have hot water. They said it was broke. I hate to complain, but I didn't get what I paid for. I really wish someone made it right for me while I was there, but I was just treated like this happens all the time and I'm just some guest staying at a cheap resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: All of the restaurants had great food
Location: We just stay on the resort to soak up the sun and relax.
We had a great room overlooking the pool and ocean view. Beautiful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Much less quality and service than expected.

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Cons: Service,Service,Service! Better food and drinks.
Location: N/A
Highly disappointed. This is the third Secrets i've been too, and clearly the worst of the three. First, your getting all cheap alcohol. At the pool bar, the alcohol is the worst and you'll wait forever to get a drink. At the main lobby bar and piano bar you'll see a token bottle of Grey Goose or Bombay Sapphire, which are clearly being refilled by no-name alcohol. I walked up to the main lobby bar just as the bartender was finishing a bottle of Grey Goose on someone's drink. I asked for a Grey Goose Martini, he said he didnt have any more. I had to ask him if he could get a bottle. He said i'll get some. He walked away with the bottle and came back five minutes later with the same bottle a quarter of the way filled. Which by the way was NOT Grey Goose. I've never seen something so unproffessional. The food was ok at best. The breakfast was fine, (typical buffet) the lunches were ok. The food in the dinner restaurants were clearly a step behind the other Secrets locations i've been too. The room was ok but dated. The bathroom shower stall and toilet are seperated by a glass partition. After showering, if you used the toilet one of your feet would be in a puddle due to the shower leaking into the toilet stall. The staff was pretty nice, although the service was lacking. In August 2015 Secrets Los Cobos, in 2016 Secrets Maroma beach twice (March&August). Unfortunately, Wild Orchid in not close in quality or service.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff review

Posted Mar 28, 2017
This was a really disappointing experience due to the service. Property was excellent, the buffet was amazing, but the staff was not at all accommodating. AT ALL. We had to get everything ourselves and they caught attitudes when asked to actually work. Weird. Overall great hotel. Poor hiring process.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing all the way

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Excellent! Beautiful pools, tasty food and breathtaking views
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Beautiful!

Posted Mar 26, 2017
My husband and I upgraded from a garden view to ocean front and it was so worth it! The pools are close to the ocean and there is a big hot tub on the property. Our room had a jacuzzi tub and big balcony. The staff is very friendly, the resort is super clean and very secure. The only thing my husband didn't like was the lack of buffet option for dinner. All the restaurants were a la carte.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pleasantly surpised by the accommodations and customer service received. Awesome staff, variety of activities and food options, super comfortable quarters and upscale amenities, I recommend this resort if you don't want to be in the hustle and bustle of highly populated tourist spots and desire elegance, round the clock service, romance, scenic views and unlimited luxury.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern NJ

On the beach

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Relaxing. Beautiful location. Didn't have any problems with too many people or getting dinner where we wanted. Food was good. We didn't travel off the property but felt very comfortable where we were. Service was good, friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Fantastic location. Hit and miss service.

Posted Jan 31, 2017
At secrets for a wedding. Beautiful location. Perferred area not really separate. Maids had attitude multiple times when we asked them to give us 5-10 minutes to get ready for dinner, (eye roll, exasperated breath....) some service was amazing: buddy love when you arrive, Joseph the bell hop were very helpful and full of personality. The real star of this resort is Leo the beach waiter. By the end of our trip, he was family. This guy is covering 4 pools while his co-workers struggle to cover one. I suggest tipping Leo heavy. He's going to entertaining and keep you from being thirsty. Our average dinner time was 90+ minutes. Not really ideal, but some places were worse than others. (Portofino, Bordeaux longest)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Christmas at Secrets

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: The stay was pricey, but booking last minute at Christmas, all inclusive, and no kids... it was fine, LOL.
Cons: The one thing I would ask them to improve is letting the guest know everything available onsite.
Location: Other than one excursion day, I stayed at the hotel the entire time. However, there's an eatery down the road as well as other places by taxi.
Although this was not my first time in Jamaica, it was my first stay at Secrets and I traveled alone. I have a driver I use when I’m in Jamaica, but was I happy to see the resort has taxi service and an ATM onsite. My stay was during the weeks of Christmas and New Year’s 2016, so there were lots of people there. A full house resulted in a bit of a wait during breakfast and dinner, but it also made the beach parties awesome, LOL. For the most part the food was okay; I liked the French restaurant best. Although this trip was to lay out on the beach and just relax, there was always plenty to do, lots of entertainment at night, and you can book excursions onsite. For the most part the staff members at the resort were nice and helpful (I loved my housekeeper). The grounds were well kept and I felt comfortable walking about both day and night. WiFi – AWESOME! I never did get the hotel connectivity app to work, but the Wi-Fi was very good so I could still do everything on my phone. Loved the fact the resort was beachfront; I expected more ocean at the beach and one side was pretty rocky. Other than that, the beach was cool and as always in Jamaica all fades away once you hit the beautiful blue water. I liked the fact I could get a drink and/or water almost any place on the beach!!! I also liked all the little hidden sitting areas on or near the beach I could relax and enjoy the view secluded/quietly. I loved the spa; I highly suggest the hot stone massage, the herbal ma