Ratings based on 276 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming and classic hotel

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: The decor, the staff, the privacy and the peace and quiet of the place.
Cons: Bathrooms could use updating. Hallways could use brightening up.
Location: Location was near Ocho Rios, an easy taxi ride away for a fun shopping day. Dunn's River Falls is close by.
The hotel is older, with beautiful lobby and clean, attractive rooms, great mattress in our room. As in most older hotels, it needs a few updates and occasional repairs, but other than that, the ambiance and decor of the place, especially the lobby, reminds me of the lovely old mansions in movies about colonial India. The grounds and beach are kept up quite beautifully. The beach is very nice, and the pool is especially lovely and private. The staff are wonderful! Very friendly, polite, and very helpful. The all-inclusive meals were very good. Food was fresh and delicious and the menu offered 3 different entrees each evening. This hotel would appeal to visitors who want a classy, quiet and elegant place to stay when in Jamaica. We will definitely visit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from windsor, CT

Jamaican Charm

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: I really liked that it seemed to be a place where people return year after year.
This was the perfect place to experience Jamaican charm. If you are looking for a state of the art resort experience, this is not for you. This is an older establishment oozing with charm and personality. It does need some cosmetic updates, but, all in all, I was very happy with my stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dominica

Dated facilities

Posted Mar 27, 2017
The staff was helpful. The food needed some variety. Just an average hotel with no perks. I would look elsewhere on my next visit to Ocho Rios.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful place to stay right on the beach. Wait s

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Everything. Staff was helpful and friendly, food was excellent, drinks were great.
Cons: Nothing that can be controlled, like a little more sunshine.
Location: It was centrally located for the things that we did.
We had a wonderful time and when we come back we will book rooms with you. Everything was perfect and we couldn't have asked for a better experience for our first trip to Jamica.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Our first visit to Jamaica

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Orbitz
We ended up asking for an early departure because of how dissatisfied myself and fiancé were. The pictures online are out of date and so is the entire establishment. The room gave me a cruise ship vibe very tight spaced and the AC wasn't manageable (it was only freezing or not working); and since there wasn't a comforter I was a popsicle for two nights until we left. We couldn't leave immediately bea cause the hotel charges the first two as a cancel fee. So we were struck with water that shoots out of the phacet from the sink making a mess of everywhere and in the shower it didn't run hot enough. There were cats everywhere (my fiancé is allergic) and the staff said they try to shoo them but that just come back so they just embrace them.??? I was astonished of how the staff made lite of our concerns. The bar closed at different times each day and the food was not good and served cold. Shaw park was supposedly an all inclusive but it's worse than basic. We had to walk down the beach to buy food from the next hotel over because they had run out of food at lunch on our first day. Then when tried to book an excursion they said we couldn't because they needed at least 6 people to sign up. And considering the other guests were only seniors let's just say we didn't get to go. Then in order to get our refund we had to call Shaw Park several times in order to get a response. Don't stay here save yourself the expense and headache.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel

Posted Feb 18, 2017
I would rather to rent a cabin in the woods than to go back to shaw park hotel.there are cats all over the dining are,limited taste bad food andvthe facility is as ancient as egypt.would never recommend it to anyone.
4 out of 5
by Kay

Nice quiet hotel

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is very nice the room is clean and the shower is fantastic however when you first come into the room there is a damp smell maybe because the room is right next to the sea. The food was excellent good selection and well cooked especially the fish. This hotel is geared towards over 40+ years of age
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boca Raton, FL

Awesome View

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: The service was great! ...and the location can't be beat!!
Cons: The king size bed
Location: Close to town center but not that close to interfere with the relaxing atmosphere. Great shopping, food and entertainment.
Room was right on the beach as promised. Rocked to sleep at the sound of the ocean waves (sweet!) Nice friendly staff. Smiley has the perfect name...loved his smile and personality as well as the awesome dining room staff. Sorry I can't name them all. They were all just great, front desk, everyone. A special thanks to the nice lady who cleaned our room. We had an odd schedule and she did an amazing job around our schedule. The only teeny complaint that I had was the king size bed was actually 2 twins which created a wee bit of a problem, but I must say I love love love the lobby, such beautiful old world charm. This was the perfect getaway both my husband and I needed. Will definitely visit again!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Location, Location, Location

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: The beach and the staff.
Cons: Could use a little updating
Location: The location is great. You can snorkel, take a trip to Dunns River Falls, zip line, go into town
The hotel is older and lacks the bells and whistles, which is what I LOVE bout it. It is simply a nice relaxing place. You can arrange for excursions and they re more than happy to help. The beach is right outside your door and it is a beautiful beach. The food was very good. It was more local cuisine, which I prefer. I didn't go to Jamaica to eat pizza and steak. The staff is outstanding! Friendly, pleasant and always smiling. If you are looking to relax and enjoy Jamaica, then I suggest you give them a chance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2017 by Rambo, Hotel Management
Dearest Annette, Your expressions about our Property were wonderful and having you here again (repeat guests) was really an honour. We were delighted that you had a relaxing & well deserved stay with us and thank you heartily. Your comments were frank and truthful and will be utilized to improve our services and products. Concerning the property and updating our facilities, our refurbishing programme will continue, until all our rooms are looking immaculate and fresh. Your friends (The Staff) have all read your nice 'feed-back' and are charged/ motivated to continue the provision of excellent service. Thanks again for your visit, continue to recommend us to your friends and we look forward to welcome you again .......soon !.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, N.Y

The location of the Hotel was convenient

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: Peaceful, quiet and the sound of the waves put me to sleep
Cons: The room that I was in needed some repairs, the ceiling, shower and the wall needing some painting
Location: The location was great for me, since I was there to bury my mother in St Mary and the distance from the hotel was OK
Upon my arrival at the Hotel, I was welcome by a staff member who took my luggage, I was introduced to the Receptionist Lashawn who recognize me by calling my name. I checked in and was escorted to my room, I had a wonderful lunch. I am a vegetarian and was asked by the Chef what I eat and everyday I had my special meals prepared for me, the dining room staff was excellent and very helpful, I don't remember all their names but, they smile with you and very polite. There are the Bartenders that make my fruit punch and Smiley made sure I got my coconut nice and cold.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by Rambo, Hotel Management
Dearest Claudet, It was an honour having you as our guest recently and although you were grieving your Mother, we are very appreciative of your comments.Concerning your review of our Property, we have plans to continue our repairs / refurbishing programme in our guest rooms. All ceilings & walls will be repainted and bathrooms will be upgraded. As you are aware Shaw Park Beach is an older property, it was built / opened in 1961 and for this reason, the maintenance must be carried out on a timely basis. Your Comments was posted on the Staff Notice Board and LaShawn, Smiley et al have only smiles and are asking when you will be returning !. Thanks so much for your visit and we look forward to welcome you again ......................soon !.