Ratings based on 737 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Mar 20, 2012 on Hotels
Everything was good. Location, price, staff, etc
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unknown but worth the visit.

Posted Mar 19, 2012
The hotel is located next to the airport, which makes getting there and leaving a breeze. It's also located at the end of th "hip strip" so you can walk up local bsuinesses. It has 2 pools that are always available. I plan to go back the next time I'm in Jamaica.
2 out of 5
by Laura from Queens, NY, USA


Posted Mar 16, 2012
Pros: Patio
Cons: pool
Location: Location was good
The room was cozy but the service was not good, the sheets were never changed, the floors was never swept, the towels were material rotten because it tore as I was drying myself from a shower, soap was never left each time the did a so call clean. I had a broken lamp in my room, when all other rooms had flat screen tv, my room had an old tv. The pool was nice but towards the end of the day other guests were throwing garbage in the pool and no one bother to clean it out. I myself took out an empty can of beer out of the pool along with straws. Along side the lounges were empty bottles of liguor bottles and cigarette butts along side of the pool.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Mar 14, 2012
The hotel is very badly maintained. The room door was unsafe. Mold in the bathroom. The piece of soap, of the lowest quality. The bad taste of the decoration unbelievable! In the front desk, one young woman was helpful; the other one NEVER had a smile on her face. Clean sheets and towels..
4 out of 5
by Laura from Warsaw, KY 41095, USA

Sun from KY

Posted Mar 9, 2012
Pros: The pool area was nice, clean and chairs were comfortable.
Cons: Restaurant wasn't very good and a little pricey.
Location: Less than 5 min from airport, walking distance to shops.
Hotel location is within walking distance of the Hip Strip - plenty of shopping, restaurants and sights. Not a lot of beach area unless you are willing to pay for a day pass, rent chairs etc. Food in restaurant in hotel was fair, nothing to rave about. Most of the staff was friendly and willing to help. Pool is nice and clean. 5 min or less to the airport.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Rooms and Grounds

Posted Mar 7, 2012 on Hotels
We stayed at Toby's for a brief two night excursion to Jamaica. The location is super close to the airport and very close to the hip strip. The private beaches which cost a little money to access and withing walking distance. The room was big, clean, and cooled by a wall a/c unit. We were happy to have cable television and a clean place to stay. The restaurant left something to be desired, but it wasn't too bad. I would stay here again if I found myself in Montego Bay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bklyn, NY

4days, 4 nights...Loved it!!!!

Posted Mar 5, 2012 on Hotels
Place and staff were very accomodating. Location is close to the airport and most shops, beaches, bars, restaurants and tourist spots
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

The Hotel Toby's in Mo Bay

Posted Mar 4, 2012 on Hotels
Clean, cozy and friendly Needs some night time entertainment Like a bit of a show at the Hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Mar 3, 2012 on Hotels
We felt safe at Toby's. It is an older hotel but it kept clean and has a nice little restaurant on site. I wouldn't spend a long stay here but it was good for a quick stop-over. My 7 year old loved the larger pool and I enjoyed the large, mature trees around the grounds that made it more secluded from the busy streets around. It is also very easy to access the main highway and airport from this location as it is close to both.
3 out of 5
by Tabby112 from New York, NY, USA

Clean and Friendly, but overall DECENT.

Posted Mar 3, 2012
Pros: balcony, ac, and tv in every room
Cons: food
Location: safe enough for us (two women) to walk to near by restaurants at night, there were "tourist police" all over the streets to ensure safety
Extremely average hotel. But for the price you are getting exactly what you pay for. My mother and I got a great deal through Expedia and were expecting exactly what the hotel offered. The only down-side was the food was sub-par and food at near by restaurants was expensive. I think it would have been worth it to pay a little extra and stay in an all-inclusive. I probably would have saved a little bit of money when you consider food and alcohol prices.