Ratings based on 734 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York city

Friendly staff, close to beach, restaurants etc

Posted Aug 14, 2016
I stayed at Toby's from 3 to 10 August 2016. Check in went smoothly. Room was confortable though there was no fridge. The standard bedrooms apparently do not have one. Others do. AIr conditioning was functioning and the balcony was nice to relax on. Cleaning the room was not always systematic even when I posted the sign "maid please clean my room" on the door. Sometimes I would leave the room at 10 AM and return at 4 and it would still not be cleaned. That was the biggest downside. Plus the wifi that was not always stable. Otherwise everything else was pretty OK. Pool was nice, restaurant had very friendly staff and the food was delicious. It was really easy to access everything from the hotel. Dead end, Doctor Cave and Cornwall beaches are only 10 min walk from the hotel. Restaurants and shops as well. Airport is literally 5 min drive from the hotel. Overall I would recommend this hotel. It's good value for money and has a pretty cozy athmosphere.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

Cheerful stay

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Nice find. Located at the airport end of the hip strip, this hotel is conveniently place in walking distance to Dr. Cove, Margaritaville and other restaurants and shops on the strip. The staff were super friendly, the restaurant served good local food and the pools were clean. They even did Our washing when asked politely. Fantastic little place for an affordable Mobay get away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Ants in the bathroom Small Bugs flying in the room Location good!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria, Canada

Nice hotel close to the Montego Bay airport.

Posted Aug 6, 2016
I simply stayed for one night waiting for my flight. $1 and five minutes from the hotel to the airport in a collectivo taxi. The staff are friendly and the food good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Perfect 'cheap' hotel, close to everything

Posted Jul 29, 2016
I would most definitely stay here again, it just felt like home! All staff were very friendly and looked after us well. It was well worth the value and somewhere to stay if you're on a budget. It is walking distance from local bars and shops, as well as the gorgeous beaches. My friend and I met many people who stay there regularly for vacation. If you like a good Jamaican breakfast then the saltfish and callaloo is for you at this hotel, if not they also do the most amazing french toast and lots of other American/English breakfast options. The pool and hotel is thoroughly clean throughout. Only thing I would have wanted at this hotel is some music playing by the beach bar - having said that nobody complained when we put our own music on. Very close to the airport.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Good Option -Safe, Close to airport & Clean

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Proximity to airport and politeness of staff
Cons: Room amenity upgrades, perhaps vibrant/energizing/tasteful colors would enhance the perception of the room.
Location: Located on the hip strip but not in the heart of it where it's a bother. A lot of activity on the strip late at night. Appears to be safe.
Check-in was smooth and pleasant. Rooms are basic but well equipped, bathroom is also basic. Proximity to airport is a plus, you can walk if you're so inclined, a taxi ride is within 10 minutes. You can walk to various food options, many bars are available and the beach is just across the street from the hotel. Toby is next-door to Sandals Inn in terms of location. Pool is clean, bar is small & cozy, bar tender is very friendly and polite. Likewise, other staff on the property were equally friendly. I would bring your preferred soap bar for showers (soap is provided but quite small) and hotel towels are old/dates but clean. Yes, I would recommend with the caveats noted. Yes I would stay here again without a doubt.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SA

Comfortable accommodation with wonderful staff

Posted Jul 28, 2016
It's the place where all the staff know your name and will serve you with a smile. I stayed four nights during the Sumfest and came back in the morning just in time for breakfast. Popped the do not disturb sign outside the door and slept peacefully. I liked that the staff are friendly, welcoming, and helpful. Personally prefer that kind of environment in choosing hotel. I like experiencing something new all the time, so I am surprised that I would come back to Toby's next time! You can walk to the nearby public beach, or to the Doctors Cave. For dinner, supper, try the chicken curry made the local way! Pity I had it on the last night. Would have ordered it every night!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, Fl

Nice hotel. Very local feel with friendly staff

Posted Jul 28, 2016
It was a nice hotel and the on site restaurant is really good local food. We just did not care for the area in which the hotel was located.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Loved this gem of a hotel!

Posted Jul 25, 2016
First time staying with Toby's and we loved it .Very nice resort with super staff and very nice rooms for a reasonable price. I have stayed at many hotels in Jamaica and would definitely stay here again. Rooms were nice size and very clean .Pool area was nice and the restaurant on property had great good at reasonable price. The hip strip and margarita ville are withing walking distance. Beach is also very close nearby .Definitely worth the stay!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Toby is 5 minutes from the airport 3 min from the beach and in the hart of Montego Bay.