Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bowser, BC Canada

Great small hotel in Runaway Bay.

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: The facilities, location and most of all, the friendly, helpful staff. We were made to feel like members of a family.
Cons: The bed, while clean, was somewhat, hard as were the pillows.
Location: Close to Flavours Beach, which was a nice public beach with some vendors. However the vendors were very friendly and not aggressive.
This small hotel was perfect for us. The room was clean and well-appointed. The hotel staff were fantastic. Check-in with Michelle was a breeze. The wait staff, Andre and Dalwayne, were very helpful, friendly and the service was the best we had in Jamaica. The security guards, Albert and Edward were always available on their post at the gate and were helpful and very friendly. The location of the hotel worked very well for us, as we did day trips by car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Well what a pleasant surprise. A hidden jewel.

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Everything. It was like home.
Cons: Ready transportation to beach or into towns in the area. Reasonably priced.
Location: Location was good and there were things to do once you got back to the main road.
On the island to celebrate mothers' 85 birthday. We set up stay for 6 of our family and friends. Pleasant surprise. The breakfast was fantastic and the dinners was just what we were missing. We made out better than going to one of the bigger resorts. We will be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by Sonate, Hotel Management
It was our pleasure hosting you all. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to continue the pampering upon your return. Thanks for making it VILLA SONATE.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boca Raton FL

Cozy hideaway, close to beach & places of interes

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: The cleanliness and the warm personalities
Cons: The hot water went for a brief moment. Not sure what can be done there since It's very possible that it happened at a time when everyone was using it.
Location: Location was great, the Cardiff Beach was across the street. Golfing was next door. Also took in an reggae event only a few miles east.
What a find! One of the nicest, friendliest staff we've ever encountered. The owner Sonia, even came by and greeted everyone in the vicinity. Room was comfortable, roomy, clean. Many places to relax and enjoy the ambiance. Oh so picturesque, nestled in such lush tropical landscaping. Will definitely go there again
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2016 by Sonate, Hotel Management
We are very happy you had a relaxed, comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. We have since redecorated our rooms, making them more attractive and comfortable. We look forward to hosting you again and will try our very best to maintain our high standards. Thank you so much. Warmest regards, Sonia
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Very nice private setting

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: Clean room - good local breakfast - peaceful setting
Cons: shower hardware should be less complicated
Location: Setting is excellent - small, private hotel.
We will give them a second chance - but 1st visit - no tv remote, ac remote broken, very complicated shower to operate, but once you get the hang of it it's fine. Breakfast was great. Ours was a scheduled one night layover visit, but next time we'll make it a longer stay since the atmosphere was very peaceful. Looks like good security.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Bathroom could use some updating....Security and staff members were very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Short stay

Posted Jan 2, 2015
It was very adorable and close to resorts. Safe area. Good for quick and short getaway
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Quick birthday get away.

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: Everything see my other comments
Cons: a hot tub or bigger pool
Location: beach a short car ride, sightseeing 15-30 minute car ride either direction.
The hotel was off the main strip of road so really quiet. The staffs at the villa are excellent, really accommodating and had really nice insight into the local area, between them and trip advisor we had everything covered. We rented a car to get around sense we knew the Villa weren’t a big resort. We have been to Jamaica on several trip but stay mostly at the all-inclusive resort so this was a big charge. Let me just say the rules of the road are suggestion in Jamaica. The Villa did not disappoint from the traditional Jamaica breakfast to the balcony overlooking the pool, the grounds were beautifully maintain and it seem like the staff were always busy keeping it clean. But no so much that they were in the way, I hardly saw them but knew they spent a lot of time making sure things were nice. . Security was great with 24 hour guard on duty to patrol the property and to make sure the cars were safe. My wife and I felt really safe as if we were in any upscale neighborhood in the states. If you looking for a nice place that quiet not expensive and you want to connect with your significant other you will really like this place. We plan on going back sometime this coming year just to unwind.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful staff, ok accommodations

Posted Dec 15, 2014
The Villa Sonate was a good place to staff for the few days I stayed there. The staff were amazing!! However, it was really quiet and less posh than expected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Nice private hotel near Ocho Rios. The staff make you feel like you are a part of their family. Andre and Michelle at the front desk are great. I was traveling alone and didnt feel at all scared or lonely!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amanda from London

Tranquillity and service at its best

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: Happy with everything
Location: The beach is 5mins in the taxi. I would recommend Riley Tours (juta agent) look up on trip advisor. Do a day tour to Dolphin cove and Blue Hole
Good things come in small packages and this is very true of Villa Sonate. The management and staff are very welcoming. I needed to do a late check out and this was not a problem. If you decide to use the pool, towels are provided. The Villa gardens contained many beautiful flowers and you are able to pick any of the fruits growing in the garden. In the garden grounds there is a lovely water feature stocked with ornamental koi fish and a bar where you can relax in the evenings. The rooms are clean and very spacious and include a fridge, flat screen TV and remote controlled AC. The food was fantastic real authentic Jamaican cooking. For breakfast I was presented with a platter of food that would keep the hunger pangs away till the evening. Breakfast was 2 green bananas, yam boiled and fried dumplings, ackee and saltfish and jerk sausage. For lunch I had curry chicken and hard food. Not a surprise that my weight increased before I left the Island. Villa Sonate is a little hidden gem, so if you want to be away from the noisy resorts and enjoy the ambiance of your surroundings this is the place to be.