Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Excellent --- the staff could not have been any more helpful, extremely friendly and supportive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wakefield, UK

Fantastic location

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: Location,
Cons: Tea/coffee facilities in room, option to,have a room in main building as it was a bit of a steep,walk from our room to the bar/restaurant area ( getti
Location: Brilliant location, very peaceful, on,y went for an over night so no comment re things to do.
We stayed here for a night as part of a two week tour around part of Europe. Fantastic location, great room,,friendly staff. Bit of a hidden gem especially without a good sat nav. great outdoor dining area with stunning views over the hols right out to sea.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

A huge disappointment

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Pretty environs.
Cons: Everything: service, facilities, staff etc
Location: In the end as we could find nowhere to eat, we went to Urbino for the day, which was worth the visit.
On arrival to spend 5 days here in September, we were told we had been 'upgraded', implying that Expedia clients only get the cheaper rooms. Our room had a TV, safe and Wifi which did not work. When we complained, we were moved to better rooms in the main building, but the TV sound was again not working. The swimming pool was dirty and out of action; apparently the pump had broken and was unlikely to be mended in the near future. There was only one restaurant open out of the 4 advertised and this restaurant was closed on our second day. We were given names of 2 restaurants some distance away which were, as we discovered, also closed. We saw only 2 other guests and clearly the hotel had effectively closed for the season. It was like a ghost village and none of the shops was open. The receptionist never apologised, refusing to give us her name as we left after 2 nights. She was also rude in Italian, which she didn't realise we could understand. There are no lifts, no porters and steep stairs to climb which was difficult with our luggage. I have since seen poor similar comments on other sites. Do not waste your money coming to this hotel. We are now fighting to get our money returned even for the 3 nights when we did not stay. I suspect the good ratings on this hotel are bogus, because I cannot imagine anybody being prepared to pay for such a poor service and almost non-existent facilities. It seems to get its money from holding weddings and conferences. Dreadful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel in a peaceful location

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Huge room with great amenities and adjoining castle.
Cons: We were expecting Rimini beach. That is not what we got. It was impractical to drive to the beach and back.
Location: Small town in the mountains and beautiful rural life
The hotel was inland in a mountainous are of Rimini. The office was in a castle and our room was in a building about 100 yards away. Beautiful small town quite remote to Rimini beach and area. It was very luxurious hotel with beautiful pool and a great look at life in small town Italy. Be careful with your GPS it misled us and sent us through some pretty tough roads.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susie from Brighton

3 night stay

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Pros: The location was fantastic, driving distance to the beach and stunning panoramic views. Rooms were stylish and charming.
Cons: We should have been notified in advance of the festival.
Location: We drove to Cattolica beach, which was busy, lively and bustling with bars and restaurants.
We booked this hotel as part of our Tuscan honeymoon as it looked like a beautiful castle with stunning views, within driving distance to the beach. We were not disappointed.The hotel was absolutely beautiful and we were given a pool view ground floor room with French doors opening to the garden with a complimetary chilled bottle of Prosecco in our room to help us celebrate our wedding, which was a really lovely touch. The only thing I would say is that there was a 2 day festival on when we arrived (17th August) which celebrated the liberation of the Italians from the Germans in WW2. We were not made aware of this before we arrived so were greeted with a 'HALT' sign and Swastika flags - a bit misleading to two honeymooners looking for rest and relaxation! Once the nature and meaning of the festival was explained, we felt a lot more comfortable as it had looked a bit bizarre to us! I feel we should have been made aware of this beforehand as it could have caused upset to certain guests. However, it was lovely on the second night to be part of the celebration and to hear the locals singing patriotic songs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen, Scotland

Almost perfect

Posted Sep 15, 2010
Arrived on 1/9/10 and pool bar was shut along with a couple of other restaurants as it was "out of season". Nowhere to get a snack at lunch time because of this. Otherwise hotel beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Historical Italian holiday find.

Posted Aug 23, 2010
After a difficult start our stay was very enjoyable. The hotel complex met all our expectations. I would recommend however that joining instructions are improved as the hotel is not at all easy to locate and signposting is inadequate. Overall a recommended experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T.

Dépaysement et sérénité

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Lieu adapté pour un séjour dépaysant et tranquille. Le Personnel est souriant, les chambres propres la literie confortable. S'il y a un bémol à donner ce serait l'insonorisation des chambres un peu légère tout de même. Autrement le lieu est juste magnifique.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pm

Hotel di grande charme al di fuori dal tempo

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Ci siamo fermati per una breve sosta di sole 2 notti ma l'armosfera del palazzo viviani ci ha colpito da subito. Le camere sono spaziosissime, confortevoli, pulite ed eleganti. Inoltre il contesto dell'intera struttura è a dir poco affascinante e suggestivo.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Cons: Il sistema di condizionamento in stanza è particolarmente rumoroso (o si ha il sonno molto profondo o è d'obbligo l'uso dei tappi)
Location: Borgo grazioso, molto piccolo, ospita solo l'albergo e dei punti ristoro tutti afferenti all'albergo. Raggiungibili facilmente Gradara e Urbino
Soggiorno di tre giorni Il primo approccio alla struttura è ottimo: il palazzo Viviani e il piccolo Borgo (molto piccolo) rispecchiano la descrizione del sito...si rimane delusi quando per raggiungere una stanza premium si abbandona il palazzo e soprattutto il borgo, si raggiunge quello che è chiamato il Borgo degli Ulivi e ci si ritrova in un fabbricato un pò anonimo. Da precisare che per la colazione e per la piscina bisogna ritornare nel corpo centrale dell'albergo