Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from usa

Worst beds, broken AC, over priced joke

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Location was decent. Breakfast was quite good. That's it.
Cons: The beds. The AC. The resolution and better customer service when your hotel fails at delivering a night at a near 200 euro price tag.
Location: In the old town, near to the nicer public beaches.
The location is decent, the rooms are big and garishly decorated (Purple crushed velvet furniture? Really? Hi, 1990!). It's like a picture of gaudy new money, with zero class for the price tag. Stay somewhere else. This hotel was so unhelpful- our AC was broken, but at least they gave us a fan after I asked for it. They did not give us a discount for this after we slept so poorly in the hot stuffy room. A real hotel with class would've offered us something. Also, the wonderful rooftop terrace is NOT open to enjoy, it's only open for dinner :( The bed was small and horrible cheap mattress- I could feel the coils poking me through it! It's like they garbage picked it. I'd expect that at a flea bag hotel, but not one that charges 195 Euros a night! The public beach is right next to their "private" beach, so just skip this horrible overpriced place, stay somewhere cheaper and use the public beach, which is less rocky and nicer anyhow. However, the free breakfast was quite good, and the waiter was very nice. It was nice to eat near the beach. The bathroom shower was very awkward to use, and sprayed water everywhere, or you had to be huddled in the corner of the tub to get a decent shower. All fake bravado, no class.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with beach access

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: We like its beach access.
Cons: They could install repeaters & extenders throughout the hotel & rooms to improve wifi access.
Location: Walking through the old fort with its many shops. Walk the pier front & take a cruise of the Montenegro riviera
Spacious rooms & large bathrooms with great water pressure. We stayed in room 106 which had a double bed and a single bed with lots of light. There is no elevator so pack light. There is no street access to the fort/hotel in old town so walk toward the sign Hotel Avala and yield left and down the stairs & walk toward the Astoria Hotel canopy. Walk through the doorway and the door to the hotel is on your immediate right across from the caffe Mozart smoothie fruit juice place. Wifi is ok. On the beach wifi is best in the row nearest the cafe. If you want waterfront chaise lounges get there by 8:30 to reserve them.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Great location, don't stay if you want aircon

Posted Jun 11, 2016
This hotel should be great. The reception staff were great but management was awful and completely unwilling to resolve any issues. I paid for a nice hotel, the aircon never worked and neither did the spa bath. For 5 days there were no chairs available at yhe beach. What was unacceptable is never remedying any issue. We are sorry its hot, yet no offer to move rooms or offer compensation. It was so hot and stuffy at night you couldnt sleep and it wasnt even peak summer. Nothing was done, they didnt seen to care about the problem or their customers. I stayed over a week and there was zero attempt to fix. Didnt get what paid for in terms of facilities or service. Disappointing.
5 out of 5
by Jean-Pierre from Miami

Budva, the old city

Posted May 7, 2016 on Hotels
Like Kotor, Budva is an amazing place where you feel the history coming to meet you, if you are at the hotel Astoria, inside the old town, you will feel like you came back at the feudal time. A beautiful place to see. Like I wrote for Kotor, in Montenegro the parking for a car look like a luxury. For less than 24 hours, I had to pay 35 euros in a municipality parking. For my point of view it's stealing money from the tourist.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Nice location,room had a nice decor,bathroom was pretty and the room in general was pretty clean,front desc was very friendly and very helpful.what i did not like was,level of noise coming from the bar downstairs,i got over charged for the beach seat,they charged me the same price like they charge the non hotel guests,hotel guest where supposed to be charged less,and i have the feeling that was just because we were Americans,and the last thing was the bathroom at the beach bar was horrible!!
5 out of 5
by Emre from Istanbul, Turkey

The Best Boutique Experience

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
The best service I have ever received from the moment I booked the room to check-out!! Andrea and Jelana were such a great help!!! The staff always had a smile, were very friendly, and the breakfast was the best (the restaurant in general was really good). The beach was nice as well - I would highly recommend the Astoria group of Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jill from San Diego

Modern hotel inside the old town.

Posted Sep 26, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel owned by same owner of Astoria hotel in Budva, again modern and inside the old town. This time the room was much bigger, but the same modern touch, with great service and amenities including a restaurant.
5 out of 5
by Marina from Toronto

Lovely stay in Astoria

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
The best part of Astoria was the staff. Impeccable, polite, and efficient service wherever we were - beach, breakfast area, restaurant, roof top restaurant. The hospitality was unmatched, and we felt welcome and at home there. Great job!
5 out of 5
by charles from San Francisco

Great Hotel, Central Location, Not a Chill Spot

Posted Aug 16, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel. Great staff. Neighborhood is a little too touristy for us, but probably ideal for most. It is very central. Neighborhood is a little loud with music playing. Note that we were here to relax, not party.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2015 on Hotels
Great location...Clean boutique hotel. Sea view suite is quite cool and balcony above "techno" beach is part of the charm. Large restaurant on the plaza great for people watching. Beach restaurant is good and a perfect spot for breakfast before the beach animate. Thanks for the "beach attendant" for finding us a couple beds without reservation in the middle of summer craziness....