Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bay area

great as conference center-hotel not so much

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: The wonderful setting and the marvelous nature preserve boardwalk almost to the beach!
Cons: The condition of the facilities and enough parking so you don't have to worry about finding a place when you come back from a dinner out.
Location: I was there for 'car week' so I was busy enough to prevent much other activity exploration.
Spectacular, peaceful setting worth the price of admission but no sound insulation so every word and action from my downstairs neighbors intruded constantly even though they were only moderately loud. Parking was inadequate in number and proximity to my room. Facilities were clean but shabby and showing wear especially in the bathroom and it was hard not to get splinters if brushing against the stairways. I can imagine a lovely retreat for a group with many meetings away from the guest room itself and catered meals delivered to them. As a hotel, I missed nice, welcoming bathroom amenities to distract from the condition and 'bare-bones' nature of the bathroom. Inasmuch as food is not always available when you want it on site and you have to drive to get it, perhaps a refrigerator - especially with the fear of losing a parking space being a factor? Nevertheless, Asilomar is hard not to like despite it all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lafayette, Ca

Nice hotel near the beach

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Very quiet and comfortable with fire place and balcony. Needs a remodel though
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Beautiful spot and great for families. Pretty basic, no frills accommodations.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marina del Rey

Car week 2016

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: The history, the closeness to the ocean.
Cons: I said it above
Location: Need a discount pass to go from hotel to Carmel by driving thru 17 mile drive road. There are a number of excellent restautants and galleries nearby
Historical buildings, nice. Rooms need updating, from carpets to drapes, door screens and amenities. TV's are a modern requirement for every hotel, people need to stay connected, internet is available, why not a TV set. A microwave to warm up a Baby formula should be also included. The decks and dry vegetation need work, nobody wants to look at old dry and dying threes as well as broken boards and fascias. The deli also needs updates from better food to better wines and pastries at least.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from paradise, ca

really nice and quite

Posted Aug 16, 2016
on the beach. No tv or electronics in room. Very quite. Could hear the ocean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from visalia, ca

Crusty spots on sheets

Posted Aug 15, 2016
We really liked it when we first got there. But after coming back from a nice evening, there was no parking in our lot and we had to keep driving around in circles on heir one way streets to find a parking that wasn't a mile away. Found. Parking finally, was exhausted so climbed in the sheets to feel several weird crusty spots that I can only *imagine* how they got there. Called room service they sent us new sheets but we had to put them on ourselves. Definitely not worth what we had to pay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Gorgeous setting and architecture

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Architecture and setting
Cons: Some rooms are a little dated, and have suffered from the negative effects of the oceanside location.
Location: Gorgeous setting and proximity to beautiful Monterey downtown with lots of activities, bars and restaurants.
Beautiful expansive conference hotel site, which also lends itself for individual visitors. The setting on the beach is spectacular, with beautiful walks along the beach on pretty walkways.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

Within walking distance to beach.

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: My daughter left her jacket in the social hall. Somehow the staff tracked us down and had it ready for us to pick up the next morning. Impressive!
Cons: The rooms are deeply in need of updating.
Location: Its along 17 mile drive and is a short walk to a beautiful beach.
Nice location and grounds, within walking distance to beach with pleasant boardwalk. Excellent staff! Very much an older hotel which would be a plus with some extensive renovation. The social hall where you check in is pleasant and has games, puzzles, pool tables and a nice fireplace with sitting area. The rooms are extremely dated, greatly in need of renovation and sparse. The walls are paper thin and even if neighbors are conversing quietly, you feel as if they are sharing the same room. The price far exceeds quality of facilities. I'm not sure how they sustain repeat visits at these rates. I assume that its because of location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convienent location walking distance to beach

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Great location. Close to beach and downtown Monterey. Each building also had a fireplace in the entry area with tons of seating. Beds were pretty small but overall good experience. I would go back to this place again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Folsom,Ca

Dorm rooms

Posted Jul 30, 2016
The rooms are just like dorm rooms in college. They don't even have a TV in the rooms.