Ratings based on 1,542 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Hotel was very nice, comfortable clean and conveniently located. Restaurant was great, staff were wonderful. Easy to get to off the freeway. Parking was located right outside our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, CA

Great location at an affordable price.

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: Convenient location. Clean, well maintained room.
Cons: Would have liked to have a microwave oven in the room
Location: The hotel is right off the freeway. Monterey Bay Aquarium, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, 17 Mile Drive, Dali 17 Museum, Point Pinos Lighthouse.
This hotel is a basic no frills place that is in a great location right off the freeway and close enough to all of the Monterey attractions. The room was clean and well maintained. Cleaning staff was attentive and friendly. The hotel restaurant is fairly small and has the basic fare at prices you would expect for a hotel restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice updated room, SUPER COZY Bed

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Only complaint.....no microwave. Everything else was perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Pretty good hotel and was suprised

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: None
Location: Very close to caramel and just off of Route 1
Great hotel and clean. The bed was clean and the room was spacious
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Nice stay.....Easy parking...Room was clean.........
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2017 by Brenda Front Desk , Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, Canada

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Clean hotel in a good location. Great to be so close to whole foods. Comfortable beds. Room was near the stairs and we could hear people coming up and down early in the morning. Not great soundproofing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. I am sorry to hear about the noise and we will look into taking actions to minimize any noise in rooms. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from College Station, TX

Okay for one night

Posted Jul 28, 2017
We were only staying one night in Monterey as we traveled up the PCH. The hotel was okay for just one night, but I would not want to stay there for multiple days. It was clean and relatively comfortable, and efforts have been made to renovate, but the renovation seems to have been hastily done in some places. The floors in the rooms look like a DIY project. The staff was friendly and accommodating, and the on-site restaurant was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback. We did have our floors installed recently and will forward your concerns to the company to ensure proper installation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This used to be a very nice hotel. However, with

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Convenient, big room, nice room.
Cons: The items I mentioned above. Also, the hot tub was extremely hot - 104. Much too hot.
Location: Lots to do, not enough time. Much to choose from in the restaurant department. Not the restaurant accompanied with the hotel though.
The heated swimming pool wasn't heated. Said there was a problem. The WiFi didn't work. Said they were having a problem. The TV didn't work. Called maintenance and they said the TV cable had not been connected. So they connected it. The Fitness room was very small with minimal equipment. The bicycle, the one and only, would not work for me, as the seat was much too high, and I could not lower it. They offered to sometime send maintenance to lower it. I figured that wasn't worth it, as maintenance would have to be called again to adjust it for the next person. In addition, the restaurant that was connected to the hotel had problems. I waited over an hour for my food. Almost gave up. Then, they were supposed to give me a discount because I was staying at the hotel, but I forgot to ask, and they never offered. By then, I just wanted to get out of there, never to return. The staff was courteous, and room was clean and quite large. But time has taken a large toll on this hotel. I would not stay there again, nor would I recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orangevale, CA

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: The new furnishings - hotels just down the street for more money per night are dated or worn and these furnishings were nice.
Pleasantly surprised for the price I paid. Will definitely stay here again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth it

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
This is a really old place that tried to remodel. No elevator, we carried our things to 3rd floor. The Jacuzzi says 104 degrees but left us stinging and red. Way too hot and they ignore the complaint. Beds are hard. Rooms are old and small. The floor has no carpet, so when you get back from the pool, you slip.