Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Perfection

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
If you're looking for a relaxing break in Carmel Valley this place will take some beating. The hotel is immaculate, the interior design is beautiful, the staff are calm, polite and attentive but somehow manage to blend in to the background and then appear just when you need them - very hard to achieve. The grounds are wonderful, food and wine, excellent. Having just spent a couple of days there I really cannot think of a single thing they could do to improve it. 10/10.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lafayette, CA

As nice as it gets!

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: See above.
Cons: Nothing in my opinion.
Location: The hotel is located in the Carmel Valley, of course, and we find driving in to Carmel by the Sea is the way to go.
Just spent 2 nights at Bernardus for our anniversary. This is the second year we have done this. The place is simply wonderful. The service is exceptional, the food outstanding, the hotel itself is spectacular and you leave pledging to return. Berdardus is fairly expensive but you certainly get what you pay for. This was a first rate experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Suffolk, UK

lovely hotel in a great situation

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Pros: very comfortable well-appointed room & bathroom. Pretty gardens & nice pool. Friendly & efficient staff.
Cons: More comfortable seating on room deck. Strange way of stocking the room mini-fridge; we had things in it that we did not want, but had to pay for.
Location: Lovely rural location among vineyards. Sailing & whale trips from Monterey. Point Lobos State Park well worth a visit. Monterey Aquarium. Wine tasting
We were initially shown to a good room, but next to the hotel building site! We complained, & were promptly moved to an identical room, above the swimming pool. Thereafter, we greatly enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Pleasant stop over

Posted Jun 1, 2016
We were driving up the coast line on CA 1 from LA. After spending the day on the road the Bernadus was a welcome stop on our trip. The hotel staff was friendly and professional and the hotel and grounds are perfect for a short or longer stay. Our room was furnished comfortably and the fireplace added some coziness to a slightly chilly evening. The only suggestion I would have is the lighting could be a bit brighter. We dined in the bar as we did not make advanced reservations for the dining room. Our light dinner was well prepared and the staff attentive without hovering. I would return to spend a few days, if I plan another trip to the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Fantastic place to relax

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: The atmosphere is complete relaxation.
We had an absolutely fantastic stay at Bernardus Lodge and Spa. The setting is beautiful, the facilities excellent and the staff throughout incredibly attentive. Would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Fabulous time with great setting and ambience. Loved the fireplace and the shower.
5 out of 5
by Brian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This stunning resort is a do-not-miss!

Posted Apr 9, 2016
The grounds are breathtaking. The food amazing. Our room was impeccable and immaculate. Several fire pits and fountains throughout the propert. Fun game lawn and pool for the kiddos. The staff is welcoming and very professional. Set amoung majestic oaks, roses and grape vines. Heavenly!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing place. Beautiful

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Highly recommend. Amazing place. Great food. Great views.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful and relaxing experience.

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Pros: Beautiful views, outstanding amenities and cozy rooms.
Cons: The swimming pool pump is on all the time and is a bit annoying if you have a balcony room right above it.
Location: In the heart of Carmel Valley and very close to great restaurants and downtown Carmel and Monterey. Can't get much better than that.
Just what we were looking for. A perfect get away that is quiet and romantic. The facilities were top of the line and the staff was courteous. A very relaxing and enjoyable experience.