Ratings based on 225 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2015
Pleasant reception person, good choice of breakfast items, room clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Good location for our purposes

Posted Sep 24, 2015
Pros: The breakfasts were the best at any motel I've stayed at.
Cons: Access to the rooms or at least tell disabled guests that the second floor is more accessible.
Location: It was half way between Monterey where we visited the Aquarium (fabulous), did the historic tour, etc., and Morro Bay. our other destination.
This hotel put us half way between Monterey and Morro Bay where our activities centered. The breakfast was the best I've had at a motel, every single day. The beds were too hard but I expect that. WiFi was slow but not the worst. The room was clean. My biggest complaint was that a card told us to hang up our towels if we didn't want them changed and I hung up my personal towel but it was removed by the maid. It was never found although I asked at the front desk. Altogether it was a good stay in a convenient place. It was difficult to get to our room on the first level-- lots of stairs no matter where we parked.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plattsburgh NY

Close to the beach

Posted Sep 23, 2015
Pros: Awesome restaurant and bar just across the street: Kuala Ranch
Location: Kayaking in Moss Landing. Bicycling in Monterey-Asilomar 17 mile drive
We stayed 3 nights. Not far from Monterey and Santa Cruz, yet out oof town. Road traffic not too loud. Pretty good continental breakfast.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location -

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Pros: Surprisingly quiet
Cons: The rooms could be ready upon you arrival. Check in is not until 3 and by 4:30 you would think that for sure they would be ready. Not
It was a dream location close to everything you might want to do in this beautiful coastal area. We went from the 17 mile scenic drive to fun little fruit stands in the other direction and all close to your home away from home.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

Avoid like the plague

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Pros: The location is good due to its proximity to the beach, although it is noisy due to the fact that it is right by a major highway.
Cons: The hotel needs to be upgraded as it is not safe. And customer service can be improved significantly.
Location: It is within walking distance to the dunes/beach.
As soon as we checked in we realized this was not going to be a pleasant stay. The windows were barely hanging on and could not be opened safely. The phone was not working. The Wi-Fi signal was so weak that we could not use the internet at all. The second day we were gone from early morning and came back to the room around 4:30 to find out that the room had not been cleaned/made up. We called several times, each time they assuring us that they will send the maid up. But no one ever showed up. We complained to the manager but she refused to do anything to help out, in essence implying that the motel is always booked up so they don't really need to concern themselves with customer service. We had stayed at Quality Inn which is right next door to this roach motel which we now know is much better than this sorry excuse for a motel.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockton 0n tees

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: was very clean and comfortable. Lovely breakfast
Cons: Nothing
Location: .Quiet location plenty of eating places short drive away
Quiet hotel friendly staff nice large room quick check in
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Close to freeway, noisy. Bathroom floor was dirty.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Westminster, CA

Posted Sep 10, 2015
Pros: close the freeway and quite cudesac
Cons: need to improve on room cleaness
the hotel is under construction and very noisy. the room is dirty specially the carpet. my wife asked my kids to wear their shoes all the time in the room. also, my kids found all kinds of stuffs under the bed such as cheerios, gum, candy, fruits, etc. I though the hotel close to the beach, but not that close. I have to drive my kids to the beach not a walking distance if you have small kids.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Next to highway, load.

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Very loud, next to highway and construction at motel, no ocean sounds! Staff was nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Beware of noisy rooms

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: Whoever is responsible for the decision to not sound-proof the rooms needs to spend at least a night in one overlooking the highway - no ear plugs!
Location: Monterey and Moss Landing are nearby. Lots of wonderful things to do there.
Had to arrive late and was assigned a room overlooking nearby highway. There was no noise insulation - huge cracks between the door and the doorframe. Full experience of trying to sleep in a car with open windows stopped on a highway shoulder. Is it really that difficult to take 10-20% of what we paid for one night and apply it to buying and installing a sound-insulating rubber strip? Oh, and bananas in the breakfast room were way past due and rotten - shocking occurrence for any hotel, anywhere in the world. What is happening to Best Western? We travel a lot and used to be their solid repeat customers. Yet it appears Best Western has been resting on its laurels too much lately.