Ratings based on 570 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, california

Nice hotel that is centrally located to town.

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Central location, clean, spacious, free parking, reasonable price, near market, breakfast, pretty exterior, and pool
Cons: Nothing
Location: The hotel was In Carmel California. The hotel was centrally located to town, walking distance to everything, and market was near by.
The check in staff was friendly and able to accommodate our request to upgrade from queen to king size bed. We had a lovely room with a balcony and view of the pool. Our room had updated furnishings, it was very spacious and clean. We were so happy to have parking and enjoyed the breakfast included with room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sofa-bed

Posted Sep 15, 2016
There were 3 of us, all adults. One of us, a senior, "slept" on the sofa-bed. Said it was absolutely painful, they could feel every wire under the half-an-inch mattress. I approached the front desk about this when we were checking out and all they said was they would look into it; no apologies and not even dream about a refund or discount for the future. Breakfast was good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

lovely

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing really...
This was the greatest hotel, best value for your money. Close to everything...the breakfast was wonderful. Everything was very very clean. We just loved it. Staff was wonderful. Greatest place to stay in Carmel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saratoga, NSW, Australia

Good Value for money and location

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Cons: Airconditioniong and bathroom ventelation in this room (45) wasn't all that great, needed the windows open to cool the room and ventilate.
A nice hotel in aquite location close to restaurants and services. Room was good and comfortable
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Schönes Hotel in guter Lage in Carmel. Alles fussläufig zu erreichen, selbst der Strand. Sichere ruhige Gegend. Das Zimmer/Bad waren groß und sauber. Würde ich wieder buchen. Frühstück wie üblich in den USA auf Pappteller und Pappbecher. Auswahl auch wie ortsüblich mit Bagel, Cereals, Obst und Rührei. Ok, nichts besonderes.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz Mountains, CA

Great place near downtown Carmel

Posted Aug 30, 2016
The staff was great, the hotel was really nice, I was not expecting it to be so nice as it was one of the less expensive ones in the area. We went for a last minute 10 Year Anniversary trip and brought our 4.5 year old. She had a great time as well. We could walk around downtown and get back to the hotel if we forgot anything. The shopping and art galleries are fantastic in Carmel, the nearby food options were great too! Vesuvios had great truffle gnocchi and Hog's Breath Inn had wonderful appetizers and cocktails! Overall great experience, can't wait to go back! Oh and the pool is heated :)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Close to everything'shopping and dining. An excellent breakfast
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

comfortable and close to everything

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: We were very pleased with the hotel, the staff, the room, the fireplace, the parking, the area and the staff's recommendations for nearby restaurants.
Cons: No improvements needed for us. We did like having an elevator to get from street level to our room on the 5th floor.
Location: The hotel is near a small store, across from The Forge restaurant where we had dinner, two block from Ocean Avenue.
We've stayed in various places in Carmel, Pacific Grove and Monterey; but, since we do like walking the entire Ocean Avenue area in Carmel, we stayed in a Best Western just a block or so off Ocean for this last-minute, overnight trip. We were very pleased with the hotel, the staff, the room, the parking, the area and the staff's recommendations for nearby restaurants. We were especially pleased to have the gas fireplace that made the room more romantic than many hotel rooms are. We didn't try the full breakfast that was offered but heard others say it was good (we'd never gotten to try the breakfasts at Katy's Place just a block or two over so made a point of going there for our breakfast -- great place, by the way). We definitely would stay at the Carmel Bay View Inn again. Our room had a balcony from which we could have watched the sunset over the bay had there been less fog and smoke (from the Soberanes fire) and from which we enjoyed a very nice view of the area. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was clean and pleasant. We had no complaints whatsoever.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

overnight for a wedding

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: room
Cons: new maid carts or make upper level decks more smooth.
nice room, staff was friendly. only real problem was how much noise there was. i was on 2nd level near front of hotel and every time a maid pushed a cart in front of the rooms it sounded like a freight train was rolling by. And this started early in the morning. but other than that it was really nice. worth the money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne, fl

Nice location with no sound insulation in rooms

Posted Jul 30, 2016
The location and price are great. Breakfast was ok. The room was clean. The neighbors had fun....we know because we heard them all night. You could hear everything happening around you. Toilets flushing, people walking, talking, and, well, doing other adult things too. A good night's sleep was not to be had during our stay. Thinnest walls ever!