Ratings based on 524 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good for the price we paid

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: The location is excellent - very walkable. The hotel staff was helpful and courteous.
Cons: The walls and floors were not well insulated and too much noise came through. The breakfast was very average.
We got a good price and found the hotel acceptable at that price. The pool was closed for repairs which we didn't know until after booking. If we had known, we probably would have gone elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fremont

Valentines Day/Anniversary trip

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Hotel was clean and convenient (though not walkable) to downtown, Fisherman's Wharf. The dining area is quite small and crowded during breakfast; breakfast was OK, not great. Room was on third floor with fireplace - very nice and roomy with view of water. In a very expensive Monterey market, the room was a good value for the price we paid. The Sunday afternoon check-in staff was very friendly and accommodating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Easy access to downtown and freeway

Posted Feb 15, 2017
The hotel is dated...The rooms are very loud as the walls are very thin.The pool and hottub were out of order which was disappointing as we traveled from Canada.We were not advised at the time of booking or we would have chosen a different hotel.The food was the same every morning so we ventured out most days.On the bright side the staff were very friendly and the rooms were very clean.....If your looking to soak in the tub in the evening be advised that this hotel has showers Only!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monterey California

convenient but not very accomendating

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Close to the event we were attending.
Cons: Educate staff about the area and the events. They charged a premium due to the event, but the service was there.
Location: Had no idea of other things to do, other than the golf tourney. The staff didn't even know about about the tourney. Location was fine.
The room was clean, the staff was nice but clueless about the surrounding area. There was a major golf tourney in town and they had no idea. No safe in the room. The only secure place to store any valuables was at the front desk in an old school safe deposit box, which an ipad would not fit. No snacks or drinks in the room, everything was down the hall in a vending machine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by Diane, Hotel Management
Hello Paul, I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the staff's knowledge of the AT&T Golf Tournament as well things to do in the surrounding area. The majority of front desk agents have been working at the hotel for over 10 years so they are very familiar with the many special events that happen throughout the year. I do have 2 new staff members at the front desk who just may not be as familiar. Thank you Diane Spadaro General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

BEAUTIFUL HOTEL VERY WELL CENTERED

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: I ESPECIALLY LIKED THE UNDERGROUND PARKING
Cons: THINK PEOPLE SHOULD BE REMINDED NOT TO LET THEIR DOORS SLAM WHEN THE CLOSE THEM---I WOKE ME UP----
Location: GOOD LOCATION ---WE WENT TO THE ACQUARIUM AND CANNERY ROW IN SHORT TIME.
WE WERE VERY PLEASED WITH THE WHOLE EXPERIENCE ---EVEN THOUGH IT WAS RAINING
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel within walking distance to Bay.

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Staff is nice, room was very comfy. I do wish that the hot tub would have been working because that was the original reason we chose this hotel, but otherwise it was very nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good for business stay

Posted Feb 9, 2017
The room and location were good enough. The staff, not so much. I quickly discovered they didn't like doing much more than checking guests in. They advertised having a business center, but their 2 Macs are limited to Internet browsing only. You are even restricted from accessing any password protected sites (no DropBox or OneDrive). The front desk's 'helpful' advice was for me to drive 5 miles to the nearest FedEx/Kinkos. I cannot recommend this hotel for business trips.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel easy to get to and close to the wharf !

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Everything was a great experience. Except that the cleaning ladies in the morning were extremely loud. We could hear everything above us, when they were cleaning. Very nice hotel though. We will stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lreland

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Breakfast was included in the price, it is safe to say it was the worst breakfast I have ever been presented with.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location!

Posted Jan 16, 2017
It was ver welcoming. Hot breakfast was excellent and the location was near everything. Loved the free trolley that was only around the corner, took you straight to canery row!