Ratings based on 1,241 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice place else with excellent location

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: Covered above
Rooms were spacious, nicely furnished, and clean, This place deserves to be called a Best Western Plus. Their location is close to Cannery Row, shops, and the aquarium but they do charge $15 for using their underground parking. The only other negative is that none of the rooms have much of a view.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North West Tasmania

Comfortable, quiet, quirky, good bed, good value.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Value for money, well situated, clean, comfortable bed, cozy, friendly, well run.
Cons: Some of us drink tea, not coffee, and would like to be able to make a snack in our rooms and reheat meals. Room lighting a bit low level.
Location: Monterey Bay. The aquarium. Lots of touristy antique shops, some wine tasting, and of course the Big Sur if it isn't foggy!
I spent a few days here at the end of September 2016, and stayed in the second floor of one of the annexes backing onto Mclennan St. On arrival, the underground parking is well signed, easy to access, and the elevator to all the annexes lands there. The reception staff are very professional, friendly, polite, and have customer service in mind at all times. I think the "honor bar" in the reception is a lovely idea, and reinforces the cosy customer centered approach. My room was spacious, if a little dark, with a small balcony which I didn't use much. Even on the second floor (the annexes have 3 floors) I felt a bit "on show" on the balcony, although I have to say the street being overlooked is not busy. My room had coffee machine, but no tea making facilities, and although the Hotel doesn't serve meals apart from breakfast, no facilities to cook or even eat food in the room. No crockery or cutlery, no microwave, or anywhere for you to fix yourself a snack or a sandwich. Room service is from an expensive restaurant nearby. A fridge in the room but no milk! One very nice feature is the open fire in the room, which you're allowed to light if you wish. That's very quirky but a lovely homely touch. The lighting in the room was a bit dim for doing any of my office work, even with the curtains drawn back. Breakfast was a decent repast, and there is free cheese and wine for residents at 4.30 pm every day. My bed was very comfortable and room very quiet. A clean, well-run hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Loved the room in the old house. Close to Cannery row and aquarium
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from U

Close to Cannery Row

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Nice big room and loved the wine and cheese afternoon greeting. The breakfast was great too . Very nice clean room next time I would ask for a upstairs room too noisy below .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location, but wifi is horrible.

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Cons: wifi
Location: Aquarium
The location is nice near the Monterey Bay Aquarium. However, the wifi they provide cuts out a lot, it is just plain lousy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Irving, TX

Cute room except outdated bathroom

Posted Sep 24, 2016
When we checked in, we experienced a very rude reception. The manager Charlene smoothed everything over the next day. Happy with room except the bathroom was neither Victorian or luxurious. Really needs updated. Grounds were beautiful and breakfast and breakfast room were awesome.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Location

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Our room was clean , the staff was helpful and it was in a good location. Walking distance to cannery row and the wharf. Parking was a little tight but a good hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to shops & Cannery Row, walking distance.

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Hotel was okay. The cleaning staff was very nice and did a great job. My husband and I were bitten by fleas (we think they were fleas). I was disappointed but made the best of it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Short walk to Cannnery Row, Aquarium.

Posted Sep 5, 2016
We had a room with 2 queen beds on ground floor right behind elevators. Elevators weren't as noisy as we'd feared. Room was spacious, with sliding doors to courtyard. Bathroom and vanity area was outdated but serviceable. Breakfast area is somewhat cramped, and choices a bit limited but adequate. Staff were nice.