Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pleasanton, CA

Very friendly staff

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Pros: Very friendly staff.
Cons: Amenities
We had a very pleasing experience. However, the motel could use some modernization. And the amenities could be a little better - There was no a/c for example.
Comment from EPC
Aug 29, 2015 by Cathy, EPC
Glad you had a pleasing experience overall! We do appreciate your suggestions and will pass them along. Please come back and stay with us the next time your in the area!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Customer Service!

Posted Jun 11, 2015
Staff was great, pool/spa was beautiful and the hotel was nice & quiet. Little too many bugs in & outside of the room. Would go back again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rahul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Tyler from New Mexico

Old-fashioned motel in a beautiful spot.

Posted May 10, 2015 on Hotels
It's an old-fashioned 50s(?) motel that was a pleasure. The village is 1/2 block down the hill, and small, so everything is within walking distance. The pool/hottub sits in a beautiful spot; nothing fancy, just a fine view across the valley. Lots of old, stately oaks. I enjoyed walking up the hill behind the motel, wandering the small roads and through a long community meadow. My room, which I used for 5 nights, was basic, but I had a private patio (by closing the sliding screens). My king bed very comfy, though almost too big for the room. Only one complaint - the WiFi wasn't working w/ my computer, or the one in their library. It was solved when I was given the office's password. Price was very reasonable for Mon.-Fri.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2015 by Cathy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our great location and our wonderful pool area! We appreciate your feedback about your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Fritz from Walnut Creek, CA

Tired place, in need of a makeover

Posted May 8, 2015 on Hotels
The bed was comfortable. The rest of the room needed a serious upgrade. The TV didn't lug into the wall because someone had removed the three-prong adaptor needed with the old wall socket. The two chairs around the table were uncomfortable and needed to be restored or replaced. The floor lamp was leaning against the table to try to stand upright. Enough said. Good place for an overnight stay. Hard pressed to recommend for more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2015 by Cathy, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and provide your feedback. We are in the process of several renovations and upgrades and we would love to welcome you back again in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Traci from Pasadena

Comfy & Cozy

Posted Apr 29, 2015 on Hotels
My family & I stayed here for a couple of days to attend a wedding in Big Sur. We were greeted by Amanda and two beautiful and very friendly doggies (Molly & I can't recall the 2nd one's name). Anyway, the neighborhood was very quiet. Great restaurants nearby. Deer eating grass outside our balcony window was definitely one of the perks. I think the price was a little steep but it was probably due to the marathon that was going on in Big Sur at the same time. Overall, we enjoyed the quiet family time. Staff and other patrons were quiet pleasant and engaging.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2015 by Cathy, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and sharing your visit. We take great pride in providing the highest level of service to our guests and we are excited to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations during your stay. We do appreciate your feedback and will pass along the sentiment to our staff. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michael from Madison

Pretty basic, but very friendly, old hotel

Posted Apr 26, 2015 on Hotels
Carmel Valley is a pricey place, but the Blue Sky Lodge is a reasonable accommodation right in the main bit of town. It's a bit old, and the rooms look ridiculously low rent from the outside (think beach bathrooms) but on the inside they're not bad at all. The balconies are wonderful, and the optional little kitchenette is useful. The pool and hot tub are a great distraction (do say hello to Molly the pool dog).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2015 by Cathy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review and your feedback. We are in the process of some renovations and updates to our property, so we do hope we can welcome you back again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Clean, cozy, comfortable night

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Only spent one night here, and it was perfect for that purpose. The king bed we stayed on had a super comfortable foam top, the room/bathroom was clean, and free WiFi was included. The place is a bit dated, but service was great. Would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by Cathy, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for sharing such a positive review. It was a pleasure to accommodate you and we are very happy to hear that we met you needs. We are in the process of several great renovations and updates, so we look forward to welcoming you back to Blue Sky Lodge.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by K. Dane from San Luis Obispo

Close to classy!

Posted Apr 12, 2015 on Hotels
You can see how this was a nice place when new. With only a few things it could be quite nice, had new management with intentions to renovate. Staff greeted us pleasant, friendly, and efficient. No funny smell walking into room the first time! Surprising for how old it is. Room felt clean and was clean. Bed had comfy, firm mattress, linens clean. Was a little cramped because they had a convertible sofa there. Bathroom was small, needed one of those "bow out" shower curtain rods and a new shower curtain would have been a nice touch. Bathroom had small ancient electric heater that it didn't need, it was operational but right under a towel rack. I would have removed it and covered the wall. Bedroom had a wall /floor AC/heat unit, worked fine (heat), was reasonably quiet and again, no funny smell. Had small swimming pool, heater, and a hot spa that had rickety steps to get into but was warm and clean. Hot tub water tasted salty. Rooms had their own little patio area (excellent news for smokers) with the oldest antique weathered fiberglass panels I've seen in a while. I chose it for the low price and was pleasantly surprised at how good it was. I would happily stay there again. It was a 30-40 minute drive to Big Sur campground.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2015 by Cathy, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback and for pointing out the specifics. It was a pleasure to welcome you to Blue Sky Lodge and we are truly delighted to learn that your enjoyed your visit overall. We are in the process of several renovations and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon so you can check them out!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

serious upgrade

Posted Apr 1, 2015
The resort/hotel needs some serious upgrade with many things including the TV, No DVD player, a proper sink to be able to wash the dishes and a bigger refrigerator.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2015 by Cathy, Hotel Management
We are grateful for your candid feedback regarding your visit and appreciate that you've let us know how we can make the guest experience at our property even better. We are in the process of making some great renovations and updates, so we hope to see you again very soon!