Ratings based on 560 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Little Rock, AR

Wonderful, quaint motel.

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Wonderful surprise when we walked in and there was a king bed and in a separate room a pullout bed (not needed). The electric fireplace was nice to warm the room and watch the fire dance and listen to it crackle. Antique amenities were nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Fair price great location!

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Location Location Location!
Location: In the heart of downtown Carmel CA. You are in walking distance to everything!!!
I was totally satisfied with the whole experience. I had just ridden several hundred miles on my motorcycle and really needed a reasonable place to get some rest. I wanted somewhere close to the heart of Carmel that would be clean and reasonable. Expedia came through with ease!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Mediocre breakfast. For 200/night one can expect just a little better. Owner doesn't seem to care. Two inexperienced fellows running the place. Too bade!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Hotel is in a great location.

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: Location and cleanliness
Cons: better bed
The room is nice and comfortable and the bathroom is nice and clean. The bed could be a little more comfortable, however.
4 out of 5
by Barbara

A lovely place

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
I love the place and the service is great, the room is great, the location is great, the one thing is the heat is not so great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good locaton and a good budget hotel

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Close to Ocean Street, nice front desk personnel, quiet, and good for the price. The rooms could use a little upgrade. Parents stayed in room next door and their wicker coffee table had a hole in it. The carpet in our room was not cut to fit under the base board in the bar area (coffee pot area) and it was obvious. Rooms were really cold. No heat except for a wall unit fireplace. It does not put out a lot of heat so it took a long time to get warm. I would stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
The motel was quaint and the room decorated with antique furniture. The gal at the front desk was very professional, sweet, and friendly. I stayed for three nights. They never cleaned the room, took out the trash, provided fresh towels or re-stocked the coffee/tea supplies in the room. The little refrigerator was extremely noisy. I did not say anything because I left the room early and came back late, it was just a place to sleep but if it were a vacation it would have been unacceptable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pillows were too flat. Floor were squeaky. Breakfast was late in opening. On our last day A Friday we were there until 8:30 am and breakfast door was still closed. Milk for cereal was curdell while using it in coffee. No good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Hotel Service and Comfort

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The individual chairs and the sofa should be replaced with comfortable chairs..
Location: This motel is in an excellent location and within 2 blocks of downtown carmel.
The hotel clerk (there was only one) doesn't answer the telephone when we called to report a problem. I called 3 to 4 times and he would not answer the phone. The first time he came up to our room to show us how to use the heater thermostat, he was very abrupt, not friendly. The chairs were uncomfortable. The TV was in the bedroom area instead of the sitting area which was very inconvenience. The TV remote was very difficult to learn how to use it because there was no channel change button. I called the clerk 3 to 4 times on this matter and he never answered the phone. Finally after much frustration, we figured out how to change the channels. Overall the service was very poor.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels