Ratings based on 2,149 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NW Indiana

Hidden Gem

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Ambience
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great location, right off of Pacific Coast Highway. Carmel Mission, PCH, and Carmel by the sea
I don't want to tell anyone about this place, 'cause I want to keep it a secret. It is seriously, a great place to stay. More of an experience than just a bed and a shower. Wish we could have stayed longer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia. G

Great hotel to stay!

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Staff were friendly. Overall, a very good place to stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from saratoga CA

older but updated and clean

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Great location
Cons: burned hand on faulty coffee pot lid. reported to front desk. Hazard also, tub didn't drain when in shower. stood in 6 inches water.
Location: Very close to downtown Carmel, Monterey
Rooms are very quiet and clean Location was great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Nice hotel for the value. We'd stay here again.

Posted Apr 9, 2017
I often worry about staying at a non-chain hotel (Hilton, Marriot, etc.); however, we were pleasantly surprised. The room was contemporary and clean with well landscaped outdoor areas. It also was an easy walk from downtown restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Good hotel in a good location

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Did not use that many of the hotel's facilities, but seemed like a solid place for a short stay. Room was clean, but the facility itself is kind of old. Definitely serves its purpose and wasn't cheap, but reasonable enough in terms of price, and was in a good location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Great every one was helpful and room was better then I expected
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Great hotel.

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: It's quiet. Landscaping is pretty. Loved the outdoor firepit. Staff was helpful.
Location: We went to the aquarium, did some shopping and had fabulous food every night.
Wonderful stay. Driving distance to all sites. Monterey and Carmel are two of the most beautiful areas in California.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Convenient location

Posted Mar 25, 2017
The check in process was quick. There was plenty of parking. Our room was spacious with a fully stocked bathroom. The room was a little noisy to outside noise but not terribly so. We only stayed the night but it was near gas stations, a shopping complex with a major grocery store, and a Starbucks.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location but poor quality reno

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: Great location and pleasantly quiet during our 2 night stay.
Cons: Renovation looks dated, grubby and tired even though it must have been fairly recently renovated.
Location: Close to Mission, Carmel by the Sea and Hwy 1
While this hotel has a great location on Rio and Highway 1, it has a confusing quality. At first glance the hotel appears to be well renovated with modern decor externally. When we went to our room it looked like a tired look with cheap materials that were showing their age.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

comfort and value in an expensive market

Posted Mar 1, 2017
We are happy with the spaciousness in the main bedroom, very comfortable bed, big windows. We're on 3rd floor so no patio, but those aren't very private anyway. Bathroom is fine, shower only. Only negative is closet space, as there is a sizable mini fridge taking up that area, which we haven't used. Would have been nice to unpack! Nice staff and plenty of parking.