Ratings based on 653 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

HOTEL WAS OUT OF BUSINESS UPON ARRIVAL!!!

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Cons: Expedia should have notified me that this place closed down
received a confirmation from expedia, on confirmation it states no need to confirm hotel reservations, so I was comfortable with that. We drive 3 hours, relaxed all day at a spa and enjoyed dinner only to arrive to a dead hotel!. No sign on door, no one there doors locked, completely empty. I luckily ran into a night guard who informed me the hotel was closed over a month! (I had booked several months ago). Thankfully found a place that was available and calling Expedia, they tell me they can not refund my money until they speak with hotel management to confirm they are out of business. ummm well no one is there so how in the world will you confirm with someone when there are not staff members around to speak with. So after a 45 minute phone conversation after a relaxing day (at 11 pm at night none the less) I got my money refunded. TERRIBLE
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ca

Carmel proper

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Great location. But, noticed that the towels were still damp. The door lock was only locking with handle. Deadbolt not even close. Smoke detector was missing battery and co dector was hanging by one screw. Sorry that this is brutal but it is honest. Would give it another try but please make the customer safe and secure.
3 out of 5
by Bethany

Cool little cottages

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
No wifi! But it was a nice little cottage and very quiet.
4 out of 5
by Ryan

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
So.. after reading all of the horrendous reviews, I decided we'd check this place out. After entering the gorgeous Carmel by the sea neighborhood, we reached our destination at Carmel resort inn, where the front desk woman was extremely kind. Our cottage was #20 and I gotta say for the price this place was definitely worth it. We were not looking for a 5star room and this place was quaint. Overall our stay was peaceful, and very nice. No complaints, other than when the storm came in there was a minor leak, but the bathroom garbage bin did just fine:)
4 out of 5
by JOHN

Highly Recommended

Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels
Had been traveling for about a week with multiple hotels. Very comfortable and friendly. Location was fantastic!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
The individual cottage style is nice. Breakfast is not expected, so it was a pleasant surprise to have a basket delivered to the room in the morning. The rate is great. The only down side is the location. You do need to drive to the down town area and the beach. Overall, it is a nice place to stay for a weekend get away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cupertino, USA

Cottage style

Posted Nov 30, 2016
This hotel is a bit far from downtown. The hotel is old and need updating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Floors were filthy

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Size of room
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Close to downtown Carmel
Staff was nice. Grounds were difficult. Felt like camping definitely a cottage feel. If you went barefoot your feet turned black. They short sheeted the bed. Bathrooms were from 1960s. Gas fireplace fell apart in the middle of the night, its the heat source.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Murphys, United States of America

It was okay

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Cons: Floor sloped pretty noticeably
Location: Too far to walk from downtown Carmel
Rooms are like small cottages. The floor in ours had a pretty noticeable slope to it. Kinda felt like a room in a fun house. We needed a place to sleep, and for that it served it's purpose.