Ratings based on 826 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berkeley, CA

Quick one night stay

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: For my activity is was a convenient location and I like the rustic feel of the Inn.
Location: The event I was attending was a 5-10 minute drive and I had dinner at the Rio Grill just across the road. I had no time to go to the beach, next time.
The only downside was the couple in the next room came back after 2 am and began a loud and long verbal argument, Can't blame this on the Inn but it lost me an hour or so sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by Cathy, Hotel Management
We are glad you enjoyed our convenient location and your stay with us! We do apologize we do apologize about the guest noise next door to you and hope that we can welcome you back again for another stay soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norman OK

Charming...but Rustic

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Too far from the center of activities. Many better, nicer choices in the central district of Carmel. Choose this one, it's not terrible, only if you can't find better options. BTW, my significant other disagrees with my view and raves at its "cottage charm."
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by Cathy, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are in a great location and sorry you felt we were a little far from the activities you enjoy. We do hope we will be able to welcome you back sometime in the near future for another stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just enough

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Would stay there again. No frills, just enough, The small cottages are a much better choice than the Inn.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2016 by Cathy, Hotel Management
We are pleased to hear that you would stay with us again and that you enjoyed your stay. We do hope to welcome you back to one of our cottages again the next time you are in the area!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Modesto CA

Overnight stay

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: It is in Carmel. The prices are fair.
Cons: Not much really.
Location: Lovely ocean air.
Quick stay overnight in lovely Carmel. Would have preferred staying in one of the cabins, but none were available. Very comfortable bed. Upstairs neighbors were a bit noisy, but it is summertime...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2016 by Cathy, Hotel Management
We are glad you enjoyed the ocean air and this beautiful area while staying with us. Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back again soon for a stay in our cottages!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Dog friendly
Experience was comfortable and pleasant. I like that it was pet friendly and the property accessible to them for walks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2016 by Cathy, Hotel Management
We are so pleased you had a pleasant stay! We do love pets and are so glad you were able to travel with your furry friend. Please come back and see us again soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Peaceful and Quiet! Can't wait to stay again!

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Perfect escape from the "roadside motel" experience! Great hotel room, welcoming staff, and super close to beach access. The river behind hotel portion of the location is a great little spot to take in the natural scenery. Only 27 miles from Big Sur and minutes from from the 17-Mile drive loop. Gas station and restaurants right across the highway. Would love to stay here again, but in one of the little cottages. Originally wanted to stay in Big Sur but didn't plan far enough in advance to find a room during the summer for a Friday night there but the Carmel River Inn was an amazing surprise!
Comment from Hotel Management
by Cathy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and we can't wait to welcome you back! We appreciate your review and your kind words. See you soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Schöne Anlage nettes Personal

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Das freundliche und hilfsbereite Team am Empfang und der Garten
Cons: Cottages modernisieren
Ich hatte ein kleines Häuschen (Cottage) in der Gartenanlage für mich. Gepflegte Anlage, schöner Garten, liebevoll gemacht. Ruhig, man hat das Gefühl, in der Natur zu sein. Ausgezeichneter Service an der Rezeption; sehr nett u hilfsbereit. Bad war sehr klein und das Häuschen bzw. die Einrichtung ist schon etwas in die Jahre gekommen. Aber alles funktionsfähig u sauber. Ein paar andere Häuschen wurden gerade renoviert. Leider war es zu Fuß zu weit zum wirklich schönen Strand.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2016 by Cathy, Hotel Management
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your review and feedback and we would love for you to return the next time you are in the area to stay with us!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Excellent stay for the money!!

Posted Jun 25, 2016
The staff was very nice and accommodating!! The cottage was so darn cute- we even had a fenced in patio. The cottage was really nicely decorated and very clean. We had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable from a mini fridge to a microwave, dishes/utensils, iron/iron board, and even free wifi. We would, definitely, stay there again!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2016 by Cathy, Hotel Management
What a wonderful review! Thank you so much for your photos and kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hialeah

Close to the beach

Posted Jun 24, 2016
The picture online was nothing like it is, it's a small but comfortable hotel and the town is beautiful
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2016 by Cathy, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed our great location and do apologize that you felt our photos were misleading. We are a quaint property and hope to welcome you back the next time you are in the area!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Carmel River Inn Vacation Resort

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Pros: see above
Cons: A microwave and a continental breakfast would be helpful.
Location: see above
Loved the location-near Hwy 1 and nearby center of Carmel community, but away from all the hustle and bustle of city life. Loved having the river, really a creek, located 100FT from the room that you could wade in, plus a very tree covered backyard like patio. The sound of frogs at night along with the scent of the water in the creek made it nice. Also enjoyed the large size pool and the garden. A great environment! Appreciated their creativity in providing clean frayed towels for cleaning anything that needs cleaning! Will stay there again!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2016 by Cathy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star review! We are so glad you enjoyed our spectacular location and the relaxing environment here at Carmel River Inn. We hope to welcome you back again soon.