Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chico

Great Valley Location but still close to Carmel

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: location and rustic appeal BUT most of all the price!
Cons: Electrical and bathroom could be a bit more clean. Towels were washed with fabric softener which made them NON absorbent. Ditch the dryer sheets
Location: Cafe Rustica and PGA and wine tasting
We recently stayed at you hotel and found it to be a great value and good location. The rustic room was comfortable but could use a little care fixing some of the recent updates. There were some issues with electrical outlets not working. The fireplace was a nice touch and easy to turn on. I wish we had an option to turn off the outside light which was very bright and shone into our room all night. The breakfast set up was good and the fresh fruit was a nice touch.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Nice grounds but first room the electricity didn't work. Then next room I got, the bathroom was size of closet and heat was not working
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really cool place!

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Had an awesome stay at this hotel! The rooms smelled like aromatherapy and had a clean, not overpowering scent. The gardens were well kept and the staff were very friendly. I loved having a fireplace in my room. I would absolutely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Cozy and lovely cabin feel.

Posted Jan 27, 2017
As soon as you open the door to this quaint cabin room, the smell of fresh and natural wood is very inviting. We really enjoyed our short stay, and there was plenty of room for our family of four. The only thing I wish is that the wall to the adjoining room was a bit thicker, so we couldn't hear the people in the other room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Cozy and lovely danish style. I wish I could stay for more than only one day
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

surprised

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: quite, comfortable.
Cons: some upgrading.
Location: couple great resturants and shops nearby.
Nice place, clean comfortable. Basically had a three bedroom place with kitchen, two baths, fireplace and more. Three of us and pet dog where welcomed and pleased with our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Safe area, somewhat clean hotel.

Posted Jan 3, 2017
This hotel seems more to concentrate on your well being as opposed to being a family hotel. We did find that our feet were very dirty after walking on the bare floors and the shower head was very low (like 5'). It was hard to know what was in the area as it is so dark and not a lot of information about the area is offered. We ended up eating a gas station dinner as there were not many family restaurants that we could find close by. The hotel was sufficient for a night's stay for travelers but not very welcoming for families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Dec 27, 2016
We arrived late at night. The little house was so beautiful and clean. We loved it so much. And we also enjoyed the hot tub under the stars. Wonderful experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Thousand Oaks, CA

So disappointed

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything, from the rooms, to the grounds.
Location: We loved the Carmel Valley, and would definitely go there again, but to another hotel. The valley is peaceful, and has some wonderful restaurants.
We arrived at the lodge, only one of three guests. When we went to our room, the phone wasn't working, and a light bulb above the bed was out. The bathroom, was so old, and had dry rot on the wall next to the tub. The room was big, but cold. We ended up using the electric fireplace for heat, because they did not have any carbon momoxide detectors, so we we're afraid to use the wall heater. We did not get maid service the first day, and still no telephons or light bulb. We asked for fresh towels at least, which they brought. We asked when the phones would be working, they said tomorrow. The phones fianlly were working on our second to last day. The grounds an d rooms are old, and in need of a total makeover!!!! We would NEVER stay there again!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location!

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Had a fun stay at Carmel Valley Lodge. Room and bathroom were spacious. Fireplace and space heater warmed the room on a chilly November night.