Ratings based on 2,597 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sapporo, Japan

It's a motel called a hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Not much.
This is not a place for a family with kids to stay. Though it is called a hotel, it is laid out like a motel. By calling itself a hotel, Casa Munras avoids having to serve a complimentary breakfast. There is "complimentary" bottled water in the rooms ... for a monetary charge. The receptionist when we arrived was not very friendly, which suggests maybe the staff does not enjoy working there very much. The two-bed room we stayed in was significantly smaller than the typical room in a chain motel. It was overly decorated with a lot of 'atmospheric' stuff we didn't really need to look at. There was no sink area separate from the bathroom/shower, and so if anyone was using the bathroom, there was no place for someone else to brush their teeth or wash their face. There was a card in the room urging guests to conserve water, yet no concrete suggestions about how to do this. There are obvious things to do, but the eco-concern of the management was belied by having four sleeping pillows and two throw-pillows on each bed. It is a waste of water to wash four pillowcases when only two pillows are needed. The place was pricey. Its only advantage was being very close to the central city bus center and a 15 minute walk from Fisherman's Wharf. Monterey is an easy town to drive in, and when I visit there again, I will choose a chain hotel a little farther out and get a cheaper, larger, better arranged room and complimentary breakfast service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near everyrhing

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Wow. Great spot and the restaurant is fantastic. Close yo wharf and cannery row. Turn the Fireplace in the room on, leave the windows open, great nights rest. Will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Posted Sep 6, 2017
My boyfriend and ibwere looking for hotels to stay out because we were coming to monterey bay for our three year anniversary and stumbled on this gem . I was torn between this hotel and another and i'm so happy that i chose this hotel. This hotel is absolutely beautiful the way it's set up is kind of like an motel style hotel where you can just drive up to you room. We checked in around 1 or 2 which was a few hours before check in time (4) and had no issues. it was a super fast process and when we drove from the main office to our room it was such a beautiful drive. The building had that rustic look it almost reminds you that you're in mexico. When we got to out room it was a room on the first floor and i expected it to be loud because it was so close to the road, but we had no issues it was very quiet. when we entered our room i though it was so beautiful we got a regular room with a king bed. The room was a little small but it was very intimate, perfect for a couple. This had to be one of the most beautiful and cleanest hotel i've ever stayed at. We also went by the pool for a dip, it had towels there for people to use instead of being them from our room. The pool here went as deep as 9ft which you don't see very often. The water had a lot of harsh chemicals, i'm not sure why the water was veg foggy looking maybe because of the harsh chemicals or because of how many people swim. Overall great stay not really a fan of the pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Copperopolis, Ca

Good location, walking distance from Wharf.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Excellent customer service, incredible restaurant! Rooms are a bit dated, but very clean and the beds are SUPER comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Wondrerful room and food. Very relaxing and great location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

wonderful stay

Posted Aug 13, 2017
We loved our stay, though you could not see the beach from the hotel. It was a close walk to shops and restaurants in the downtown Monterey area. It is a 1.5 mile drive from Cannery Row. You could also rent bikes or walk a trail to get to Cannery Row.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Cozy comfortable feeling. I would definitely return to this establishment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice motel. Close to shops and restaurants.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: It was clean and comfortable. Plenty of parking. Good location. The restaurant was excellent.
Cons: It would have been nice to have coffee provided in the lobby in the morning. The one cup serving each provided in the room with one half and half each
Location: Fisherman's Wharf Downtown shops and restaurants
We enjoyed our stay at Casa Munras. It was clean and quiet and comfortable. We were able to walk to the downtown areas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Room

Posted Jul 6, 2017
The only issue I had was the jacuzzi was not available without a day pass to the spa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fairfield ca

clean and quiet

Posted Jul 6, 2017
I took my time and looked around for what I thought was nice . The hotel experience is a big part of my vacation. We loved it the room was very cozy. It's not far from the beach but would have been nice to have a view of something but not much they can do about that