Ratings based on 2,541 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: Staff on checking out monosyllabic......yes I did enjoyj my stay thank you !
Location: Close to local bars and good restaurants. Pier easily walkable in under 10 mins, cannery wharf a pleasant stroll a long then seaside.
Well placed hotel, maintained well. Excellent housekeeping. Carpet could have done with a bit of a clean.Nice bar area outside with heaters and fire pit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nicely decorated, peaceful and well located hotel

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Staff. Room decoration. Location. Breakfast
Location: Located in the Old Monterey a few blocks away from the ocean and Cannery Row
Helpful and friendly staff. Well decorated and comfy rooms arranged around a pool. Very peaceful. Excellent breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west chester, pa

Posted May 29, 2017
Beautiful hotel, informative staff, great location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nicely appointed rooms

Posted May 27, 2017
The hotel is very nice. We did not done at the hotel but they have a restaurant and outdoor seating area with a fire pit. The room was clean, updated and spacious. Check in/out was a breeze. The hotel is close (walking distance) to many restaurants and local attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

A good hotel w.r.t. location, price, and cleanness

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: location and room lighting
Cons: The hotel laundry facility appeared to be running in the middle of the night. The noises I heard, did not appear to come from other rooms' heating/AC.
Location: plenty of things to do in Monterey all in walking distance
This was our first stay at Casa Munras. Although the room we chose is small, it is clean and has good lighting. The exterior of the cottages / buildings may look a bit old, but the interior (i.e., our room) appeared to be remodeled in a recent year. Casa Munras is a relatively nicely kept hotel. The hotel is only 3 blocks from Monterey downtown (Alvarado St). We can walk to the fisherman's wharf in about 10 minutes. There are multiple restaurants within a few blocks. When visiting the mission in Carmel, we stumbled on a museum about Casa Munras inside the mission. We got to learn about the history and people behind Casa Munras!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Location was great- lots of museums, restaurants were walkable. Nice room.
Cons: more towels
Was in Monterey for a conference. Room was clean, quiet and bed was comfy. I would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, CA

History doesn't cut it here.

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Seemed to have interesting guests. They had little offerings in the evening: wine and cheese, etc.
Cons: TV service. Continental breakfast offering
Location: Denny's is across the street. Great Wall restaurant a block over.
Yeah, the hotel is historic. And they have updated a bit. My dad stayed here in the 1940s for the "Crosby golf tourney" But the bed sagged. Old? Not turned? The TV was analog and basic cable. Basic Cable? And I had to buy breakfast, which was mediocre. For over $200 it wasn't really worth it. Place is huge, and not full. Tells me they're cheap, or they're going broke...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Inns of Monterey Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa and for sharing your feedback with us. We hold feedback such as yours to be extremely valuable, as it provides our best opportunity to make improvements. We apologize that you found your bed to be less than entirely comfortable and your TV service to be lacking. We will certainly review your feedback with our team. We truly hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future to demonstrate just how committed we are to providing our guests with superior accommodations and hospitality. Sincerely, Management at Inns of Monterey
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast, Qld

Nice hotel in a good area

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Not to far from anything
Cons: Found the room too cluttered. Not being able to park outside our room was inconvenient. Sometime we were in the next block.
Location: Easy access to Monterey beach and drive to Carmel. Plenty of restaurants near by.
This hotel has a nice feel to it. We spent 4 days exploring Monterey and surrounding area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Very nice hotel. Close to many attractions. Restaurant on site Knowledgeable staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel walking distance to everything

Posted Apr 15, 2017
We loved this place, it's quiet, comfy, walking distance to anything you need.