Ratings based on 448 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great ambiance!

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Just about everything! The accommodations, staff, made to order breakfast (included). It felt like home.
Cons: No.
Location: Near Lover's Point and downtown Pacific Grove. We are in our 70's, but could still walk to both. We observed paddle boarding, hiking, and surfing.
Loved this hotel/B and B! Staff was very personable and the location is great! We made the short walk to Lover's Point in just minutest of watch the sunset.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beaufort, SC

Charming inn with very welcoming staff. Great loca

Posted May 27, 2017
Delightfully charming inn and very welcoming staff. Coffee and tea available 24/7. Short walk to bay and Monterrey's Cannery Row.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great locale, friendly service and romantic room.

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: We liked the cozy warmth of the lobby and our garden room, which was situated away from all other rooms, behind the kitchen and more private.
Cons: The one negative that they can't work on is it seemed that garbage trucks came through the neighborhood both Mon and Wed AM around 7...
Location: Lovers point park/beach .1 mile. Monterey Aquarium 1.0 mi. Central to GREAT eateries on Lighthouse Ave. (Holly's Cafe, International Cuisine)
My wife and I stayed here in the "honeymoon suite", or garden room, for our 5th wedding anniversary. The room was ready when we arrived an hour and a half earlier than expected and it was very well packaged. As for hotel amenities: The hotel has a buffet/served breakfast every morning between 8 and 10. The buffet portion consists of bagels, toast and English muffins with fixings for each, fresh made pastries (we had butter scones, blueberry, and chocolate) which we very well made. dense and buttery, great for dipping! There was also coffee, tea, orange juice and cucumber water. The chef-prepared rotating menu was simple yet healthy and enough for breakfast. It consisted of items from traditional eggs any way with bacon, ham, sausage, potatoes, to more elaborate frittatas, parfaits and oatmeal with fresh fruit. The hotel also has wine hour from 5-6:30. Want to ride a bike? You can rent bikes on location! They are also partners with the aquarium for 2 day tickets for the price of 1. As for room amenities: There is a gas "pot bellied" stove that heats up the room and casts a great ambiance, hardwood floors, four post canopy bed and a large bathroom with an actual whirlpool jetted tub! The bed was one of the best we have slept in during our travels. It was a queen size, firm support but extremely well cushioned so it didn't feel stiff or sinky. The whirlpool jetted tub was easily big enough for two. It takes a little time to fill up, but works great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful B&B

Posted May 24, 2017
Lively B&B with cute rooms pans offers cottages. Complimentary wine served in the evening. Fantastic hot breakfast choices. Beautiful walk along coast to Monterey Bay Aquarium. We were able to purchase tickets at the B&B that allowed access for two days. Highly reccoommend!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Nice hotel but needs some upkeep

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Staf, breakfast. and location
Cons: little paint touch up in the room
Cute hotel with lovely parlor and friendly staff. Our room #3 was tiny with twin beds. The lights above the mirror in the bath room did not work and there were no electrical plugs close to one of the twin beds however there was a hole in the wall behind the bed which looked like a plug should have been there. Breakfast was wonderful and again the staff were very kind and helpfull. Think it was a little overpriced for one night and the shape of the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carlsbad, CA

Great location

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Historic, clean and cozy. The neighborhood cat, who was very friendly, added a homey feel to the place.
Cons: Need a chest of draws in every room.
Location: Great location for food lovers and friends of the beach. Lovers Cove is just down the street from the Inn.
The Inn is located within walking distance to the beach and only one block from downtown Pacific Grove.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Historic old house/hotel near the beach

Posted Apr 23, 2017
We were greeted with a free glass of wine for happy hour. We asked about dining in the area and we're given several suggestions. The Beach House was settled on and we were given a coupon for a free appetizer. Great views of the water for dinner. The hotel is old (it is historic) but very comfortable. Beds are soft. All the amenities. Breakfast was very good. Had several choices. Location is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pleasanton, CA

Pleasant B&B near restaurants

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Extra long twin beds.
Location: Monterey Bay Aquarium. Dali 17 Museum.
Welcoming staff. Great breakfast. Very pleasant garden.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: The hotel is well maintained and it's original decor has been preserved without being overly Victorian.
Cons: The complimentary wine and snack service could include a few more nibbles to compliment the wine.
Location: The location is excellent, just one block from Pacific Grove's downtown, where there are many restaurants & small shops, & a few blocks from the ocean
This is one of my favorite places to stay in Pacific Grove. I've stayed there many times and it has always been a good experience. I'm usually traveling solo when I stay here, and it is completely comfortable and safe. The location is very walkable to restaurants, shops, the coastal trail, and art galleries. I have often abandoned my car and spent my entire visit on foot. Besides being charming, safe & comfortable, the hotel is also a good value with a full breakfast included in the price. I've stayed in a couple of the suites, one of the cottages, and the more modest "basic" rooms know. All have been cozy & charming. I think it's great that the hotel offers a wide range of accommodations & prices that will suit any traveler.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with a friendly staff

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Enjoyed our stay! Great location! Very friendly staff!! We will stay again!!!!!