Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good central location

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: The staff was wonderful and very accommodating and the central location was very nice.
We spent 2 nights at Centrella and although it was pleasant and the staff was great, we did not think the hotel was worth the money. If you are looking for an historic hotel with a great walk score...this is your place. If such things as water pressure, updated bathroom/vanity, off street parking are important, then maybe not. The staff was great about moving us from the first room we had booked. We did not like the room layout and the room had an old mildew smell to it. The second room had wonderful light and a great bed, unfortunately, the ceiling height did not allow me to stand in much of the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Good location comfortable bed,Tv didn't work,smaall room, steep stairs, Prepared breakfast, comfortable sitting areas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Central location for walking everywhere.

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: The history and location of this hotel are very nice.
Cons: The bed in our room was uncomfortable.
We love exploring the quaint downtown of Pacific Grove. From this BnB you can do that. It is even a walkable distance to the Monterey Bay Aquarium (approx 1 mile).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Good central location between Monterey and Carmel, CA. 3 blocks from Monterey bay. No elevator. Little parking. Breakfast good but not a complete all-you-can-eat buffet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Review of stay

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Location close enough to ocean to walk and see sunrises and sunsets.
Cons: Firmer mattresses.
Location: Owners offered great suggestions for restaurants. driving by the ocean and walk walk access was pleasant.
Easy parking and breakfasts were easy to chose from, very satisfying. Room was small and mattress to soft to sleep well. Owners were helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

You can go home again

Posted Nov 9, 2016
We lived on the Monterey Peninsula in the 1980s and always admired the Pacific Grove bed and breakfast hotels. When we planned a trip this year for our anniversary, we looked over many and chose the Centrella Inn - and we're glad we did. Lovely small old hotel, with personable friendly staff, great location, wonderful breakfasts, and lots of charm throughout. If I had planned better (longer in advance) I would have gotten a bigger room - the one we had had no hanging space for our clothes. Parking on their small lot was tight, but we found convenient street parking when we had to - glad it wasn't the height of tourist season. But these detractions were minor compared to the lovely breakfasts overlooking their garden and enjoying the charm of this romantic old hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice B&B in Pacific Grove/Monterey.

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Very nice National Historic Register hotel built in late 1800's. Close walking distance to beach, several nice restaurants, museum, historic downtown Pacific Grove; walkable distance to Asilomar State Marine Reserve, Cannery Row, and Fisherman's Wharf. Excellent full breakfast menu with fresh scones and great coffee every morning; complimentary wine each evening. Great staff, quiet garden, nice front porch to relax.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

HOTEL IS HAUNTED

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Free food
Cons: Manager was really rude. It was haunted.
Location: very nice surrounding area. Close to the beach, seals, aquarium.
the hotel was really nice and they baked fresh cookies at night and proved appetizers and free wine. However we have to leave the hotel at midnight because of the strange things that were happening. Our lights kept flickering on and off. The TV turned on and turned off. Whatever energy that was inside that hotel drained all of our phones, iPads and laptops. The manager was extremely rude when we tried explaining that it was a bad experience and he said "We never heard of anything happening in that room"......
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great charm

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: Location, charm, hospitality Comfy Great food Atmosphere
Cons: No temperature control in rooms, a bit warm to sleep Although they did bring in s box fan Smaller rooms need less furniture no room to move
Location: Natural history museum Lovers point beach Monterey Bay Aquarium
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Convenient but disappointing!

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Looked nice! Convenient when staying in the area (Pacific Grove) minutes away from the water/coast, post office, local shops, restaurants and Cannery.
Cons: Hard Wood floors in the rooms were filthy. I spilled a little water and used a small hand towel to wipe it up...it was literally Black x3 areas.
Location: See " What I Liked" above.
We spent 5 nights in two different rooms. Unlike other B&Bs I've gone to, the breakfast was limited and slimming, as though you are on a diet. The Food quantities were limited, except for the carbs (breads, bagels ans scones)! One breakfast I had was 2 eggs, over easy with a side of home cooked potatoes and veggies (Red & Green peppers and Onions). Well the 2 eggs were 2 eggs and cooked correctly, but 3 pieces of potatoes and more onions than the 3 pieces of pepper (2 red pieces about 0.5 inches long & 1 piece of Green pepper about an inch long)! The great food B&Bs are know for just didn't exists here. Then there was 1 plate of sliced watermelon, that, to the best of my knowledge, was never refreshed. On Sun Morning, another visitor asked if there was any fruit and the answer was, "sorry, none available today"! Scones available just about 24/7, but "cookies" are not on my list of desired items.