Ratings based on 416 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Hotel staff responded very professionally to an unexpected six hour power outage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely building and room

Posted Feb 21, 2017
We enjoyed the unique architecture and individual room, the fire in the reception room, helpful staff making restaurant bookings etc. Easy parking in the neighbourhood and close to all Monterey Bay tourist activities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never Again

Posted Feb 16, 2017
This place has a nice staff, but that does not warrant 4 stars lol. The rooms are cold, dingy, old, SMALL. We paid for the best room possible and it was the size of a car or two. It was so squished. The furniture is HUGE for the space. The bed is old and lumpy. The bathroom was remodeled but my wife fell getting into the new shower. Why? Oh it's 3 FEET DEEP (soaked tub, no jets sorry). Dumb. The street noise is unbearable but not as loud as the neighbor room making adult noises and even hear sneezing and talking. There is no bay view. No heaters that are quiet enough to sleep with. Cookies were not out two nights we stayed! Upsetting lol the "wine taste" the lady wouldn't let my buddies wife taste just said "no, take this it'll be ok I promise" and was not what she wanted. The breakfest was uncooked waffle batter and burnt eggs and BAD bacon. $800 for two nights in a cottage? Go rent a home or stay down the st. I regret every penny. The staff was not accommodating to my requests too so make sure you call Expedia notes do jack!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Worst B & B Ever

Posted Feb 13, 2017
We stayed here on a wim, to try something different. We usually rent a house or a name brand hotel bla bla. That said, this was thee worst traveling experience I've ever had. Bed: The worst soft & lump bed EVER. The Pillows were lopsided and unusually bad. Me, my wife AND my friends in the other room used couch pillows and rolled up clothes for pillows. Bring your own. We also froze. We wanted to use the heater but it was loud! Can't sleep with it on. Room: Extremely small! Our room was $775 for 2 nights so I assumed the premier cottage was nice and big. It was so small I almost panicked. The decor was really strange and mix matched and extremely too big for the small space. The TV was worse than my laptop that we ended up needing for the night time. They also promised me a TV in bed - none. The tub was 3 feet deep, VERY hard to get in and out of my wife needed help every time. The hot water took 6-8 minutes to heat. The toilet was running all night. The windows looked into other rooms! I saw a nude dude across the way as I was using the head. The walls are SO thin we heard seX, sneezes, snoring, farts, oh and the best DOGS BARKING ALL NIGHT LONG and cats driving by. This was a premier room? Awful. Bed sheets had stains as well. I could go on but my hands hurt as is. Don't stay here. So many better options. My guests in the other room ditched their second night and stayed down the street for half the price and ate the price. That's how bad this place is.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good central location

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: The staff was wonderful and very accommodating and the central location was very nice.
We spent 2 nights at Centrella and although it was pleasant and the staff was great, we did not think the hotel was worth the money. If you are looking for an historic hotel with a great walk score...this is your place. If such things as water pressure, updated bathroom/vanity, off street parking are important, then maybe not. The staff was great about moving us from the first room we had booked. We did not like the room layout and the room had an old mildew smell to it. The second room had wonderful light and a great bed, unfortunately, the ceiling height did not allow me to stand in much of the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Good location comfortable bed,Tv didn't work,smaall room, steep stairs, Prepared breakfast, comfortable sitting areas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Central location for walking everywhere.

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: The history and location of this hotel are very nice.
Cons: The bed in our room was uncomfortable.
We love exploring the quaint downtown of Pacific Grove. From this BnB you can do that. It is even a walkable distance to the Monterey Bay Aquarium (approx 1 mile).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Good central location between Monterey and Carmel, CA. 3 blocks from Monterey bay. No elevator. Little parking. Breakfast good but not a complete all-you-can-eat buffet.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful, romantic, beach vacation

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful stay; will be back, hopefully, and book the loft room!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Review of stay

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Location close enough to ocean to walk and see sunrises and sunsets.
Cons: Firmer mattresses.
Location: Owners offered great suggestions for restaurants. driving by the ocean and walk walk access was pleasant.
Easy parking and breakfasts were easy to chose from, very satisfying. Room was small and mattress to soft to sleep well. Owners were helpful.