Ratings based on 337 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canadian

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: peaceful and calm, beautiful area and view of the ocean. We arrived very late and staff were helpful with change of plans,
Cons: fix phone, enhance breakfast beyond the waffles and cereal with locally produced baking and fruit
Location: beautiful walk to ocean, lighthouse, butterfly migration area
friendly, helpful staff in well located hotel near lighthouse and beach coastal area and monarch butterfly migration area. Beautiful area! Huge room. phone didn't work
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Very comfortable, close to downtown PG, and the beach..all within walking distance. Clean room, nice staff, and easy parking. Only real complaint was we could hear the guy in the next room snoring..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tracy CA

Quiet location out of the noise and bustle

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Location is adequate for our purposes
Cons: Furnace, machinery that seemed to buzz all night next to room 101
Location: You can walk to town or the beach from the hotel. Neither are CLOSE but both equally "walkable"
Great little hotel, except for the rythmic humming from the room next door all night the second night. We never determined if it was their furnace, a machine of some kind, but it definately hampered our sleeping. Bathrooms are TINY _ with a capital T. However it you want a quaint, clean out of noise and bustle of the town, this may be your place. It's a bit of a walk to town, but do-able in great weather.
5 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet older hotel.

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Rooms being renovated. Our room was nice. Beds have very firm, hard, mattress. Open and roomy. Nice stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Substandard hotel for the location.

Posted Feb 14, 2017
The dark color of carpet and bedding made the room look dirty and dingy. The coffee maker did not work. The microwave cord was short and did not plug in. The cord was left hanging from the table with no extension wire. The sugar packs were soggy and the ratio of tea, coffee and creamer bags was not propositional. Over all not worth the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

An old favorite in great shape

Posted Jan 16, 2017
This motel has been fixed up, redecorated, upgraded. It is a simple motel in a great location - not too far from the ocean. The staff was great, fridge and microwave a plus. Bathrooms redone and rooms redecorated. Wifi and breakfast were a plus. We wished there were 2 chairs in the room. Fabulous price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff, clean accommodations. Wish our room had a bathtub--asked for one, but staff informed that rooms with tubs already taken. Breakfast very basic.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
Close to where we needed to be and not crowded. Breakfast was good. Plenty of parking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Fine and more affordable than most.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: The location is good. The waffles were fun to make. There is a microwave and fridge in the room.
Cons: The bedding is very dated and some had holes in it. The faucet handle and the toilet paper holder were wobbly.
Location: The beach is very close as is the Monarch Butterfly Grove. Pacific Grove is a lovely town and Monterey is very close by.
The hotel was adequate and the most affordable we could find in the location.