Ratings based on 358 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern CA

Garden hotel among the beautiful beach cottages

Posted May 13, 2017
We truly felt like part of the local community at this hotel. We were surrounded by beautiful beach cottages rather than more hotels. The beach is very close - we heard the surf from our room - and it's a comfortable scenic walk to town. The hotel has beautiful gardens and nicely appointed outdoor seating areas. The staff we met were all very friendly and efficient, check in was fast and easy, our rooms were clean and comfortable. The beds were very comfortable! We did not eat the continental breakfast provided but it looked like good quality food presented well, and the seating area was pleasant with a fireplace. They hotel is older with its original charm intact, but has all the updated amenities we needed to feel comfortable. We will definitely stay here again when in Carmel-by-the-Sea!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2017
A wonderful place to spend a relaxing time in Carmel-by the Sea.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vacaville, Ca

Beautiful hotel with perfect location to everythin

Posted May 1, 2017
The location was fantastic and the gardens were all in bloom and beautiful. Very clean. Really enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

1 block from the beach 🏖

Posted Apr 22, 2017
During check in, our room had a problem but the front desk quickly resolved the issue. Both ladies were pleasant, kind and professional. We were quickly moved to another room, which was slightly bigger. It was our 16 year anniversary and it made it perfect. Will be back again soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware the photos and pumped up reviews

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: The fact that it was in Carmel
Cons: Everything other than the location
The owners of this place are selling "quaint" and delivering overpriced, second world rubbish. This is exactly the kind of "boutique" property that makes you wonder why on earth you didn't book a Holiday Inn. The location is nice ... but based on the standard of our room it looks as though they haven't spent a buck on this place since the late 1950s. (... oh, sorry... when I raised this proposition with the receptionist on check out she informed me that they did replace the carpet a year ago... whoopee!) Our room was more like a cell than a room in an allegedly high quality "Inn"... A bed. A chair (with a dubious "V" shaped stain right in the middle of the satin seat cover) and a small chest of drawers with a TV on top of it, and not an inch of room for anything else. The heating was useless, and the miniscule bathroom (with its appalling lighting and tacky plastic curtained shower stall) was something you might accept if you were paying $50 a nite... but at $221 including tax, forget it! My advice?.... Find somewhere else. Or if you can't, sleep in your car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast, Australia

very comfortable, great location

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Very comfortable, great location close to beaches and lovely walking areas Staff were very friendly and helpful We will recommend to friends and family and would return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Wonder spot to stay in Carmel

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Hotel was clean and staff very friendly and accommodating
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would stay again

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely room and setting. The only critique is the fact that this area is barely lit and very hard to find in the dark. Also, didn't know we'd be staying on the second floor with no elevator. From the pictures it looked to be all first floor rooms, but next time I'll specify no second floor without an elevator.
4 out of 5
by Brennan

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice place! Room was a little small but very comfortable. I would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Brian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 3, 2017 on Hotels